Skip to content

next quilt project: a poll!

August 17, 2010

I found out a few weeks ago that my once-every-three-months friend from college is expecting a baby girl in October.  (We decided that we’re once-every-three-months friends because we have a really long phone conversation once-every-three-months.  Truthfully, though, she’s one of only 3 girls that I’ve remained close with after college, and she’s just so sweet.  You would love her if you met her!)  I’m pretty psyched for her & her hubby – they’ll be amazing parents, and it will be fun to see them with a little one!

The nursery colors are light pink, light blue, and light green, and they’ve got a bunch of butterflies going on in there.  Or at least that’s what she tells me.  It’s times like these that make me wish my besties all lived in SW Michigan! (Hear that, girls!  It’s time to move!!)  So I ordered an assortment of (mostly) Heather Bailey fabric from Fabrics.com, and I love their sweet vintage-inspired patterns so much.

The plan is to make a baby quilt… I just need to decide on a design…

I was so encouraged by how well my last baby quilt turned out that I’m excited to try another one and to learn more quilting skillz.  Yes, with a z.

Here are the options I’m deciding between:  (click on photo to go to source!)

1.  Squares

2.  Pinwheel

3.  Subway

4.  Butterfly Applique

And now… I would totally love your input!  I’ll make whichever pattern/style has the most votes – so please leave me a note with your fav in the comments!  And thanks for helping this slightly indecisive girl make a decision! 🙂

(And, while we’re talking about quilts, if you haven’t checked out Michael’s quilt project, now is a good time to read about it.  Because it’s awesome.  He’s collecting squares of fabric from readers everywhere to make his very first quilt.  I might just have to dig up some fabric to send him…)

22 Comments leave one →
  1. Cath permalink
    August 17, 2010 12:10 pm

    pinwheel! 🙂

  2. Amanda permalink
    August 17, 2010 12:34 pm

    I love the pinwheel quilt!

  3. mom permalink
    August 17, 2010 12:47 pm

    Ok, based on the fabric, I vote for either the squares or the butterflies and I will tell you why… (of course!)

    Based on the fabric and the size of the patterns, I worry that the subway would get too crazy. The squares sample also has some bigger patterns to it and it seems to work well. If you have material with considerable white background I worry that the pinwheel won’t be defined enough next to the white.

    The square gets my vote (even if it seems a bit easy to make)unless you have an enormous amount of time on your hands because appliquing butterflies onto a background can be a lot of work or frustration unless you have a sewing machine that handles it well. The butterfly quilt if you want the challenge!

    Sorry, I am not so decisive myself…

  4. August 17, 2010 1:44 pm

    I love the butterfly option!

  5. August 17, 2010 2:00 pm

    I love the pinwheel design and then I read your mom’s comment. I think she might be right! 😉 Thanks for your great comment about my little bedroom, very helpful!

  6. August 17, 2010 2:11 pm

    The subway really jumped out at me because it is not something you see often. Pinwheel would be a second choice. Congrats to her!

  7. Christina permalink
    August 17, 2010 2:29 pm

    I like the squares. 🙂 And I LOVE the fabric patterns!

  8. August 17, 2010 2:40 pm

    I vote for the squares! Simple, yet fun and classic. Plus, I agree with your mom that your fabric choices will really look great in the square pattern. Loooove that Heather Bailey fabric…

  9. August 17, 2010 3:08 pm

    My vote is for the pinwheel design!! It is so light and fun! I have always wanted to make a quilt, but every time I get started on a sewing project I get distracted and then forget which stitches I was using…haha. It is going to look great!

  10. Uncle B permalink
    August 17, 2010 4:07 pm

    Classic Squares………That’s what Great-Grandma Bear would do.

  11. Debbie permalink
    August 17, 2010 5:04 pm

    I vote for squares! I don’t like the subway as much as the others. The butterfly is adorable too. I can’t wait to see the finished product. You’re a great friend!

  12. August 17, 2010 7:17 pm

    I like the butterflies!

  13. Janna permalink
    August 17, 2010 7:40 pm

    Butterfly or subway!

  14. japortma permalink
    August 17, 2010 8:14 pm

    I like the squares with that fabric..

  15. August 17, 2010 9:41 pm

    I vote for the squares. It’s going to be great!

  16. mom permalink
    August 18, 2010 12:01 am

    Or, burn yourself out! Squares on one side; butterflies on the other.

  17. Jackie permalink
    August 18, 2010 1:22 pm

    Butterflies….so darn cute!!!!!

  18. tami permalink
    August 18, 2010 2:11 pm

    Love the pinwheels! So fun! Any of the patterns would look good in that cute fabric. Perfect baby quilt colors.

  19. tami permalink
    August 18, 2010 2:52 pm

    Oh…just read the rest of the comments. Looks like the results of your survey demands that you make one of each style.

  20. August 18, 2010 7:50 pm

    Who won?

  21. August 19, 2010 12:08 pm

    Butterflies or squares!

Leave a Reply

