Skip to content

paper eggs

March 25, 2010

I’ve been seeing pretty pretty papered eggs around town lately, but have been unwilling to yield to their $4-5/egg price tag.  Part of that is just plain cheap stubbornness, part is the fact that I was certain I could make my own papery eggs.

So, I did.  Using nothing but glue (mixed in roughly equal parts with water), pretty paper, and plastic eggs.  I tried several different methods of attaching the paper – I cut strips, ripped strips, did a cut/rip combo – but none of them really worked very well with the patterny papers that I was using.  And in the end, this is the method that seemed to work best for me:

1.  Measure and cut a paper rectangle.  This was hardly a scientific process – I simply wrapped the paper around the egg to determine the width of my rectangle (allowing for the paper to overlap slightly, of course).  For the height, I laid the egg next to the paper and guesstimated (cutting the paper slightly larger than the egg).

2. Cut fringe on both long sides of the pretty paper.  It doesn’t have to be exact, but you do want to make sure that your fringes are kind of narrow so that when you wrap them around the egg, they’ll overlap instead of bunching and wrinkling.

3.  Insert your fringe-y paper into a (roughly) 1:1 glue:water mixture.  Let it sit for a minute or two, then pull it out and wrap it around your egg, with the fringe-y sides towards the top and bottom of the egg.  (And in case you’re wondering, yes, I do own the world’s largest container of glue).

4.  Smooth the paper around the middle of the egg, and then smooth the fringes down at either end, overlapping them – especially at the very top and bottom of the egg.

5.  Let dry overnight.  I set mine on saran wrap to dry, and it seemed to work out okay.

6.  Enjoy.  I put all of my eggs out in my ceramic egg tray, but chances are they won’t stay there for long…  After all, I do have to put together an Easter tablescape fit for a queen my in-laws…

Cost Breakdown:

Elmers Glue: Already had.

Pretty Papers: Already had.

Plastic Eggs: Already had (though I’m sure you could grab a bunch at a Dollar Store for… well, you know… a Dollar).

And!  If you’re interested in other thrifty-cheap-springy decorating projects, you can check out Living with Lindsay’s $5 Challenge, in which she challenges all of the interwebs to create beautiful crafty masterpieces for $5 or less.


24 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 9:50 am

    I’m dying at the size of that vat of glue!

    • March 25, 2010 10:15 am

      I know! It’s like 3 lifetimes or 4.2 million plastic eggs worth of glue. I have no clue why we ever thought we needed this much…

  2. March 25, 2010 10:02 am

    love that idea – now I have something to do w/ all those plastic eggs I have stored away-

    and yes -that is a huge bottle of glue!!!

  3. Janna permalink
    March 25, 2010 11:20 am

    They are beautiful! I am seroiusly considering making some myself because they actually look easy to do and I have a bunch of scrapbook paper…

    • March 25, 2010 11:42 am

      They are super-easy, but kind of messy. Will you pass along some pictures if you decide to do it?

  4. March 25, 2010 11:23 am

    Those eggs are really cute. And that is some huge bucket of glue!

  5. March 25, 2010 12:29 pm

    cute idea! I like all the color paper you choose for this project

  6. March 25, 2010 1:01 pm

    What a great project! You are a clever and crafty girl. Happy Spring!

  7. Brian permalink
    March 25, 2010 2:44 pm

    Sending in my puny bottle of glue for a refill………..what kind of candy treat did you put in the eggs before gluing?

    • March 28, 2010 8:42 am

      No candy involved. Unless you count the three bags of gummy bunnies that now reside in my stomach.

  8. March 25, 2010 3:18 pm

    The turned out pretty, you really had some nice papers to work with.

  9. March 25, 2010 4:28 pm

    Your eggs turned out fabulous! So pretty! Great job!

  10. March 25, 2010 6:44 pm

    So pretty! What a cute Easter idea with fun papers!

  11. Debbie permalink
    March 25, 2010 8:31 pm

    The eggs are adorable! However, I am wondering WHO is the queen? Certainly, it can’t be either Elaine or myself!
    Seriously, don’t go to any trouble for us . We are looking forward to the fun casual Rosses and the eggs should stay in your ceramic egg tray where all good eggs live.
    We are counting the days; hope you are too- with happy anticipation, not dreaded fear of the “in-laws”. We’ll be on our best behavior!

    • Carol permalink
      March 25, 2010 11:18 pm

      Oh Debbie,

      Go ahead and scare her a little. I put fear and dread into Jason every time I come and visit!

      • March 28, 2010 8:46 am

        Oh Moms!

        First, Debbie: It’s your first trip to the house, so you can bet we’re going to clean it up and try to impress you! I promise that all subsequent visits you can see the place in its everyday messy form (just as my mom what a disaster it was when she was here earlier in the week!). We’re so excited for your visit!

        Second, Mom: Yeah, right. You’re not as scary and dread-able as you think!!

  12. janmary permalink
    March 26, 2010 8:53 am

    Cute eggs – can I fly my kids over to do craft with you, or you could just come back to Ireland 🙂

    • March 28, 2010 8:46 am

      Sounds like a plan. I’d probably pick the come-back-to-Ireland version! 🙂

  13. March 26, 2010 12:34 pm

    Cute eggs!!! Love your method!

  14. March 27, 2010 11:08 pm

    I bet you had glue peeling off of your fingers all day!

  15. March 28, 2010 8:47 am

    Thanks for all of the sweet comments everyone – I had a blast making these and they look really sweet in a colorful bowl (their current home!)

  16. bianka permalink
    April 12, 2010 2:26 am

    where on earth do you get a jug-o-glue like that? i recently spent way too much time looking through my home to find ANY type of glue other than modge podge, only to realize i had none…what kind of craftster am i???

    • April 19, 2010 10:10 am

      bad crafter! no glue!?! 🙂

      I think we found it at Lowe’s or Home Depot… it’s been sitting in the garage for ages. I’d ship some to you, but I’m really worried about running out… 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

