Skip to content

lamp advice needed

August 9, 2010
Happy Monday!  Hope you’ve got your advice hats on today, because I could totally use some.  (Advice, that is, not hats.  Curly hair + hats = disaster)
The first room we painted when we moved in over a year ago was our bedroom.  And then we picked up some dressers on CL, painted them white, and called it a day.  But now I’m beginning to think more about accessorizing – specifically, adding lamps on the nightstand so that we can read before bed.  Because the small clip light on the headboard just isn’t doing it for me anymore.
Our walls are a cheery blue, and my thought is to keep everything else white & tan, with the exception of some serious green pops of color.  I love color.  Something like the rooms below (but substitute green in for the orange in the second picture):

color combos - orange

home design

So I’ve been on the lookout for fun and cheap lamps that we could put on our nightstands, and when I came across these bright green lamps at Target (in the college section no less…), I thought they’d be awesome.

My question for you is: are they?  Or are they just a little too short?

See what I mean about that little clip lamp not doing it for me?  It’s not too pretty…

(Here’s where I note that we don’t make the bed.  Ever.  We just fold the duvet at the bottom of the bed and call it a day…  I read once that keeping your bed unmade reduces the ability of bed yuckies like dust mites to multiply, and I am using that as my justification.  It’s totally not because I’m just too lazy to do it…)

Gah!  Help!  What don’t I like about this picture?  What would you do if this was your house?  Be brutally honest!

Here’s where I begin to think that maybe the real issue is that blank wall.  I’d love to build a full length mirror for that space to bring a little more light into the room (and to check myself out).  I think there should be a window on that wall anyways.

The other thought I had was to go with something simple like so:

This particular lamp/shade seems kind of boring, but if I put a fun patterny print on the lamp shade it would be a heck of a lot more fun.

And of course I’ll be making some fun throw pillows for the bed.  I’d probably not be too lazy to throw 3 pillows up there each morning.

PS Note the terrified dog in each of these pictures.  It’s raining here this morning and Barley is soo not impressed.  Jezebel?  She’s outside prancing in the rain.

Alrightie, peeps!  Time to get to work designing my bedroom!  Help!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. mom permalink
    August 9, 2010 1:43 pm

    Definitely like the taller lamp, it’s a better proportion. I even like it best with the plain lampshade. Then put something really colorful on the wall next to it!

  2. August 9, 2010 1:52 pm

    I agree…I don’t really care for the green lamps because they seem to take a heck of a lot more room on the nightstands and they are a bit stubby. I prefer the tall, skinny lamp. Maybe you could use a square lampshade…just a thought.

  3. Christina permalink
    August 9, 2010 1:59 pm

    I agree…the green lamps just don’t fit for some reason. Before I got to the bottom of your post, I was thinking to myself that a taller lamp with a fun-patterned lampshade would probably look better.

  4. August 9, 2010 2:39 pm

    well…going against what everybody else said, I like the green lamps–its you! but I do think the taller ones looked a little better. How about a tall green lamp!? haha!

  5. Anna permalink
    August 9, 2010 2:54 pm

    My favorite color is green, but I’m sorry, I’m not loving those lamps. I’m not real crazy about the others either. Did you consider maybe hanging lamps, or sconces? That way you’d have light, and the use of your entire bedside table.

    Just a thought.

    Re the dog: add any thunder and our 90lb lab is in someone’s lap!

  6. August 9, 2010 3:02 pm

    I like the green lamps, but think the taller ones fit on the night stand better. I think one of the green ones next to the awesome chair in your room would look great! Also, I was going to suggest cute pillow cases mine help also! Keep the sheet, but get white pillow cases and make throw pillows!

    • August 10, 2010 9:42 am

      I think you’re right – I have a definite need for cute pillows here! 🙂

  7. Elizabeth permalink
    August 9, 2010 4:02 pm

    I have to agree with your mom and others — the green lamps aren’t tall enough. They are super cute in the Target photo, but they don’t do it here. Throw pillows are my absolute favorite way to add color. Go that route!

    Also, I’m Captain of the Make-Your-Bed Police. When we visit, don’t you dare let McDreamy know that you don’t make your bed. I don’t need him having any kind of crazy ideas and using my BFF as ammo against me.

    • August 10, 2010 9:43 am

      Promise I won’t tell Matt.

      I forgot about how I probably drove you nuts with my non-bed-making ways when we lived together. And, if it wasn’t that, I’m sure it was the pile of clothes on the back of the futon. 🙂

  8. August 9, 2010 4:43 pm

    Lamps: I’m not sure if the scale is tall enough, however I would make your bed 1st and then see if the scale looks fine. Our bedroom lamps are very tall either and look fine when our bed is made. I’ve also seen some really cute colored lamps at Home Goods & Marshalls & TJ Maxx so if one of those stores are near I would check them out.

    Bedroom: as for the rest of your bedroom the blue is really pretty, I’m inclined to tell you full length patterned curtains on you windows in a pretty green fabric with matching Euro pillows for your bed – maybe three? Looks like bedroom # 2 – would be a perfect match for your minus the orange! I’d move those curtains into another room.

    I would also consider a tan or white chair cover with green or blue piping…..

    Just my random thoughts!

    • August 10, 2010 9:47 am

      Thanks so much – I think you’re totally right about the curtains. I have a fabric that might work, so I’ll have to give that a try!

      Definitely need more pillows on the bed! And maybe with more pillows up there, I’ll be able to decide on what the height of the lamp should be!

      Also love the idea of the chair w/different colored piping. That would be really cute and I’m currently developing my piping/sewing skills, so it’s a possibility…

  9. Janna permalink
    August 9, 2010 11:34 pm

    I didn’t read the other comments, so I have no idea if I’m saying something new or not here, but…

    I would stick with the green lamps (they are SO cute and you love the color) but I would switch the shades. The taller lamp shade just seemed to go with the rest of your room better. Can you use the green base w/ different shades?

    Oh and I love your chair – beautiful!

  10. August 10, 2010 8:49 am

    Go with the taller lamps, the lamps matches and helps balance your bed frame.

  11. August 10, 2010 9:27 am

    Thanks for all of the advice, guys!

    Looks like the green lamps are going back…

    Love the idea of sconces so that I have full use of my bedside table… thinking these might be especially lovely: http://www.potterybarn.com/products/adair-sconce/?lineid=2&cm_src=E:BEDROOM-SCONCES

    And! Since I’ve been hoarding PB giftcards, looking for just the right thing, I’d probably only pay shipping on them!

  12. August 10, 2010 11:53 am

    I like the french doors to the outside in pic 2. could this be done to a deck off the back of the house?

    • August 10, 2010 12:25 pm

      Oh, how neat would that be? French doors off your living room that lead to your english style herb & vegetable garden set in raised square planting beds? And changing to doors instead of windows isn’t a huge construction cost compared to other projects…

  13. Uncle B permalink
    August 10, 2010 4:19 pm

    On the blank wall, why don’t you build a window and use a mirror instead of glass. Two birds with one stone. You could match the size of the existing window to balance things out. Also, Jackie’s friend would take old windows from homes and paint designs on the glass and then hung them on the wall, that might work too.

  14. Elizabeth permalink
    August 11, 2010 2:39 pm

    I like the green, but too think they’re a little too short. You could try a project like this: http://www.russetstreetreno.com/2010/08/hot-lamps.html

  15. August 11, 2010 10:17 pm

    I like shorter lamps (whatever colour) as I hate lying in bed reading and being blinded by the bulb under the shade! – but maybe I am alone in this….maybe you sit up to read in bed!!

    Also, the house we are staying in here on the house exchange as NINE cushions, pillows, bolsters etc on the bed – just getting most off the bed to get in is a whole days work!

    Question – what is the average number of pillows and cushions on an American bed? At home each side has 2 max, and very occasionally one additional decorative one, but definitely not usual to have any more!

  16. Sherry permalink
    August 19, 2010 11:23 pm

    Hi there! I’m new and late to the decorating party, but here are a few thoughts. The green lamps are cute, but too short for your headboard. I would look for some ceramic lamps at Home Goods . You could even spray paint them if you want a color to match your decor. As a side note, I think your long, narrow, metal wall art (?) next to your window would look great on the narrow wall behind your chair – it would really anchor that corner. I would put something more substantial (a pair of large, framed prints?) beside the window. What do you think? I think your room is on it’s way to looking wonderful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

