Skip to content

DIY bird feeder

July 12, 2010

In addition to the hypertufa that I shared last week, I also made my gardening momma a sweet teacup & saucer bird feeder.

The ideas/directions/inspiration came from here.  I didn’t take any pictures of the process (bad, bad blogger!), but you should know that it’s easy peasy.  All you need is an old cup + saucer + spoon (total for mine? less than $1.00 at the local thrift store), a 1/2″ copper pipe & 1/2″ copper pipe cap (~$5), and some hard core glue (I used liquid nails glue for outdoors, $3).  Sand these objects in all of the places that they come into contact with each other (i.e., bottom of teacup, top of saucer, bottom of spoon, copper cap, etc), then glue away.  It’s probably easiest to glue the teacup & spoon to the saucer first, and when those are dry, glue the copper cap to the bottom.  Once you’re sure all of that has dried, you can go ahead and slide the copper cap on your copper pipe and stick ‘er in the ground.

Then, all that’s left to do is pour on some bird seed (actually, I think my $7 bag of bird seed was the most pricey part of the project), and watch your feeder attract birds.  I’ve been seeing cardinals, woodpeckers, & hummingbirds recently, even without a feeder.  I wonder how many birds I could attract if I was actually feeding them?  I know. I ponder very important things when left at home all day to do nothing but glue junk from the Salvy together while still wearing my pjs.

I’m wishing I bought more of these cute teacup & saucers – this was a super-easy and cheap project and I’d love to make a bunch more for my gardening friends & family!  (And myself, of course! I think they’d look swell in the gardens!)  In other attracting-birds-to-your-nest crafts, I recently stumbled on instructions to make your own free/cheap bird baths, and am totally wanting to create my own once I find the right vessel.  Check them out here, here, and here (I think my favorite is the awesome birch & wood bath made for free…).

And now I’m wondering if any of you have created your own bird-attracting devices?  Or have you seen any awesome bird-attracting devices recently?  Also wondering: where the patch of poison ivy on my wrist came from, why the cherries that I bought from the farmer’s market on Saturday are already nasty, and what I’m going to have for breakfast now that my yogurt is gone and I can’t make myself a breakfast smoothie?  Deep thoughts, here, people.  Deep thoughts.

I’m sharing this with the DIY Show Off’s Project Parade and TCB’s Get Your Craft On Tuesday.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. shareleann permalink
    July 12, 2010 12:43 pm

    That is so adorable!!! I am definately going to make one!!

    • July 16, 2010 9:03 pm

      Thanks! Will you share pictures with us!?!

  2. GGG permalink
    July 12, 2010 1:28 pm

    I saw it in your Mothers garden and it is really cute!

  3. July 12, 2010 1:44 pm

    Hi! Thanks so much for including me in your post! I had the teacup on a post in my front yard for the longest time! 3 cups at different heights, plus a antique silver teapot, pouring water into them. However … I drilled holes in all my cups and saucer to insert the rod though. Dumb, dumb, dumb. The method you have is MUCH easier and thusly … much smarter! Thanks for the idea. karen – theartofdoingstuff.com

  4. July 12, 2010 4:51 pm

    That is the cutest thing ever!! The birds get to eat in style!!

  5. July 13, 2010 1:42 am

    That is awesome! So glad our tutorial could inspire you! Thanks! Yours looks amazing. I love that cup!

  6. July 14, 2010 10:38 pm

    This is seriously sooo cuute! I love it!

  7. July 16, 2010 9:52 pm

    Thanks, guys! 🙂

  8. October 25, 2010 2:08 pm

    Finally got around to making this. So easy once you have the materials…which, I guess I had the whole time – it was just a matter of mentioning it to my husband and voila! in a matter of minutes – done! Of course, I had to let it dry overnight, but I just put it out there for the birdies. Will take it in when it gets a little colder. Don’t want it to break.

Trackbacks

  1. Reclaimed | Hernando House
  2. happy new year! «
  3. Attività con i bambini: birdgardening | Blogmamma.it
  4. this summer’s flower garden! |

Leave a Reply

