Skip to content

this one time, three months ago…

July 27, 2010

This one time, three months ago, we were out in Jersey visiting with these two cuties:

And I blogged about most of our adventures from that trip (here and here), but didn’t quite make it to the cute nekked pics of these babes, because I was actually employed at that point.  But now?  Not so much. So my funemployed self decided that this morning was as good as any to play around with these pics using the new actions I just downloaded free from here (most of these are edited using the perfect portrait action, for those of you interested in this sort of thing).

We met up with these guys at Grammy and Poppy’s house, and hung out in the backyard for the afternoon.  It was a pretty hot day, so of course the best thing to do was take your clothes off and play in the water (at least for the preschoolers. The rest of us declined).  (As a side note: I played with the simply vintage action on the pic below & added a little texture… I usually don’t like overly textured pictures, so I went light with the texture on this one – you can just barely see it around the edges.)

Jezebel was particularly annoying interested in what the kids were up to, and the kids were not really impressed by her antics, so I suggested that they turn the hose on her to get her to stay away (I am such a mean doggy-mama).  The plan kind of backfired, though, because Jezebel actually liked the hose, and tried to catch the water with her mouth.  So Peter walked around spraying her with the hose for a while, and all was good.

After the kids were done with the water (or, after their parents suggested that they were done with the water), we had a yummy dinner of grilled chicken, salad, and fruit, followed by ICE CREAM CAKE! for P’s third birthday.  (Sidenote: I can’t believe this guy is 3 already…).

Peter seemed pretty thrilled with the cake (but not quite as thrilled as his uncle Jason, who loves ice cream cake more than any other dessert).  He was even kind enough to share what was on his arms and legs with Jezebel, and she was quite happy to be invited to the party!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    July 27, 2010 12:19 pm

    They are cute but don’t you have some kind of function that will make a grandmother who ALWAYS takes a terrible picture look cute like the kids? I guess it’s WAY too late for that!
    I love the modesty patch; I’m sure Peter will thank you in years to come.
    Where are the pics of their father and uncle scarfing down the ice cream cake?

    • July 28, 2010 12:06 pm

      Oh! I thought you looked great in this picture (or I wouldn’t have posted it!). The big boys ate their cake too quick for me to snap photos… plus, I would have been just embarrassed that Jason’s face was messier than Peter’s! 🙂

  2. July 27, 2010 6:13 pm

    I love the modesty patch. These look so great. You always take the best photos.

  3. Tina Frey permalink
    July 27, 2010 10:38 pm

    Hi there –
    Just wanted to say that I am thoroughly enjoying your posts and wish I had so much time (or should I say wish I MADE so much time!)! Anyway, your close-up here of Maelynn is absolutely stunning! I have a Canon 20D that I haven’t learned all the functions on yet and am like a kid in a candy store with it!
    Thanks,
    Tina

    • July 28, 2010 2:07 pm

      Thanks for the kind words, Tina! Hope you find some time to play with your 20D soon! 🙂

  4. July 28, 2010 10:22 am

    Your pics are great as usual. Love the modesty patch!

  5. GGG permalink
    July 28, 2010 10:39 am

    Hey, I think that Grandmother looks pretty darn good! I always try and hide or at least be in the back row when she comes out with that camera–but at times it’s hard to get away from her:)

  6. July 28, 2010 2:17 pm

    Is Simply Vintage a program? I’ve seen this can be achived using Florabella but I’m wondeirng if it can also be achieved without having bought Florabella.

    Thanks for stopping by.

    • July 28, 2010 2:36 pm

      Simply vintage is actually a free action for Photoshop. I haven’t heard of Florabella… I’ll have to look into it!

Leave a Reply

