Skip to content

2010 Week 13-14

April 10, 2010

Whoa.  Can you believe it’s been over a week since I last blogged?  Yikes.

I have a good excuse, though – we’ve been hanging out with some of our favorite people:

(not great photo quality, but you get the point)

Jason’s parents and aunt and uncle were sweet enough to drive all the way from New Jersey to spend Easter with us!  I (unfortunately) took surprisingly few pictures while they were here (bad, bad blogger!), but we had some awesome adventures.

I had adventures in baking – I managed to make scones, muffins, and a coffee cake for Easter brunch.  We all ad-ventured out to a new church on Easter.  It was kind of disastrous, so I don’t think we’ll be returning to that particular church.  It was our first time in a new church, so we all got wishes (a Lil-ism, as in, it’s one of those things Jason’s grandmother said often.  I hope it’s true – I wished for something totally awesome that I won’t share now for fear of ruining it…).

Jason took everyone to the Lake Michigan Shore on Monday, while yours truly stayed back to attend a work-related meeting.  Reports from the crew suggested that they had a wonderful time, and when I got my camera back, I was surprised to find this pretty little picture on it:

Nice work, JT.

We spent a lot of time relaxing together, laughing together, eating and drinking together.  I think it was a successful spring break for our visitors.

We also went wine tasting at some of the local wineries.  You might be surprised to hear that Western Michigan has excellent grape-growing weather.  We visited three of the local wineries – two of which had wine that was super-delicious (I was not as impressed by a third).  Our visitors went home with a few cases of wine, suggesting that they liked the wine as much as I did.  After wine-tasting, we headed to a local brewery to meet up with some of Jason’s coworkers, then to a local restaurant to listen to another one of Jason’s coworkers play guitar/sing.  It was a great evening, especially since it’s been a few weeks since we’ve hung out with his coworkers.  They’re always a bunch of fun.

We were blessed to have some beautiful spring weather* while our visitors were in town, and the daffodils are now officially blooming.  (Note that shortly after the above picture was taken, the Jezekiller attacked, ripping the head off of this poor, unsuspecting daffodil.)

I made a fun Easter centerpiece with the daffodils – wrapping some grapevine that I found in the woods into a birds nest and placing my daffodils + milk bottle vase inside it.  (As a side note, Jason asked if I was making a crown of thorns while I was wrapping the grapevine around itself.  Kind of silly, but at least it’s fitting for the season!)

I hope that all of you have had wonderful weeks, and I hope to catch up with you all soon!  We’re having beautiful weather here this weekend, though, and we’re entertaining another awesome visitor for the weekend (more on that next week), so I’ll be logging off until Monday!

*Not quite as beautiful as the reports of 80s and sunny weather we were getting from the Jersey shore, but with temps in the 60s for most of the week, it was a series of nicer-than-expected Michigan days. That is, until it got cold and snowed on Thursday.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. GGG permalink
    April 10, 2010 4:12 pm

    Glad you are back with us! Sounds like you had a great time. Enjoy the rest of your company. I’m going out to work in the garden for awhile>

  2. April 10, 2010 6:11 pm

    Glad you’re back and glad you were having a fun time! I love that photo your hubby took too.

  3. mom permalink
    April 10, 2010 8:25 pm

    That picture Jason took turned out really well…the houses in the background even look sketched, not like a photo at all. Sadly, my Mexico pictures were not the best, I just don’t have an eye for it, even with your nicely written instructions!

  4. Debbie permalink
    April 10, 2010 9:46 pm

    That is a great picture especially since the building was soooo far away! Unfortunately, my picture quality was not as good.
    We had a great time! Thank you both!

    • April 11, 2010 6:43 pm

      Will you and Elaine send me your photos? Especially the one of all of us in the woods?

      • Debbie permalink
        April 11, 2010 6:54 pm

        I will send them!

      • April 11, 2010 7:04 pm

        Thanks! I should have just gotten them while you were here, but completely forgot… you can email them (send only 3-5 per email) if that would be easier!

  5. mom permalink
    April 11, 2010 10:18 am

    AWSOME awesome photo! Sounds like you had a fun Easter. Sorry to hear about your snow. We ate our Easter brunch outside on the patio. 70’s++ (even and an 81) here. This has been the winter/spring that everyone dreams about. TONS of snow, lots of sun with reasonable temps and then WHAMMO! Springtime! Come back to visit some time!

    PS…I like the little yellow placemat (?) under your dining room arrangement..where did you find that?

    • April 11, 2010 6:44 pm

      I found it at World Market – they have them in green, pink, and yellow… if you’d like, I can pick one up for you…

      • Tami permalink
        April 14, 2010 12:05 am

        You are so lucky! All of the World Markets have left our fine city. 😦 If you have time, I would love one any color….my credit is good! Thanks!

  6. Tami permalink
    April 11, 2010 10:19 am

    Whoops…that last post should have read “Tami” not “mom”. Wrong blog.

  7. April 11, 2010 5:36 pm

    glad you had a great week –
    welcome back to blog world!!!

  8. April 12, 2010 2:59 pm

    LOVE the daffodils with the crown of thorns – very striking.

  9. April 12, 2010 9:48 pm

    Yay! Glad to see you back. It looks like you had an amazing week!

  10. April 14, 2010 2:48 pm

    I also had a house full of visitors starting March 21 and not ending until April 17…and I’m in the process of updating my blog. I must say though, that I’m not always honest in my own postings about how I’m feeling about certain visitors and experiences, etc. If I were, I’d be in trouble since most read the blog :p

    I had started a new blog – private – called the B!tch Blog where I could write all my real feelings down…since I’ll probably end up with some health problems from internalizing (or being too PC), but deleted it because I thought about if I died and my family happened upon it – it would leave a lasting impression that was not so good.

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

