Skip to content

plastic baggy holder

August 19, 2010

Fellow bloggers: do you ever have those weeks where you find yourself writing about stuff and you’re thinking to yourself “who cares, anyways?” This is kind of one of those posts.  Of little value to anyone other than my husband who looks forward to reading the blog at work.  There aren’t even good pictures here.  Because this post is about my utility closet, and I feel a little silly photoshopping closet photos.  In fact, I feel a little silly even blogging about the closet, but whatevs.  It’ll make the husband happy because there are pictures of his babies dogs.

Anyways.

CLOSET!

I saw a tutorial for a plastic baggy holder the other day, and I had scraps from my loveseat cushions, so I put the two together and made this:

It literally took about 30 min last night… while I was watching Animal Hoarders.  (Have you seen it?  I am fascinated.  Between Animal Hoarders & Billy the Exterminator, Animal Planet is providing some amazing entertainment.)

It’s not super-exact (i.e., the stripes aren’t all the same size – because I used scraps), and, heck, I haven’t even cut all of the loose threads off.  But let’s be real: it’s in the closet.

It makes my closet look a million times better by getting rid of the baggies thrown everywhere.  Which rocks.  Because as much as we try to bring our reuseable bags everywhere, we inevitably forget every now and then and the plastic ends up everywhere.

I took some before pictures, and I’m just wondering if you can tell where we keep the dog food?

And the after is cleaner (because I cleaned out the closet in addition to putting away all of those pesky bags).

This makes me think that 1. All of you should make one of these baggy dealies,  2. I better add Honey Nut Cheerios to the grocery list, and 3. I should probably generate more exciting content for the blog.  Next week.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 12:20 pm

    How adorable! My mom had one of these and what I liked about it the most was how light it was. Btw, I think I should be featured on that animal hoarders show with my 5 pets. At least my house is clean…or so I think!

    • August 19, 2010 12:24 pm

      I think you totally have to adopt like 42 more pets before you can be considered for the show… Also, I’ve seen pictures of your house – not nearly enough pet excrement to be considered! 🙂

  2. August 19, 2010 12:25 pm

    Very cute. However, you’re right about the “content”…a little blah, but guess what? Anyone who writes a blog has blah postings, but the blog is really not for everyone else, but for you to keep an account of what takes place in your life. If ever you were wondering what you were doing a year ago today or two years ago today – you’d have it right at your finger-tips. And I don’t know, I think it makes one feel like Yeah, I have done something with my life; boring or not.

    Anyway, my MIL made me a plastic baggie holder (she’s a big sew-er – I was going to say sewer, but isn’t that were our waste goes?) and a friend gave me one as a gift (in the shape of a cow) – so I’ve got two now! It does make it much easier to hide the plastic bags, cleans up the place. Mine are getting a little less full, because we are starting to use reusable bags more and more – also if we forget our reusables, I always ask for paper – since I need paper bags to put all my other paper items that I recycle.

  3. August 19, 2010 12:40 pm

    I’ve made one of those too from curtain scrap fabric, 7 years later and it needs a lot of love (or a toss and re-do). I think the pics of the pup in the picture are hysterical because we too keep our dog food in our closet where the bag o’ bags is. everytime we open said door, in pops Cabella munching away at all the dropped little pieces of food. made me laugh.

  4. August 19, 2010 12:41 pm

    Jen! I love this idea. Such a great concept. I will have to attmept it one of these days 🙂 I hope you are having a lovely and blessed day. xoxo

  5. August 19, 2010 2:54 pm

    Whenever you think that no one cares about something like this, you can be sure that I definitely care! I love little projects/solutions like this. And, you probably have the cutest plastic bag holder around!

  6. August 19, 2010 5:32 pm

    I haven’t watched animal hoarders yet, to freaked out to watch it. I do like watching Pit Boss, it has a good storyline and like the rescue dogs

    • August 19, 2010 7:42 pm

      Ohh! We LOVE Pit Boss! Even Jezebel watches it!

  7. August 19, 2010 5:32 pm

    ps. the plastic bag holder is cute 🙂

  8. August 19, 2010 10:56 pm

    I like this bag holder. And the dogs in the closet cracks.me.up. Seriously. You should see Lola when I open the cabinet where her food it. Anarchy, I tell you.

  9. August 20, 2010 8:47 am

    You are just toooooo funny. I loved the blog and could you make me one of those out of your next batch of scraps? I can’t seem to get my machine out of the closet anymore! I guess I did way to much sewing in my younger days:) Do your puppies stand by the closet when it’s time to eat? That’s what Copper does to me when she comes to visit.

Trackbacks

  1. early Christmas «

Leave a Reply

