Skip to content

2010 Week 29

July 30, 2010

As I mentioned on Monday, we spent last weekend in Milwaukee.  Our reason for visiting was the benefit that my aunt organized in honor of the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  It was a good time (and apparently a bunch of money was raised for a good cause!), so I thought I’d post more pictures.  The benefit was held at Pillars in West Bend, which is a bar in a cool old building that has previously housed a church and a bank.  Wisconsin’s smoking ban just went into effect a few weeks ago (and here I was thinking that Michigan was the last of the 50 to adopt such an awesome policy), and we were incredibly happy about that, because wouldn’t it be ironic to raise money for cancer research while filling our lungs with cancer-causing toxins?

Anyways, we hung out inside with the photobooth and the fam and the polka for a bit and then headed outside, where it was a little quieter because we are, apparently, 30 going on 95.  Who knew polka bands could get so loud and rowdy?

Above are pictures of sister & sister’s boyfriend, grandpa, uncle B (are you so excited you finally made the blog!?!), and sister and grandma.  These are some of the people we talked to after we turned our hearing aids up went outside.

The rest of the weekend was busy, as weekends with the fam usually are.  We ran the photobooth for a wedding on Saturday (for those of you who have not caught on by now, the photobooth is mama bear’s latest and greatest adventure in entrepreneurship, so I like to plug it when I can.  Because it’s like super-awesome, and she’s got the best booth in Milwaukee.  I swear.  And, the good people of SW WI do, too, since she’s booked to capacity almost every weekend.), and I love running the photobooth.  (Hate setting it up and taking it down).  L-O-V-E running it.  People get so happy about the photobooth and it’s super-fun to see their creativity.  Also, who ISN’T happy at a wedding?  It’s like working and being surrounded by 200 very happy (okay, and sometimes very drunk) strangers.  It reminds me of the super-awesome-ultra-fun day that was our wedding.  And, I get to see the awesomely creative set ups that other brides have chosen, which makes me happy because I am super-nosey.

The rest of our weekend was full of Chipotle visits (would you believe that my husband could down 3 burritos and 4 tacos in less than 48 hours?  I don’t know whether to be proud or disgusted.).  Three of the 4 roads to mama and papa bear’s casa were blocked by floods, which left us one (very inconvenient) route to enter and exit their subdivision.  That was nutty.

Brother Trevor came back from hockey camp, and it turns out that he’s like totally a teenager now because he had to go hang out with his friends before I could harass him with the camera.  Brother Robby made up for it, though, by letting me cut his hair.  Given that, up until a year ago, he had this goofy long haircut that everyone threatened to cut in his sleep, this was a real thrill.  I threatened to cut J’s hair, but he had an important presentation on Wednesday so I decided the timing might be a little off.  Maybe next time…

The rest of the week was spent projecting.  I’ve got several projects in the works that I hope to finish up to show you next week… and if I don’t, the blog will be silent, because I’ve got nothing more to say.

That’s a lie.  I can always say more.

Jezebel found a frog in the hole in our back porch that we think used to be a coi pond but is now just a hole.  That was an hour and a half of entertainment (for her) and slight freaking out (for me).  I left the door to the porch open with the hope that she would chase it outside, but I have no clue whether that was successful or not.  We probably have a frog loose somewhere in the house, but I’d prefer not to think about it.

I discovered these unicorn bugs (or tomato hornworms) on our tomato plants yesterday – can you see the spiky red tail on that one to the upper left?  If only that was on their head, they’d be like unicorns.  And I decided that they should also be mythical, like unicorns, because these things give me the creepy crawlies.  Like the up at 5:30am because I had a dream they were crawling all over me creepy-crawlies.  These guys are nasty-looking – they’re like 5-6″ long and fatter than my pinky.  Eww. So the unicorn bugs and I are at war, and the victor will get the tomato jungle that’s growing back there.  Seriously, the grape tomato plant is taller than me.

I am claiming that I caught 7 of them, because I found them, but in reality, I’m not interested in the actual physical part of the catching, so I’ve gotten Jason to do my dirty work (note: what we really need is kids, because they will pick up anything. Jason would like me to give birth to a 10-year old boy, in fact, for it’s lawn-mowing and unicorn bug-finding abilities).  We let them swim in soapy water, like our Gardener’s Bible suggested, and minutes later they were in tomato plant heaven.

Anyways.  Enough babble for today… I am off to prepare the house for our friend Melinda’s visit this weekend!  She’s coming all the way from Philly just to see us, and we are *thrilled* to see her again!  What are you all up to this weekend!?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2010 11:44 am

    I remember once someone told me they had a dream their son’s hermit crabs were crawling all over them. When they woke up and went to the tank, the hermit crabs were gone! lol! Those wormies are creepy!

    • July 30, 2010 6:48 pm

      Looks like you guys had a great time! But those bugs are super gross…glad you had a partner in crime to get rid of them!

  2. Debbie permalink
    July 30, 2010 4:49 pm

    Again, great pictures! Please don’t let your blog be silent. We love following your adventures from a distance. I live vicariously through you!
    Have a great time with Melinda! I can’t wait to hear about your weekend.

  3. July 30, 2010 5:54 pm

    Ick! Those things are gross. Never even heard of these unicorns before.

  4. July 30, 2010 7:09 pm

    Okay, those bugs are totally gross! I will have nightmares. 😉

  5. Uncle B permalink
    July 31, 2010 10:55 am

    If that is the picture of me you are going to put on your blog……I don’t want to be on it!!

    • August 1, 2010 8:57 pm

      Aww, I think it’s kind of cute! (and, it’s the best one I had of you all night!)

  6. August 1, 2010 9:05 pm

    Yeah, Brian can do better than that, his face is pursed kind of funny in that one. Those bugs are disgusting…do we really need pictures?

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 Week 30 «

Leave a Reply

