Skip to content

colorful baby quilt

April 28, 2010

One of my best friends welcomed a sweet baby girl into the world in early March.  Unfortunately, she lives a few states away and I haven’t been able to visit…

Instead, I sent this sweet baby quilt.  I was so so thrilled about how it turned out, since it’s really only my third completed quilt.

I went simple with the front, choosing to sew together strips of colorful fabric.  The back is also just a yellow polka-dot fabric – yellow because it’s my dear friend’s favorite color.

I machine quilted in lines that are perpendicular to the colorful stripes.  To get the lines relatively straight, I measured the distance from the edge of the quilt or the previously stitched line every few inches.  I was pleasantly surprised that my lazy method actually worked – the stitching is relatively straight!

I machine bound the edges of the quilt using a new (to me) stitch – this stitch is two stitches forward followed by one to the side (I found the idea from a video online).  The stitch created an interesting pattern around the quilt, but I’m not sure I’d use it again.  I found that it was slower and a bit more fussy than a standard stitch, and it made any bits where I didn’t sew in a straight line much more obvious.  It’s possible that this stitch could create a more hand-sewn look if the two straight stitches landed in the bit between the pink binding and the front/back of the quilt, but my skillz are just not there yet.  Maybe someday…

I’ve seen some super-cute quilts in blogland lately – specifically by Erin and Jenny – and I’m pretty psyched that my skills are improving.  (But I’d still appreciate tips/suggestions from my fellow quilters! Or links to your quilting projects – I love to grab ideas/inspiration from others!) I can’t wait to get started on my next quilt, and fortunately, my friends are getting pregnant left and right so I should have an excuse to…

….

I’m adding this to the CSI Project’s Fabric & Sewing Challenge.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 9:14 am

    Great job! I am impressed by people who can quilt! I use to watch my grandma do this, so I know the work involved. You are a great friend!

  2. GGG permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:27 pm

    Sooooooooooooooo talented you are! I don’t know where you find time to do all these lovely things. How is the teaching going? Can we see a picture of the school sometime?

  3. April 28, 2010 6:11 pm

    That quilt is so adorable and I am in AWE of your quilt making skills – I didn’t inherit my Mum’s sewing gift 😦

    hoping it has just skipped a generation so my daughters can make me stuff soon 🙂

  4. April 28, 2010 6:12 pm

    This is so gorgeous! I love the fabric you chose. Baby girl quilts appeal to me so much more than baby boy quilts.

  5. Debbie permalink
    April 28, 2010 6:35 pm

    I love the colors! I also love the way you display it in the outside; it brings out the colors that much more.

  6. April 28, 2010 10:24 pm

    So pretty! I love the fabrics and this so does not look like a beginner quilt. And I am right there with you with having plenty of time to practice my skills with all sorts of baby showers. They are so lucky to be receiving that gift!

  7. August 5, 2010 10:54 pm

    Adorable baby quilt. I have been wondering about techniques for sewing parallel lines wider than one’s presser foot–sounds like you came up with a good technique and I’m all for lazy. I just machine quilted a bunch of parallel lines on this blanket: http://www.aestheticnest.com/2010/08/sewing-heirloom-cut-chenille-baby.html but they were only 1/2-inch apart… Thanks for sharing your blanket! I am in the baby blanket making mode and love the fabri strips.

Trackbacks

  1. banker’s chair makeover «
  2. next quilt project: a poll! «

Leave a Reply

