Skip to content

2010 Week 12

March 27, 2010

A good, but busy week. My class starts next week, so yours truly has been learning what she’s going to teach next week.

Mom, sister, and mom’s new Cricut came to visit us earlier this week.  For those that don’t know, the Cricut is super-awesome because it can cut out all sorts of fun shapes – you just program in the size and shape you want it to cut and it works it’s magic.  We had a great day making cards, and mom and sister scraped the paint off of my living room windows.  That was awesome.  Thanks for visiting mom and sister!

In other great news, the crocus’ in the garden behind our house finally bloomed.  Their little punch of color is so cheery after a longish snow-filled winter.  (Although, the winter seems to have vanished much faster here in MI than it ever did in MN.  But I shouldn’t have typed that — I’m just asking for snow next week.)

The bad news is that our little dog decided to chew off all of the flowers, leaving a floral-y massacred mess.  Have we mentioned that her nickname is The Jezekiller?

Speaking of The Jezekiller, she has found several -ahem- prizes in the woods this week.  The first of which gives me nightmares, but I will tell the story anyways (um, so you can have nightmares, too?  sure.).

Jezzie almost always comes when she’s called… but this past week, I couldn’t find her, and she wasn’t coming.  I was besides myself – looking for her in all of her favorite spots and freaking out when she wasn’t there.  Barley, who usually finds her right away, was no help either.  So I called Jason, and it went a little like this:

Me: Um, I might have just lost our dog in the woods.

J: I’m sure she’s not lost.

Me: No, seriously, I’ve been searching for like 20 min and can’t find her anywhere.  You might have to come home to help find her.

J: Uhh, have you tried in the woods near the side of the house?  She was hanging out there yesterday…

Me: No, I’ll go check.  And if she’s not there, you might have to come home.

So I checked, and was super-thrilled to see her over there.  I called J back, but got his voicemail.

Me: Hey there, just wanted to leave a message to let you know that I found her!  She was right where you said she’d – AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! AHHHH!  AHHHH!!! {hangs up}.

Oh goodness.  I can only imagine what he must have thought when he heard that gem of a voicemail.  In my defense, though, just as I was leaving the message, I discovered that The Jezekiller was munching on a deer leg – as in, fur, muscle, and hoof still attached.  Yeah, like I wasn’t going to scream at that.  Honestly. What was I supposed to do?

Fortunately, I had treats in my pockets and the power of the Pupperoni is irresistible.  I managed to lure her away and then I locked her inside all day and considered bathing both of us in straight bleach.  J took care of it (e.g., put it in a plastic bag or two and threw it in the trash) when he got home, because there was no way I was going near that thing.

So, compared to that, her second -ahem- treasure of the week was nothing.

I decided that this one was picture-worthy.  Here’s The Jezekiller pouting because mama just yelled at her for chewing on her latest prize.

We haven’t actually disposed completely of this one yet.  We’re wondering if it would be too ridiculous to mount on a plaque and hang in the three-season-porch hunting-lodge style.  Of course, we’d have the plaque engraved “The Jezekiller, 2010” just to really personalize it.  And even though hunting lodge isn’t necessarily our usual design aesthetic, I think it could work.

And while all of that is going on, this guy seems to just look at us like, “hey, YOU brought her home.”

Have a wonderful weekend!  We’re looking forward to installing a toilet and cleaning/organizing much of the house!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 12:40 pm

    Oh my word….that picture of her pouting next to the antlers is hysterical! And oh…what I would do with a Cricut. A bunch of my friends and I go on an annual weekend scrapbook retreat and there’s a Cricut there. I spend most of my time cuddling up to that lovely machine. 🙂 Love your cards!

    • March 28, 2010 8:48 am

      I was so surprised when she just laid down like that… thank goodness I had the camera on me to capture it!!

      And the Cricut is so much fun! I told my mom I’d have to visit more now, just to play with the machine!

  2. GGG permalink
    March 27, 2010 1:30 pm

    That’s quite a week! Maybe someday that funny pooch will bring home a real treasure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. March 27, 2010 1:46 pm

    Did you make progress on your steps, or did you just choose to take the birthday card picture on the few steps you have de-stapled? 🙂

    I try to avoid the pictures of the dogs. We aren’t going to get a new dog until we live in the country, so they make my jealous-o-meter spike every time I see those two. Deer legs and all :).

    • March 28, 2010 8:50 am

      I might have forgotten to mention: we actually de-stapled all of the stairs!

      I left town for the weekend and returned to find that Jason had pulled them all for me! So that gets checked off of the to do list.

  4. March 27, 2010 7:11 pm

    The pouting puppy is hilarious! Dogs can always hunt out the worst stuff. The circuit looks like fun.

  5. Carol permalink
    March 27, 2010 7:23 pm

    How about mounting those antlers on the front of the brown garage? I believe in keeping roadkill and any other skeletons outside! (Except for the skeletons in my closet :-} teeheehee)

  6. Brian permalink
    March 27, 2010 8:09 pm

    Make sure you check the woods for the rest of the deer…

  7. March 28, 2010 10:24 pm

    That is hilarious….and that picture is priceless. I thought bringing a half-chewed chipmunk into the house was beyond disgusting…but this one beats that.

  8. March 28, 2010 10:36 pm

    Oh my goodness! That would have really freaked me out, too. And she looks like such a sweet girl…who would know that she was Jezekiller!

  9. March 29, 2010 9:32 am

    Gross. gross. groooooosssss. My 15lbs dog often brings me rabbits after she breaks their necks. =( They weigh almost as much as she does. Barf.

  10. April 1, 2010 12:37 pm

    I had to go down to Kzoo yesterday to do a dog swap (the dog the adopters originally wanted wasn’t working so he was swapped with one that should be a better fit) and I always think of you when I go past the ski hill.

    Has Jezebel come home reeking of death yet? I’d handle the body parts better than the stench that comes home with them when they’ve been running in the woods. One or two of them will be coming with me this afternoon as I head back into the woods. Heaven knows what they’ll find.

    • April 2, 2010 7:45 am

      She hasn’t come home smelling like death yet, but both dogs have rolled in excrement… that’s stinky enough!! I’ve also heard that they’re particularly stinky when they get sprayed by skunks, so we’re crossing our fingers that we don’t encounter that this summer!

      I love that the dogs (especially Jezebel) can play/sleep outside in the yard all day… but I have a feeling we’re going to be bathing them a lot more often now that we live in the country!

Leave a Reply

