Skip to content

first communion & a wedding!

May 11, 2010

The real reason we were in Jersey last weekend was to celebrate a wedding, and we were lucky enough to also be able to celebrate a first communion and third birthday.  It was a whirlwind weekend of celebrations, kicked off by J’s godson’s first communion.  He is shown below, having his head squeezed by that scary looking man my husband.  Super-cute, J.

Here’s a more normal looking photo of Jason, his sister, and their godson.  As you can tell, it was a gorgeous day, and we had a blast catching up with family that we don’t see often enough.

And, while Bridget was posing for pictures, adorable little Maelynn got to snuggle with her favorite aunt.

Or the aunt she knows the least, because said aunt lives hundreds of miles away.

Either one.

And, you know I wasn’t the only one in the family loving on this little one.  I think J’s cousin was also pretty happy to hold her.

And I guess at some point, Bridget must have reclaimed her baby, because I found this photo on my camera:

And I love the photo, because I think it makes Bridget look like a celebrity mom.  Maybe it’s the glasses?

Luckily for us, we had some fun time to visit with our other niece and nephew, too.  They are just as awesome as they are adorable, and especially so because, as toddlers, they change so much every time we see them.

This guy, for example:

He was much more talkative during this visit than the previous one, and also a willing participant in my photography.  Yes!

His mom also helped me convince him to make a few silly faces…

And you can see that he was happy to oblige until his little sister tickle tackled him.  Sorry, Peter!  If it’s any consolation, Barley feels your pain… Jezebel is constantly tackling him!

And although we weren’t too excited to leave the party, we were pretty excited to get to Brooklyn for the next party…

The above photo was taken from our hotel room – we had a great view of the Brooklyn Bridge!

Kevin & Sarah’s wedding ceremony took place only a few blocks from here in a beautiful old church.  It was there that we met up with Jason’s high school friends and their significant others.

Here’s JT and his friend, Phil.  You can tell that I’m still a novice with the new lens by the way Phil’s face is blurry.  Oops.  Sorry, Phil. (On the other hand, maybe it’s better that way… I’m always hesitant to put up photos of non-family members, lest I be that girl who is going to take everyone’s picture and post it all over the internets.  Family?  Well, they’re kind of stuck with me whether I post photos of them or not.  And, anyways, most of them know about this little internet journal o’mine and probably just cross their fingers that the pictures I post are not too cringeworthy.)

I have a love-hate relationship with that stupid fake overly-enthusiastic smile JT is giving me.  In this picture, it kind of makes me smile.  But other times, I’m all could he please pose for a nice normal photo for once in his life?!

Are the above centerpieces not some of the prettiest you’ve seen?  I love the vibrant colors and the combination of textures!

The reception was held at a restaurant with a stunning view of the Brooklyn bridge + NYC skyline.  And in that moment, I thought, I could totally live here.  Yep.  I could trade in my 9 acres for a 300 square foot studio and revel in the hustle and bustle of the city.  I’d enjoy walking, public transportation, awesome, varied ethnic cuisine.  Yum.

(And then, on the way out of town, we sat in traffic for 2 hours and I changed my mind).

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    May 11, 2010 2:41 pm

    As always, great pictures! You really should do portrait photography!

  2. May 11, 2010 2:55 pm

    O goodness, that baby is just too sweet for words! Amazing pictures of the Brooklyn Bridge!

  3. May 11, 2010 8:08 pm

    Your pictures are gorgeous! I was on the Brooklyn Bridge the same Sat. you were there. I love NYC. What kind of camera do you have?

  4. May 13, 2010 3:46 am

    Great photos Jen
    especially the black and whites
    and I agreeded with you
    i would love to be able to wall everywhere but not willing to give up “country” life

  5. May 16, 2010 6:54 pm

    Hey Jenn –
    Meeting Janine tomorrow night for dinner in Belfast – so excited – thought of you –
    happy week

    • May 21, 2010 3:23 pm

      Thanks! So glad to see that you two had fun – isn’t Made in Belfast amazing?

  6. May 21, 2010 1:06 pm

    I just love you pics, there always so full of color and make me smile!

  7. May 21, 2010 2:54 pm

    It should be noted that if you lived here, you would not have to sit thru 2 hours of traffic b/c you’d be home already 🙂

    Did you like your hotel? For whatever reason every hotel in Brooklyn is in a terrible location so I always suggest tourists stay in Manhattan. But maybe Ive missed a good one?

    • May 21, 2010 3:53 pm

      That’s true! 🙂 And if we lived there, we probably wouldn’t have a car anyways since we’d walk or take public transit! So really, I could still probably swing it.

      We stayed at the Brooklyn Marriott and it was nice in that sort of standard Marriotts-are-nice-hotels sort of way. A B&B or boutique hotel probably would have been cooler, but I have no complaints about it… We actually probably would have stayed elsewhere except that other friends who were in town made arrangements to stay at the hotel and we thought it would be fun to stay near them.

      The reception was at Bubby’s, though, and was awesome. Have you been there?

      Also – I loved your guide to Brooklyn, printed it out, read through it, got excited, and then didn’t get to use it because we ran out of time. Plans are in the works to head back sometime when we can actually shop/sightsee/take a million pictures…

Trackbacks

  1. this one time, three months ago… «
  2. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

