Skip to content

2010 Week 30

August 6, 2010

After posting that our friend, Melinda, was coming to visit last weekend, her flight was cancelled.  Boo.  (Fortunately, she was able to reschedule her trip for a few weeks from now).

Saturday morning we woke to the pitter pat of rain falling.  Our weather has been reasonably cool at night, and I love to sleep with the windows open, falling asleep to the hoot of owls in nearby trees, often waking to chirping birds (or pecking birds, in the case of the woodpecker who has been attacking our garage).  I’ve been thinking lately about how the sounds of the country are so much different than the sounds we heard in our city homes – the cicadas buzzing in the background, the loud moo of the cows across the street, roosters cock-a-doodle-dooing all have been pleasant surprises in the past year.

Also, this week, I’ve spent a considerable amount of time staring at our tomato plants, checking for the creepy crawlers I mentioned last week.  I think we may have gotten rid of them.  (Hope I didn’t just jinx things by writing that!)

We headed to the farmer’s market Saturday, as we usually do, and picked up $25 worth of vegetable, fruit, and meaty goodness.  This makes us insanely happy, as the food tastes much fresher and more flavorful when it’s coming from a mile down the road instead of several states away.  We’re also happy to help financially support some of our local farmers, since they are, quite literally, our neighbors.

After the farmer’s market, we stopped at the grocery store to pick up a few other staples: flour, vinegar, etc.  We got to the checkout and Jason goes, “look – there is not one processed food item in our cart.”  Which makes me insanely proud (look! we can make it from scratch) and also a bit surprised (the girl who couldn’t cook a year ago is becoming a food snob!).  So we are those people now.  Or at least in this one instance we are, since you know I can’t possibly give up Breyer’s ice cream (at least not until our ice cream maker arrives…) and there’s no way my cheerio-eating husband could go without.

Also this week, I rearranged some furniture and picked some of our (green) hydrangeas.  I don’t know if that means that I caught them too early or too late or what, but I don’t know if I ever actually saw them white last year.  You know I would love a set of blue, pink, or red hydrangea bushes out front, and once our retaining wall is rebuilt (hopefully later this month!), my plan is to plant a whole bunch of them.  So, green for now will do.  I picked a few extra, too, and I’ve got them drying upside down in the sunroom.

I took the above picture yesterday and it cracks me up.  Jason was doing his impression of what Jezebel sounds/looks like when she’s playing, and Jezzie just looks bored.  Or aloof.  Or, I like to think of it as her preteen doggy self rolling her eyes and going, “whatever, dad.

Speaking of Jezebel, she’s somewhat of a night wanderer, and loves to chase creatures in the dark – moths and lightning bugs and whatnot.

There’s a frog that comes to visit us every night.  He crawls up the only living room window that doesn’t have a screen on it (which is coincidentally the closest window to one of our living room lamps) and he parks there, waiting for moths to come near before he strikes.  He’s a frog that I can deal with – one that’s on the other side of a wall from me, and it’s great to watch.  Jezebel agrees and will lay on the living room floor staring at him and whining quietly.  I don’t think she’s figured out that she could actually get him if she wanted to – that once we let her out, she’d only have to go close to the window to see him.  But I think that’s probably a good thing for his sake.

We’re looking forward to having visitors again this weekend (and they’re driving – so no chance of flight cancellations!).  AND, we’re getting a roommate on Sunday – one of the interns at Jason’s work only had a temporary place to stay nearby and his lease was up.  He was going to commute from his parent’s house – 2 hours away – but we told him that he should just move in with us because we’ve got two spare rooms.  So, for the next 3 or so weeks, my pajama radius will be dramatically diminished and I’ll probably actually shower every day.  A change for the better?  We’ll see…

What are you up to this weekend?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2010 12:13 pm

    We’ve had those awful tomato hornworms every year so far. I haven’t seen any yet, but I’m scared to look. They’re the worst part about growing tomatoes, in my opinion. I hope yours are gone for good!

  2. August 7, 2010 1:26 am

    Love the picture!

  3. August 8, 2010 6:51 am

    Hi there ! Don’t have to shout as loud as I am a few thousand miles closer!

    Had a wonderful time in Cape Cod and now in Concord, MA.

    This weekend (in a few hours!) I am going on a small photo walking tour in Boston! Did one in Paris a few years back – amazing.

    Have driven past a few Chili’s so far but as yet have not persuaded my family it is time to stop – but I always think of you!

    I do love the US of A!

  4. August 8, 2010 6:53 am

    Ps – our hydrangea are green like that before they turn blue – but I always love the green stage too! They are also lovely when they are all wispy and withered in winter 😉

  5. August 9, 2010 10:30 am

    Sounds like a lovely weekend. Your hubby and the doggy look so much alike! 😉

  6. August 9, 2010 10:00 pm

    Love that picture! I am right there with you with the farmers market and grocery store…..I having to try really hard not to judge the contents of the carts around me:)

Leave a Reply

