Skip to content

springy decorations

April 27, 2010

This post has been in the making for weeks.  Like, a draft of this has literally been sitting in front of my face, but I never actually published.  So here it is: a post about getting our spring on a month after we got our spring on.  Yep, we were all about pulling out springy decor when our inlaws visited 4 weeks ago.

My papery eggs ended up in a bowl containing pinecones and other earthy nonsense.  I perched a few birds next to the bowl (PS Kathy Gifford TOTALLY has these in her house.)  (PPS I haven’t figured out if that is awesome or not, given her  mix of green plaid & yellow/pink florals.)

Speaking of birds, we also got out the sweet bird house that our niece and nephew made us for Christmas.  I’m looking forward to hanging it in the tree outside our dining room window… you know, after I’m done staring at it on the mantle.

I also want to mention that we’ve got an Easter tree.  I picked up colorful wooden eggs from World Market months ago, and hung them on branches that are stuck in a metal bucket.

And you know that I got eye rolls from my darling husband upon finishing.   He was all, Easter tree whaat? I assured him that it was perfectly normal to decorate dead branches with painted bits of wood and string.  Check it:

Yep, that’s little sister and I circa 1988.  It’s important to note here that I loved those turquoise earrings.  Also, it’s quite possible that my parents were as frugal with the heat as I am now given that I’m clearly wearing a fleece sweatshirt OVER a sweater.  In SPRING.  I’m going to remember this next time they suggest that the temperature in my house is a bit cool for their liking.

You know that awesome 80s photo is like the only reason I went through with this post.  I hope you all love it.

When I purchased the wood eggs for the Easter tree, I also had to pick up a pack of these stupidly ridiculous little pipecleaner chicks.  I don’t know why, but I love them.

And that’s about it for my spring decor.  Pretty low key, but then again, it’s been a busy spring.  How about you guys?  Did you decorate for spring?  Anyone else into the Easter tree thing (or are you rolling your eyes at me like JT?)?  I know I’ve seen Janmary’s sweet tree…  Anyone else?!

And while we’re at it:  anyone have great tips for summer-type decor to pull out whenever I get around to taking down the spring-y stuff?  I think that the Easter tree has to go soon since Easter was a month ago… but seeing as we’ve still got frost advisories for this evening, it doesn’t seem like a good time to celebrate summer either…

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 3:53 pm

    Love the birds. I’m on a hunt for some of my own. Also love the 80’s photo but I’m dying over the little chicks. They are absolutely adorable!

  2. April 27, 2010 4:58 pm

    Love the trio of birds super cute! I love the 80’s pic :)your Easter tree is def. a tradition now! I usally dont decorate for spring of summer – I just keep my windows open and have fresh flowers on our livng room & dining room

  3. Debbie permalink
    April 27, 2010 6:11 pm

    Just take the eggs off and hang seashells and fish, etc. on the tree for summer. Change it every season and it will always be in style.
    You were really rocking that sweater,fleece, earrings look! I love it!

  4. Amy permalink
    April 27, 2010 6:16 pm

    The kids are pretty excited that their birdhouse made it to your mantle! I’m impressed that familial love can trump style. It’s – ahem – a bold birdhouse.

    Also, am I the only one surprised you’re not strangling your sister in the photo? I thought that was the norm for your family…

    • mom permalink
      April 27, 2010 8:47 pm

      Ouch! Actually, there are a few photos of the girls together that do not involve bodily harm. I believe it is when their personal space is invaded and body contact is involved that the hair pulling/neck wrangling comes into play. Perhaps Jen can post some of those happy pictures…but maybe she is saving them to win another contest!

    • mom permalink
      April 27, 2010 8:55 pm

      The birdhouse is great; home-made gifts are the best! Such a great way to teach children the joys of giving.

      • April 28, 2010 3:04 pm

        I know! I love the birdhouse!

  5. April 27, 2010 6:17 pm

    I love the 80’s photo, most notably the stonewash jeans! Oh, and I love your spring decor, too 🙂

  6. April 27, 2010 6:21 pm

    Love that childhood photo. Eggs on trees are totally cool. I love your take on it.

  7. mom permalink
    April 27, 2010 8:51 pm

    Well, your tree puts my 80s tree to shame but I still couldn’t stop smiling when I saw it. It is nice to know that some of the time I put into making holidays special may have rubbed off. It looks like you may have just returned from skiing when that photo was taken, you are wearing your favorite red ski socks in that photo! Funny that you paired them with your favorite starfish earrings!

  8. April 27, 2010 9:33 pm

    The birdhouse is just adorable! I love childrens’ art! And I would of been like you with the tiny chicks! I love what you did with them 🙂

  9. April 28, 2010 2:04 pm

    Thanks for mentioning my wee tree 🙂

    Right now we are decorating with dust! – the cloakroom is being ripped out as I blog – so there is no point in cleaning til there finished, right?

  10. GGG permalink
    April 28, 2010 2:23 pm

    I used to have an Easter tree but I noticed this Easter that it has moved to your Aunt Jaynes:) I hope you post more of the “old pictures”. It makes me feel like a “spring chicken”:) I have a really cute straw rooster and a hen that would go great with your little chicks. Next time you are here I’ll send them home with you.Or if I remember, I’ll bring them when Gramps flies me over for dinner!

    • April 28, 2010 3:05 pm

      I’m excited for your fly over. When are you coming!?

  11. GGG permalink
    April 30, 2010 1:40 pm

    I have no idea. I just noticed that Grandpa wrote on one of your blogs that he was going to fly over for dinner and I assumed he’d bring me along!:)

  12. GGG permalink
    April 30, 2010 1:43 pm

    Is there an airport near you? We can land at a airport now. The seaplane has amphids now.

Leave a Reply

