Skip to content

grill table

August 10, 2010

Oh my gosh!  Thank you all so much for your advice on yesterday’s post about my bedroom – you gave me some super-great ideas, and I’ll {hopefully} be posting a more finished bedroom soon!  You guys are the *best*!

As I mentioned last week, brother Trevor came to spend the night last Saturday.  He, unfortunately, had a very painful swimmers ear, but this didn’t stop him from helping me to tackle the challenge that Jason had issued on Friday: build a grill table before Monday.

You see, we were wandering the isles of our local big box hardware store on Friday afternoon when Jason suggested that he could make a quick and easy grill table for less than $50!  At which point I said that I could make a table to go next to the grill using only supplies we already had.  And with that, a challenge was issued.

My plan was to construct the table using only the 2x4s and 2x6s we found around our home when we moved in last year.  Well, that and a few deck screws leftover from other projects.

When Trevor arrived, I asked if he was up for the challenge – and thankfully, despite his bad ear, he was.  (Especially thankful for this since the kid is better with the drill than I am).

We built the frame and cut the table top on Saturday evening, using these dining room table plans from Knock-Off Wood as our guide (although, we made our table much, much smaller than this one!).

On Sunday, Trev and I attached the legs and created a shelf underneath the table.

Meanwhile, mama bear and grandma bear showed up to pick up Trevor and ended up tending to my neglected garden (apparently, these two cannot sit still. must be an inherited trait…).  I was so thankful for their help – I’ve picked so many huge weeds this summer that I’m just really kind of over it.  Not to mention, they know which flowers to trim back so that they’ll re-bloom and which ones not to mess with… I haven’t quite mastered that sort of thing yet…

We finished the table just in time for dinner on Sunday, meaning that Jason didn’t get to use it to prep the amazing beer can chicken he made for all of us Sunday evening (so good!).  But J and our new roommate, Jimmy, used it last night and it seems to be just the right size.  Speaking of Jimmy, he’s an awesome roommate — so far, my only complaint is that I think the dogs might like him more than they like me.

Anyways, the table.  I think it’ll probably get a little sanding and maybe some polyurethane, but I can’t believe we actually built something from just a few old pieces of wood and leftover screws!  Trevor was also pretty impressed with our skillz and is now offering himself for hire for your next building job.  (Also, he goes, “So, Jen, you gonna blog about this now?” and I’m all “umm, duh!”).

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 9:50 am

    I love the table, great job! 🙂

  2. August 10, 2010 12:10 pm

    LOL! Of course you have to blog about it! It’s adorable! Very rustic. Fits your yard well. Great job!

  3. August 11, 2010 9:18 am

    Nice job on that table! You could hire out as a handy man:) I could use those weed pickers!

  4. August 11, 2010 2:07 pm

    LOVE it! Seriously, it’s so pretty! I love all the different textures of wood!

  5. August 11, 2010 9:22 pm

    This is awesome! As if there were any doubt that it’s blogworthy. My husband likes to yell “BLOG THAT SH*T!” at the top of his lungs randomly. We’re realy classy like that. 😉

    I love that you used what you had. Such a smart cookie.

  6. August 12, 2010 12:35 am

    What a great table! It will so fun to have outside with with grill.

  7. August 12, 2010 10:31 am

    Your grill table looks fantastic!! And props to you for building it using materials you already had on hand.

    I’ve visited your blog before, and simply love it. I grew up in the country, so I have a definite envy towards your 9 acres of rural property. I can’t wait to dig into the archives a bit more. You have a lovely place! Thanks for “inviting me over”, and thanks for reading b*spoke. It’s great to have you as a neighbor. 🙂

  8. August 12, 2010 10:46 am

    Thanks, guys… you’re too sweet. {but I’m secretly glad that you’re as impressed with my new found drilling & sawing skillz as I am!}.

  9. August 13, 2010 5:59 am

    The pratical talent gene obviously runs throughout your family!

    My parents do that in my garden too! Come every now and then and “rescue it” with green fingers!!

Leave a Reply

