Skip to content

2010 Week 10

March 12, 2010

The weather here has been beautiful this week!  Spring is here!

(Okay, I know.  I live in Michigan.  My celebration is premature and it will probably snow next week.  But for now?  I am celebrating leaving my down jacket at home when I go out.)

The dogs have been busy running and playing in the woods, and Jezebel has had two mud-induced baths in the past 2 weeks.  Spring is gonna be a mess here.

After running outside, though, these doggies are tired!  So tired in fact, that they’ll BOTH climb into the smaller of the two kennels that we have and fall asleep.  It’s ridiculously cute seeing them smooshed together for an afternoon snooze, but, I always wonder why they don’t go in the bigger kennel, where both of them would have a little more room.

I’ve been focused on outdoor tasks so I have an excuse to enjoy the 50s + sunshine.  Clean + vacuum out the car?  Sure. Scoop up the melted dog crap that’s been hidden in the snow for 3 months?  Why not. (This is undoubtedly the worst part of dog ownership.)

Skiing wrapped up this past week, but not before I got out my camera and took pictures of some of the fun.  Jason was psyched that he wasn’t involved in this week’s photoshoot, although he did come out to the hill to ski and watch me race last week!

This is not me.  It’s one of the kids – she’s 6 and she’s a speedy superstar.  And she has the cutest little pigtail braids to boot.

We’ve made some serious progress in the bathroom.  The walls have been coated in black paint and the light fixture is up.  We’ve ordered a sink, but are still looking for the *perfect* faucet.  Jason christened the chalkboard walls with this sweet message:

This weekend, we plan to tackle the wainscotting, and maybe even the trim.  If we can decide on which trim to use…  I’m leaning towards something really simple, like just a plain 1 x 3 on either side, with a wider board and possibly some crown molding on top.  I want something really simple and traditional looking, and I want it to be a little wider than our generic 60s style trim is now.

Hope you all have wonderful weekends!  See you next week! 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Debbie permalink
    March 12, 2010 10:11 am

    Did you ever think you’d hear me say how adorable your dogs are? Well they are!
    I think we’re all ready for spring; I know I am. It’s been beautiful all week but raining today here.
    The chalkboard wall looks great! I can’t wait to see the finished product.

  2. March 12, 2010 11:34 am

    glad you finally had a taste of spring –
    Hope it stays a while longer –
    Your doggies are adorable – especially snuggled up together.
    Have a productive weekend finishing up your projects

  3. Mom permalink
    March 12, 2010 12:41 pm

    YAY! You are doing the chalkboard walls! I can’t wait to see it. I think the plain 1×3 board would be good, kind of fits with the old school chalkboard theme. I just can’t picture decorative scroll-type trim with it…

  4. March 12, 2010 3:48 pm

    Your dogs look so cute all cuddled up together! Have a great weekend.

  5. March 13, 2010 6:51 pm

    Dogs look adorable.

    Was disappointed that was not a pic of YOU skiing!

    Love the chalkboard wall.

    Trying to work out what we call “wainscotting” – but it is too late, and my brain has gone to fudge!

  6. March 14, 2010 8:30 am

    The dogs are so cute! They clearly love each other.

    I am soooo excited that you went with the chalkboard wall in the bathroom! Can’t wait to see the makeover!

Leave a Reply

