Skip to content

happy St Patrick’s day!

March 17, 2010

In honor of St. Patrick’s Day, my favorite Irish blogger is having a little St. Patty’s show-and-tell.  Since we really have no special plans for the day (other than to wear green), I thought I’d share my top 10 favorite photos from our time in the emerald isle instead.  (To read more about our trip, click the links below each picture).

St. Bridget’s Well

Gallarus Oratory

Near Ross Castle in Killarney

We loved the look of this traditional Irish pub, as well as the beer and craic inside!

Rock of Cashel

The peace wall in Belfast

The Crown Bar (also in Belfast)

Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge (I was so terrified that it’s amazing that this shot turned out)

The Giant’s Causeway

Kilmainhem Gaol

My favorite spots on the trip (in no particular order) were Belfast, Rock of Cashel, Giant’s Causeway, and Kilmainhem Gaol.  For those of you that have been to Ireland, what are your favorite spots?  How are you celebrating St. Patrick’s day?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 10:41 am

    Happy St. Paddy’s day-
    going through my pictures and seeing your’s got me excited all
    over again for my trip!!!!

  2. March 17, 2010 11:59 am

    I was hoping you would post some more from your trip today! Happy St. Patty’s Day!!

  3. March 17, 2010 12:10 pm

    My husband lived there for 15 months, prior to coming to the US and meeting me. He absolutely LOVED Ireland and has taken me there several times. He lived in Carrickmacross (Co. Monaghan) and loved visiting the Dingle Peninsula.

    Ireland is so beautiful with constantly changing scenery. At times it will look like you’re on the moon and not the Emerald Isle.

    Another great touristy place to visit is the Cliffs of Moher. They used to let you go all the way to the edge, but that is all changing now.

    It’s been 4 years since I celebrated St. Patty’s day with something appropriate, I was “glowing” green. I had to take a radio-iodine pill to kill my thyroid and couldn’t be anywhere near anyone for 10 days after.

    Anyway, Happy SPD!

  4. March 17, 2010 12:36 pm

    I love Ireland. It’s been 30 years or more since I was there but the Ring of Kerry still sticks in my brain as it was both terrifying and beautiful!

  5. March 17, 2010 1:30 pm

    Jen,

    I your name wrong on my post today but I fixed it. Thanks for the help and compliments!

  6. March 17, 2010 1:46 pm

    Happy St Patrick’s Day from N Ireland 🙂

    Love your pics and loved meeting up with you in Avoca 🙂

  7. March 17, 2010 5:28 pm

    You are so lucky to have seen all those wonderful places. Thank you for sharing them and Happy St. Paddy’s Day.

    Willow

  8. March 19, 2010 10:16 pm

    This makes me want to visit all the more. Thanks for sharing your photos with us!

Leave a Reply

