Skip to content

in which I threaten to become (more of) a photo stalker

July 29, 2010

In case I haven’t broadcast it enough yet, I kind of have a lot of time on my hands.

Although, I would argue that I am doing my best to fill that time with important tasks, like photo editing, stinky rug cleaning, furniture stripping & restaining, and unicorn bug killing.  Okay, fine. It was not a unicorn bug, as I originally proclaimed to Jason – it was only a tomato hornworm.  In my defense, it has a pointy bit that looks a little unicornish.  And, after checking out photos online, let me just say that it’s a good thing I encountered the little guy in his pre-moth state.  I do not do moths.

I do not do frogs or toads, either, just for the record.  I blame it on college neuroscience in which we had to pith frogs (for those of you not in the know – you basically take a stick and scramble the frog’s nervous system…sounds gruesome, but when done correctly it’s actually humane because the death is instantaneous).  So there I am, with a giant bullfrog in hand.  No, that’s not true. There I am, staring at giant bullfrog through the glass of it’s cage, freaking out alongside my lab partner.  Neither of us had killed anything bigger than a small spider.  So we asked nicely made the TA for the class do it.  And then, a few minutes later, when we had him pinned down to our lab tray, we began doing whatever we were supposed to do that day, and the frog’s foot moved.  The TA went back in to pith the frog again.  It happened a second time.  Oh, yikes.

Sure, it might have been a reflex, but it was definitely enough to make yours truly weary of frogs.  Probably forever.  I just don’t think I can get over their sneakyness.  Seriously, I make Jezebel chase them out of the garage whenever I’m stripping and restaining furniture and one tries to help scares the crap out of me.  This plan has backfired on me a few times, as she tends to chase them deeper into the garage, but at least it gets them (temporarily) away from my workspace.

And although I am not a big froggy fan (other than, I appreciate what they do for the garden & bugs and what not, but can they not do that without jumping out into my line of sight?), do you know who is?

Yep, that was the world’s smoothest transition, from my ridiculous nonsense to pictures of our cute nephew from their last visit.  Let’s just say that one of the projects I’m working on involves getting my photos sorted and into a book.  Slowly.  Because I can’t handle staring at photoshop for more than a few hours at a time.

I think this picture of Lucy is one of my all-time favorites.

I played around with the color on these to give them a little more of a muted effect and put the photos into a storyboard.  I think this probably makes it easier for those of you at home – no need to scroll down through a million large photos – and I think I’ll be using these sorts of layouts for my photoalbums anyways.

Photobabble aside, I really really love these pictures.  Not only because the people in them are some of our favorites, but because everyone looks so happy and carefree.  I love that the pictures aren’t posed – I really just took them as they happened – and I feel like (maybe?) this gives us a small glimpse into the lives of K&A & their little ones.  Like this is how it really is – just a super-happy family laughing and playing with each other.

Which makes me think that I wish there were more impromptu, unposed pictures of J and I.  So we could maybe get a glimpse of what we look like to other people.  Know what I mean?

And this also makes me think that I might just start following people around and taking pictures stalker-style.  People I know IRL: you’ve been warned!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 12:28 pm

    Your photos are gorgeous! I’m with you on the toad/frog thing too.

  2. Debbie permalink
    July 29, 2010 7:59 pm

    I love impromptu pictures catching people (especially children ) in their natural state.
    You have to train someone to have the capabilities you have so that they can take the same photos of you & J. It’s not fair you take all these great photos of others and you don’t have too many of you!
    Thanks for these, I love them!!!

  3. Amy permalink
    July 29, 2010 8:43 pm

    Maybe we can return the favor when we see you next, although my camera doesn’t hold a candle to yours. (Note to self: start entering internet contests…)

    Thanks for posting these pictures! FYI, the children talk about you + your family all the time. In rank order, it’s: Barley and Jezebel, Aunt J, Uncle J. Sometimes, Uncle J gets left behind. He’ll have to bribe them with cupfuls of sugar the next time he sees them to get to the top of the list.

  4. July 29, 2010 8:47 pm

    I adore the muted tones in the collage. I told my mom that I’d go thorugh all their photos for their Christmas gift in 2009. lol. I should get to that. =)

Leave a Reply

