Skip to content

2010 Week 28

July 23, 2010

My biggest challenge this week was trying to get the dogs to sit still for a photo shoot.  Yes, you can all roll your eyes at the ridiculousness of this statement.

Jason has been concerned recently that the pictures of B&J on the blog weren’t up-to-date enough.  Heck, the one on the side of the blog is from last fall, and our little monster has grown a bunch since then (can you believe she’s weighing in at a whopping 45 lbs these days?).  So I made time this week for a doggy photo shoot, which involves many, many dog treats, a little bit of patience, and, unfortunately, this time it may have involved me stepping in dog crap.  Oops.

I think those of you that have tried to get two dogs to sit still in a cute pose next to each other will understand what an exercise in futility this could have been.  I have about 200 photos of Barley sitting nicely with portions of Jezebel’s head, ears, or tail wandering off the edge of the picture.  Even treats (or, the crust from the whole wheat bread that I made this week) didn’t help much – at first.  Then, I think the novelty of the camera wore off after the first 300 takes and she sat still.

And she posed.  She’s like Tyra Banks model fierce here.  Seriously.  Could her mismatched flopping ears get any cuter?

Does this make you happy, Jason? Please, assign me more ridiculous tasks while you’re at work!  Maybe next time I can have the dogs balance colorful balls on their nose in seal-esque fashion?

Which is to say, that it will still probably be a while before I change the pictures on the sidebar.  (I still like that one better than most of these.)

In other news, this week we successfully harvested our first tomato – a cherry tomato – and it was delish.  I also picked our first cucumber and a few green beans, but all were eaten before the camera could be summoned.  Cucumbers and beans are like my most favorite vegetables, and I’m inclined to just snack on them without doing much other than cutting them up.  The jalepenos are growing like mad, and I think the lettuce might be getting past it’s prime.  I was psyched to take our first clippings from the oregano & rosemary, and I made this awesome marinade with them (so easy, and so so yummy…).

I also found a new website for free photoshop actions – coffeeteaphotography.blogspot.com.  The dog photos are edited with the perfect portrait action, and I used one of her templates to create the side-by-side veggie photo board.  Those of you into this sort of thing should check it out – I’ve only tried the perfect portrait & vintage actions, but would love to see how any of the others work, so will you pretty please let me know if you try this out?  I’ve got some cutie cute pictures of the niece & nephew from our May & June visits with them that are begging to be photoshopped, so I’ve been on the lookout for new (free) actions to play around with.

And now, time to prepare for this weekend’s super-awesome plans.  I’ll tell you all about them… next week! 🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2010 12:24 pm

    I know how hard it is to photograph dogs, so I understand the hard work that went into these pictures!

  2. July 23, 2010 12:46 pm

    These photos are precious! I can never get our dog, Rose, to pose for me either unless she’s just exhausted. Remind me what kind of camera you have…

    • July 23, 2010 12:59 pm

      I have a Canon Rebel DLSR (and I love it!)

  3. GGG permalink
    July 23, 2010 1:16 pm

    I see jezebel has her magic collar on. Maybe that would hve gotten her to sit still:) Then maybe all you would get is a tail between the legs!

  4. GGG permalink
    July 23, 2010 1:20 pm

    We have been picking tomatoes and parsley but they don’t even make into the house before they are gone:) Can’t wait to see you tonight!

  5. July 23, 2010 2:43 pm

    you had me cracking up, regardless of ‘trying’ to take the perfect pick of your dogs — you always take such amazing pics!!!! I love the color in your pics so rich

  6. July 23, 2010 5:45 pm

    I don’t think I’ve ever gotten a good picture of both dogs. I guess that maybe it just takes time.

    She is fierce in that photo, though. Love the floppy ears, too.

  7. July 25, 2010 10:21 pm

    I love those dog photos….I can never get mine to stand still and look at the camera at the same time. Sigh.

    I am with you on the lettuce on the way out and tons of jalapenos. I think I might need to make jelly with them again this year.

    And thanks for the photography link….what a great site!

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

