Skip to content

2010 Week 15

April 16, 2010

Remember last week when I was all oh yeah, I’ll be back on Monday? Let’s chalk that up to a giant BLOG FAIL.

Sorry to leave you hanging like that.  I mean, I’m certain all of you have spent your week wondering exactly what I’ve been up to. Right?

And, whoa.  This week has been so incredibly busy here – if it’s possible, this week was even busier than last week’s having-too-much-fun-with-visitors-to-blog week.

Our super-awesome friend came all the way from North Carolina to visit us last weekend.  We had a super-fun and super-ridiculously-lazy weekend with him.  We walked through our woods, finding all sorts of deer stands.  Jezekiller found a dead something or other (cat?) and rolled all up in it.  And then she got hosed down and covered in 3.2 million gallons of soap.  I am a big Jezzie fan, but honestly. Does she have to do such gross things?

Aside from grossing out our friend with our dog’s crazy antics, we grilled out, took him on a tour of localsmallcity and then came home to drink Jason’s homebrew.  And we watched Arrested Development (best. show. ever).  And then J and I both fell asleep on the couch before 11pm.  (Super-awesome friend: hope we did not bore you too much.  We’re actually (surprisingly?) not that cool.  But you probably knew that already.)

I’m sure most of you are familiar with the fact that this week was tax week.  And you all know that I waited until the last. possible. minute to file our taxes, which means that yours truly was up until 2am finishing them.  Sigh.  The good news is that yours truly will be buying herself a new camera lens to reward herself for doing the taxes.  I’ve had my eye on a new 50mm lens since I took a photography class in January, and now I can get one!  Yay!

I was also doing some contract work for J’s company, and I wrapped that up this week.

And my class!  On my goodness.  I love it.  I just didn’t realize that it would consistently take this much work to develop a new course – especially when the subject matter is something I should know a lot about.  Teaching has been so wonderful – the students in my class are amazing, and ask such thoughtful and insightful questions.  It’s been much more rewarding to teach at localsmallcollege than it ever was at majoruniverisity.  I should note, though, that I have this secret fear that even though I think things are going really well, my students are completely lost or maybe even think I’m bonkers (or both!?).  They’re getting a test on Tuesday, so I suppose that will give me an indication of whether anything I’ve said in our first 12 hours together was meaningful.

And the weather!  I hope hope hope that all of you are getting the string of seriously beautiful weather that we’ve had lately.  Our flowers are blooming!  And I’ve spent any extra time that I’ve had in the past week outside in the garden, which is desperately in need of some love after it was almost completely neglected last summer.  I think that we’re going to have some serious weed issues on our hands.

The dogs have been spending almost all of their time outside.  I typically find them like this:

All spread out on the front porch sunbathing.  It amazes me that these dogs have free reign of our woods, yet they choose to sit together just outside the front door.  That’s probably a good thing for the lone tulip that bloomed in my garden, because it means that the Jezekiller has little interest in eating said tulip.

It’s a cute little tulip, but I can’t help but wonder why it’s by itself.  And where it came from.  Like, would someone really plant only one tulip in a random spot in our yard?  I debate whether or not to cut said tulip and bring it in, like I have done with some of the hundred or so daffodils blooming around the yard.

I love this little set up – the forsythia branches in the shiny pitcher and the daffodils in the glass milk jug.  I’m pretty excited about the upcoming spring & summer months because the flowers that bloom in the yard should be an awesome rotating display of color.

I’m also looking forward to drinks with friends tonight to celebrate Jason’s one year anniversary at his current job.  And I’m hoping for a lazy-ish weekend in which I can sew some new throw pillows, grade the papers my students turned in yesterday, and organize some of the million pounds of paperwork that have appeared to land on my desk overnight.  And, if this weekend finds me lounging on the porch with a book in my hands, I certainly wouldn’t complain.

Anyone else have a lazy weekend ahead of them?

I’d promise I’ll be back on Monday, but we all know how that went last time…  (Seriously, though, I’m going to need some landscaping advice.  Please, please come back next week.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 16, 2010 2:38 pm

    Your pictures are gorgeous! I wonder if a squirrel hid that lone tulip bulb and forgot about it? I have a similar unsolved mystery in my garden.

  2. April 16, 2010 2:41 pm

    your photos are always so lovely!! I hope your framing all of them!

  3. Debbie permalink
    April 16, 2010 2:46 pm

    Once again, great pictures! I especially love the reflection of you taking a picture in the silver vase. I have lone flowers poking their heads up in my yard as well. I think they may be from plants from many years ago.
    Congratulations to J on his work anniversary! Hard to believe it’s been a year already.
    We’re babysitting for Peter & Lucy tomorrow and Sunday will find us with Bridget, Sean & Maelynn checking out the proofs of the photo session with Bridget & Maelynn.
    If you find yourself on the porch with a good book, enjoy! As a matter of fact, enjoy whatever you do! Have a good one!

  4. GGG permalink
    April 16, 2010 3:26 pm

    Don’t you just love this time of the year when everything is coming to life? About that one tulip- about twenty years ago I planted about 80 bulbs among the daffodils in the front yard and I now have one left. The squirrels eat them if they can dig them up. I was told I should have planted them under chicken wire and then they couldn’t get to them. The weather is beautiful but way toooooo windy. I’m afraid to work in my “goat” garden for fear of getting blown into the lake. I can’t even open a window because everything ends up on the opposite wall!

  5. April 16, 2010 11:00 pm

    I love your photos in this post. I’ve been thinking about getting a 50mm or asking for it for my birthday. But, I think I need to learn more first.

  6. April 17, 2010 10:11 am

    Thanks for the ridiculously nice comments on my photos! 🙂 Capturing new flowers in my yard (and then in the house) makes me happy.

    I picked up the 50mm lens yesterday, so cross your fingers that next week’s photos are even better than this week’s!

  7. MOM permalink
    April 17, 2010 10:13 am

    I hope you get time to indulge in a good book this weekend, you deserve it with all you have been doing. I think the pictures are great, too. I know you liked my lens better but these turned out really well. I love the forsythia branches…I may have to plant some now!

  8. April 17, 2010 11:43 am

    Such lovely, peaceful images!

    Thank you so very much for your recent kind thoughts and comments.

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

