Skip to content

a year in home improvements

July 7, 2010

It’s still weird to me that we’ve been living in our current house for a year now.  In some ways, it seems like we just got to Michigan.  Most days, though, it’s like we’ve been living here for 10 years.  I think one of the reasons that we’ve felt so at home here is that I was able to paint almost every wall in the house and hang pictures right away.  In our previous houses, we never actually got around to hanging artwork.

When we first got the keys to the house, we quickly demo’d the only full bath in the house, and we temporarily commuted between an apartment that Jason was renting and our new house.  It was hard to commute since we were so eager to be in our own home, but it was worth it – our new bath is much better than the old one.  (You can read all about our reno here).

before

after

Another dramatic change was the kitchen.  The wallpaper was bad, and a huge chandelier was waiting to knock out anyone who is taller than 5’5″.  So we painted and changed up the light fixtures and it feels much fresher and more modern.  We added new cabinet pulls and a new faucet and we were good to go.  (Kitchen reno posts are here).

before

after

In the future, I’d love to get rid of the bulkhead and hang our cabinets higher on the wall – we only have about 18″ between the countertop and cabinets, and that doesn’t leave much work space.

Our third major project this year has been the remodeling of our old half bath.  This is still kind of a work in progress, since we got it to useable condition and then got sick of the project and ignored it for a while.  I’m hoping to put the final touches on her someday soon…

before

midway… stay tuned for the after photos (once we actually complete it!)

In addition to all of the pretty changes that we’ve made in the house, we also replaced the heater and added an air conditioner, bought a new water softener and washer & dryer.

Our first major project for year 2 in our Michigan home will be to repair the 5′ retaining wall surrounding the front of our house that gave way during the spring warm up.  We’ve decided that this is a project that would NOT be fun to do ourselves, and are in the process of hiring someone to do the work for us.  We also have a huge list of other projects we’d like to tackle: painting our sunroom, making the laundry room prettier and more functional, installing hardwood floors throughout the first floor of our home, improving our veggie garden, etc.  Fingers crossed that all of them will work out… if not, we really do appreciate all of you coming along for the ride!  Thanks for tuning in to read my nonsense during our first year in Michigan, and we hope you’ll join us for many, many more here!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 1:03 pm

    I remember discovering your blog when you just finished your kitchen! AND I remember reading about your bathroom on Mrs. Limestones site. You have made some huge changes and I know there are some you didn’t mention…like making over your bedroom, that I enjoyed. Great job! You did a lot in a year!

  2. July 7, 2010 3:36 pm

    Wow! I love all of your before and afters. The bathroom is my very favorite though. I have some blackboard paint in my garage that I really want to use! How fun for guests to write you messages on the wall when they come over.

  3. July 7, 2010 8:38 pm

    I haven’t seen any of this. I’m loving it! Love love love the chalkboard wall in the bathroom and the beadboard. Gorgeous. I also really like the wall-mounted sink.

    I’m just drooling over here.

  4. kazoofifi permalink
    July 8, 2010 12:52 pm

    Love the subway tile in the bathroom, thrilled that you didn’t get rid of that awesome detail in the kitchen above the sink (we have that too, I love it). What part of the hand are you guys in?

    • July 8, 2010 9:38 pm

      We’re in the SW corner… probably not too far from you! 🙂 Thanks for the compliment on the subway tile… I’d love to add it to the backsplash in the kitchen, too!

  5. July 14, 2010 3:02 pm

    I love, love the bathroom, and the kitchen too. I’m definitely stopping by if I’m ever near Michigan! 🙂

Leave a Reply

