Skip to content

loveseat cushions

August 16, 2010

I mentioned last week that I’ve been sewing a bunch lately, so I thought I’d show off one of my newly-finished projects – my new loveseat cushion covers!

We bought this little loveseat from Ikea back in 2007, when Jason moved to Minnesota without me and needed an apartment (& some seating) to temporarily lived in while I finished up some work in Kentucky.  The cushion covers seemed kind of pricey, and weren’t really in a fabric that we loved, and I was all, I CAN MAKE THEM!  So we temporarily threw a sheet over the loveseat and called it good.

In 2008, after I moved to Minnesota, the loveseat found a new home in our sun room.  We decided that some cute graphic fabric covers would be rad, and purchased said fabric.  At Ikea.

And when we moved to Michigan last year, the loveseat found a new new home on our 3-season porch.  It’s awesome to lounge out there, reading a book, surfing the internet, or chatting with guests…

FINALLY, LAST WEEK, I MADE THE CUSHION COVERS.  (And, yes, that needs to be yelled, because it’s ridiculous to sit on a project for 2.5 years.)  And I am loving them.  (Maybe that should be yelled, too?)

I used a grey duck cloth for the piping, following the instructions for making my own bias tape here, then sewing it around cording bought from JoAnn’s.  I made my bias strips about 1.5″ wide, since I wasn’t folding the ends over and using them like you would traditional bias tape.  Then, I folded the super-long strip around the cording, and using my zipper foot as my guide, sewed as close to the cording as I could.  (Just a note: the cording is cheaper if bought off the spool and cut in store than if bought it in prepackaged bags.)

Cutting the top & bottom of the pillows were easy – I measured the cushions, added an 1″ and cut out the shape as accurately as possible.  This is key.

For the sides of each pillow, I measured the pillow height, added 1″, then measured the distance around 3 sides of the pillow, adding a few inches to cover the curve around the back of the pillow.  The short edges of each side piece were folded over & sewed.

Then, I sewed the top to the sides, smooshing the piping in between the top & side layers.  Then, I flipped & repeated with the bottom of the pillow.

I wanted my cases to be removeable, so the 4th (or back) side of each cushion consists of 2 flaps that velcro shut.  Like so:

Basically, I cut two rectangles that overlap with the side panel.  I folded over & sewed three of the sides of my rectangles, and sewed the 4th edge to either the top or bottom of the pillow (trapping the piping in between the two layers, of course).  Then, I lined up pieces of velcro and sewed them to the back of one flap and the front of the other.

Tada!  I’m so excited about how nicely these turned out!

I’m thinking that my next painting project might involve painting the loveseat & table a pretty grey… or maybe a striking yellow?  The porch is painted in blue, green, & tan, and features red carpet, thanks to the previous owners.  We’ll eventually replace the carpet with tile and paint everything else white or grey — we figure that the focus of the porch should be the beauty of the woods surrounding it — NOT the rainbow of colors inside the porch…

20 Comments leave one →
  1. japortma permalink
    August 16, 2010 1:03 pm

    I love it!!! FANTASTIC! I have the same little love seat in my apartment–and I am sitting on it right now. but now I want cool new covers!!

  2. mom permalink
    August 16, 2010 1:04 pm

    Wow, those turned out really great! When I tried a project like this, the top and bottom corners didn’t line up right and the side fabric had a diagonal pull to it! I never wanted to do this type of project again…good for you for getting it right!

  3. August 16, 2010 1:06 pm

    Your cushions look great but do not berate yourself because it took you 2.5 years to finish a project. If you only knew how many Unfinished Object/projects (also know as UFOs) I have and many are a lot older than 2.5 year. That is just part of life; a project will come to the top when there is time or it becomes critical.

  4. August 16, 2010 1:30 pm

    Your cushions looks amazing!! I love the fabric and piping you choose :0 perfect combination. I like your little table be darling painted a bright cheery yellow and love seat painted a subtle grey a little darker or lighter then the piping. I’ll have to bookmark this project for future use!

    Now I can’t wait for your to sew a cover for your bedroom chair!! It’s going to look amazing 🙂

  5. August 16, 2010 1:38 pm

    O wow! How darling! I am in love with the coffee table also!

  6. August 16, 2010 2:25 pm

    OMG! You made cushion covers with piping!?!? My hero. These look absolutely amazing. I can’t believe you made them!!!

  7. Debbie permalink
    August 16, 2010 6:40 pm

    These cushions turned out great! I tried to make covers once and I swore never again. I love black & white (as you know). Everything is perfectly matched. Good job!

  8. GGG permalink
    August 16, 2010 8:52 pm

    All I can say is FANTASTIC!

  9. August 16, 2010 9:13 pm

    Holy moley, girl! THIS IS AMAZING! (I’m yelling because I love it.) These honestly look professional. How long did this take you? Because it’s just perfect. I love that you can take them off, too. And, the grey piping, LOVE. I would love to see those painted grey. I love the concept of yellow, but I think the grey would really look cool and calm so you can take in those views.

    2.5 years was totally worth it, in my humble opinion.

  10. mom permalink
    August 16, 2010 9:28 pm

    Maybe even a “grey-washed” effect would be oh so cozy looking out on the porch. Kind of like your wood container in your upper bathroom…

  11. August 16, 2010 10:53 pm

    I am sooo impressed with your sewing skills…these look professional! I have never attempted fitted cushion covers with piping and I am in awe. Hmmm…maybe our nasty outdoor cushions are not out of my sewing league….

  12. August 17, 2010 9:03 am

    The cushions look nice-you did a great job! So I should look for you at the next time I go to Jo Ann’s (which for me is almost a weekly thing)!

  13. August 17, 2010 11:14 am

    Great job! They look wonderful. Maybe you should go into the upholstery business? 😉

  14. August 17, 2010 1:44 pm

    These are beautiful! I need to learn how to sew…

  15. August 18, 2010 12:56 pm

    I thought you were going to use that fabric for your shower curtain…? Anyway, I really like how the cushions turned out. I have a couple of office chairs that we purchased from Ikea that have a similar pattern, only invert the colors; more black than white.

    Very cool – good job!

    • August 19, 2010 12:25 pm

      Thanks!

      I was going to use it for a shower curtain for a minute… but then, in typical Jen fashion… I changed my mind! 🙂

  16. Vivienne permalink
    September 7, 2013 11:18 am

    Love the seats! Question! What kinda stuffing aka cushion did you use ?? I am trying to make two cushions for my boyfriends fish house! Not too thick and not too thin! Please let me know where you got them or if you have any suggestions as to where I can purchase some stuffing aka cushions! Thanks!

    • September 11, 2013 8:47 pm

      The cushions came with the loveseat, but I’ve seen thick foam pieces at JoAnn Fabrics (and I actually used one for a dog bed!). The cushions on the loveseat (& another Ikea chair that I have) are wrapped in batting (like what you’d use for a quilt). Not sure if it’s completely necessary, but maybe it makes the cushions look more full? Thought I’d mention it in case the thick foam by itself doesn’t work!

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «
  2. yellow & white chevron chair «

Leave a Reply

