Skip to content

2010 Week 21

May 28, 2010

We had another super-busy-fun week here in the country.  My cousin & her momma came to visit for the weekend, and although she will probably be less than pleased with me for posting the picture below, I will do it anyways because a) she’s gorgeous, and b) she’s having a Colorado adventure this summer so it’s not like she’s close enough to punch me anyways.  Thanks for visiting, guys!  It was great to see you!  Please don’t punch me at Thanksgiving, C!

We had a great time relaxing, playing scrabble, and touring the booming metropolis that we live in.  We made important decisions, like this year’s Thanksgiving get-together will feature a massive scrabble tournament.  Meaning, I will be in training all summer/fall, since these two are ridiculously good players.  Between them and my gramma, I’d be lucky to make it past the first round.  And we my aunt, queen of poison ivy identification, made an important discovery:

Why, yes, that is poison ivy 10 feet from my back door.  No wonder I am constantly covered in red, itchy spots!  And now we will spend the rest of the summer trying to get rid of this little patch, as well as the large patch next to the driveway, and the ginormous climbing vine on one of the trees in the front yard.

And although the poison ivy will be a beast to combat this summer, we’re really fortunate that the rest of the backyard has exploded in beauty.  The iris’ have bloomed for the past two weeks, and while they’re really pretty outside, they seem to be kind of stinky when brought inside.

These little blue things have also emerged, although I don’t remember them from last summer.  We’ve got only a few of them, and their leaves are similar to cone flower leaves… does anyone know what they are?  I think they’re pretty cool looking, and they add a hint of blue to our mostly pink & white flower garden.

The daisies that I stole from my mom’s garden last year are also blooming.  They remind me of the first time I went to visit Jason – I was so nervous, but he was waiting at the airport for me with a bouquet of daisies.  It was kind of perfect because daisies are sort of a simple, easy, happy flower, which is what our relationship was at the time.  (And still is.)  So you know I’ve plucked a few of these to stick in the kitchen window so that I have an excuse to smile while washing dishes.

And, finally, this week, the peonies started blooming.  They smell amazing, and you can bet I’ll be dragging bunches of these into the house to enjoy in the upcoming weeks!

I typically make Jason walk around the back yard with me every evening to check out all of the new things that are blooming.  It’s kind of goofy, but I am pretty thrilled that these plants are actually thriving under my care… especially since I don’t have a very good track record – just ask my very brown and mostly dead houseplants.

This weekend, I’m looking forward to grilling out with friends, working in the yard, and heading to our local farmer’s market.  We’re keeping it low-key here, in anticipation for another fun round of visitors next weekend!  What are your plans for the long holiday weekend?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. japortma permalink
    May 28, 2010 12:33 pm

    ya know, that white iris looks like a mad dog..i had a hard time seeing the flower because I kept seeing a dog in the picture. haha!

    • MOM/Tami permalink
      May 31, 2010 9:18 pm

      Yes! I see the mad dog. What does that say about us???!!?

      • GGG permalink
        June 2, 2010 4:44 pm

        I saw that mad dog tooooo!

  2. May 28, 2010 1:02 pm

    Oh my goodness…I can’t believe the poison ivy was so close to you! I am super jealous of all of your beautiful blooms. I really need to plant something at some point this spring! I hope you have a great weekend!

  3. May 28, 2010 1:57 pm

    That blue flower we call Perennial Bachelor Buttons and there is another name for it but for the life of me I can’t remember. It grows quite rampantly in my garden so watch out for it! Your flowers are gorgeous and your photography is too.

  4. GGG permalink
    May 28, 2010 3:46 pm

    Yes, those blue flowers are batchlor buttons. I had some from my Grandmothers garden. I wish I could get them to grow rampant in my garden but they seem to be a favorite of the 18 deer that graze in my yard!!!!! Even the deer spray didn’t help and now they are all gone. I’ve never seen them anywhere for sale. I’d like to plant some here at the lake because there aren’t any deer here. Maybe next year when they come up you could put some in a pot for me:) About that scrabble game-those two beat the pants off of me while they were here! I think they cheat:)

    • Cath permalink
      May 31, 2010 1:04 am

      i can’t speak for my mom cuz i’m pretty sure she cheats, BUT I DONT! i’m just that amazing! 🙂

      • MOM/Tami permalink
        May 31, 2010 9:17 pm

        Ummmm. NO. I do not cheat. I am simply much more skilled than some other (nameless) players.

  5. theperryfamily permalink
    May 28, 2010 8:06 pm

    If I could suggest that you don’t pick any of those blue flowers since they are self-seeders and don’t cut them down but let them dry up and drop their seeds, you should have even more next year!

    I didn’t realize that the leaves on poison ivy were so big! Yikes, looks like a baby tree to me.

    I’d love to see how the planting beds are looking…are the transplants growing? Are you watering every day? Is everything filling in?

  6. May 28, 2010 9:53 pm

    You always take the most beautiful photos. Keep them comin’.

  7. May 29, 2010 1:37 am

    The garden looks wonderful and thriving. So THAT is what poison ivy looks like! – we don’t have it here 🙂

    We are at the cottage til Monday – keeping it low key, just exploring the beach etc. Weather permitting husband and 2 kids will take a boat trip round Rathlin.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  8. Cath permalink
    May 31, 2010 1:06 am

    you photo shopped my picture, so its all good. no punching will take place. 🙂 and plus, you win bonus points for calling me gorgeous, i mean i can’t be mad at you after that comment! hahaha.. (good strategy!) i’ll see you at thanksgiving!!! 🙂

  9. Tami permalink
    May 31, 2010 9:24 pm

    Thanks to the B&B hosts. It was very relaxing and fun to see you and your new house. If you let us come back some time, I promise we will let you win.

    Good luck with your lush, green poison ivy farm.

  10. June 1, 2010 10:08 pm

    Love the pretty flowers….you are so talented at capturing them!

  11. June 2, 2010 7:37 am

    I LOVE looking at your photos! Seriously, I’d pull up your blog and tell Zane, “come look, this is why we need a DSLR!”. Guess it worked. 🙂

  12. June 3, 2010 8:43 pm

    Gorgeous photos and gorgeous girl!! I love scrabble but I am so very bad at it…ha ha ha. I hope you are having a great week! XOXO

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 Week 22 «
  2. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

