Skip to content

2010 Week 24

June 25, 2010

Lest I get behind in my pictures of a very ordinary existence series, I’m going to share a few from this week and will finish talking about my Montana vacay next week.  And, if you’re really lucky, I may even share a few projecty things with you!  *fingers crossed*

*fingers uncrossed* (so I can resume typing).

Anyways.

This week!  This week I played a not-too-thrilling game of catch up.  Jason was kind enough to pick up around the house before my arrival last Monday, undoubtedly making the transition from vacay jen to stay at home doggy mama jen much easier.  Unfortunately, though, boy has no sense of smell and missed the rotting pizza dough and veggies in the fridge.  He also seems to have forgotten how to use the washer & dryer, and, to be honest, I’m sure the cupboards were bare simply because boy forgot where the grocery store was located.

I jest.

Boy remembered where the grocery store was in time to pick up food for dinner Tuesday night.

Since our move to Michigan (and my move from full-time to sporadic employment), I envisioned a time when, you know, 40 years from now, boy wouldn’t be able to take care of himself because I do most of the laundry, grocery shopping, etc.  In fact, I totally don’t mind doing these things — it means that the time we spend together can be spent doing more fun things or bigger projects.  (Not to mention, I’m sure that if I was working full time and Jason was not, he’d be doing all of these things for me!).  I just didn’t expect him to fall apart after only a year!  Ahh, well.  It’s good to be needed anyways.  And as long as he doesn’t stop cooking, we’ll both be okay. 🙂

Moving on.

I gathered some serous bounty from the garden this week – radishes, lettuce, black raspberries, and flowers!  It’s amazing how much everything grew in the week that I was gone… we’ve got some tomatoes and peppers soon-to-be arriving, and our herbs are looking great!  Not bad for our second year of gardening ever – and first year of gardening in Michigan.  Next year, we’ll have to plant our seeds a bit sooner to get even more out of our garden!

As I was picking black raspberries this morning, I noticed an abundance of large spiders on them.  I dislike spiders and am still trying to determine whether I will share my berries with them or not.  On one hand, the bushes are in the woods and it’s easier not to spray pesticides all over them.  On the other, those little buggers prefer only the big black pretty berries, which are the ones that I prefer, too!  It’s kind of a mess.

But not as big as the mess of weeds in the flower garden.  I’m a bit overwhelmed by the abundance of weeds out there, but I am hopeful that as the perennials in the garden grow bigger, they’ll pinch out the weeds and I’ll have less work to do.  It sounds good in theory, but if it’s not going to happen in real life, don’t tell me.  I’d like to harbor this delusion for a while longer.

In other news, we ran out of bread this week, so I attempted multigrain bread.  I’ve made several very dense, hard, not tasty multigrain loaves before, so let me just announce that I threw myself a party when this bread turned out airy and delicious.  The recipe is here (I didn’t have bulgar or rye flour, so I just used 3.5 cups of whole wheat flour and 3.5 cups of unbleached flour).  I’ll be making this again, maybe next time with the rye flour and bulgar.  Until then, I’ve got a loaf and a half in the freezer (where we store our bread so that it won’t go bad).

This weekend we’ll be catching up on yardwork and other assorted household fun.  What are your plans for the weekend?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 12:32 am

    Oh those pics from your garden are making me drool! Glad you are back and hope you had a great time on your week away!

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

