Skip to content

2010 Week 22

June 4, 2010

I’m not even sure where this week went (that seems to be a theme lately).

We had a wonderful memorial weekend, filled with yardwork and friends.  And if I wasn’t outside digging in the garden or grilling out, you can bet I was inside working on my (last two!) lectures for the week, grading 60+ student papers, and preparing for the final exam (next week!).  I can’t believe how quickly the term has gone by!  Have I mentioned how much I love teaching?  It’s so awesome. And, I’m hoping that maybe my students think I’m half-decent at it, since a few of them mentioned that they wished I would offer an upper-level seminar course that they could take next year.  And, I thought that that was probably the best complement that I could get on my teaching.  I’ve been on cloud 9 since receiving that complement (but am still nervous about what my class evaluations will say.  Fingers crossed that more than 2 of the students appreciated my teaching!).

Anyways.  Let’s get to the meat of this post.  Or maybe the final course?

I made two pound cakes last weekend – one for each of our grilling get-togethers.  I’ve never made pound cake before, and actually, I’ve never used my bundt pan before, so it was time.  My aunt (aka the poison ivy queen) was right when she suggested that everything looks better in a bundt pan.  And I’m sure the powdered sugar sprinkled on top didn’t hurt either.

And the best part of it all is that the pound cake tastes amazing.  Especially when lightly grilled and topped with berries (packaged in foil and heated on the grill) and vanilla ice cream.  Yum.  You should all go make it.  Right now.

(Here’s a recipe similar to the one that I used… My recipe was from Baking Basics and Beyond, which I’ve mentioned before, and is an awesome book for a beginning baker like myself.  FYI: the secret to the pound cake appears to be using ROOM TEMPERATURE eggs, milk, & butter).

As for us, we’re quickly finishing off the last of the pound cake while waiting for our next round of visitors – scheduled to arrive any minute!  We’re so thrilled to see our sweet niece and nephew and their parents again so soon.  I’d link up to the last time we saw them — in early May — but I haven’t gotten to edit all of the pictures, so I never posted them.  Oops.  Fingers crossed that I’ll be back to more regular blog posting (and picture taking/editing!) next week!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. GGG permalink
    June 4, 2010 10:00 pm

    Hooray! you’re back! I guess you have really been busy. I won’t bug you anymore:) That cake looks wonderful-good job! Hugs, GGG

  2. June 5, 2010 11:19 am

    Glad you’re back! That cake looks divine. Hope all goes well with your teaching evaluations. 🙂

  3. GGG permalink
    June 5, 2010 2:27 pm

    Say, jennifer, how did that pound cake get so dark? Mine usually are a lot lighter in color on the outside.

  4. mom permalink
    June 5, 2010 10:40 pm

    Do you have any rhubarb growing around your neck of the woods? Your pound cake looks yummy; we had rhubarb kuchen this week (made by the baking grandma) and I imagine you must really miss those kuchens Grandma makes… How’s that for enticing you home for a visit?

  5. June 6, 2010 9:17 am

    That looks super delicious, and I love the idea of heating it up on the grill! Congrats on the end of the semester and the compliments from your students!

Leave a Reply

