Skip to content

dressing table decor

March 10, 2010

When I last mentioned my little dressing table in my little corner of our bedroom, it was super-bare.  Not anymore! I filled her drawers with unmentionables (like socks!) and added other pretty & functional goodies that I had laying around the house.  Because we’re on a budget, yo!  We’re using what we’ve got.

The gold mirror might be a bit small for the space, but it does the job.  The cost?  Free!  My grandma gave this cute old mirror to me when she decided she didn’t have room in her new apartment for it.  AND, she even got it for free from a friend who was getting rid of it years ago, when she was starting out.  The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree, does it!?

My jewelry is hanging from pins in a shadowbox frame.  I find that I tend to accessorize more when it’s all staring me in the face every morning.

And the jewelry that doesn’t fit in the shadowbox or is used more frequently, gets stored in this ceramic egg crate from anthropologie.  It’s a pretty handy little storage vehicle.

I’m storing my extra hair binders, nailpolish, and make up brushes in old blue jars.  I didn’t really have room for them in the drawers (would you believe I’ve got enough socks to fill two drawers?  Would you also believe that many of them are *almost* holy?), so I had to find a creative storage solution, and my most recent storage go-tos are glass jars.  I love these blue jars for their cheery color… I wish I had a million of them.

This little station has been somewhat of a marriage-saver (okay, that’s an exaggeration) — it’s so awesome to have my own little space to put on make up in the morning and it keeps J and I from elbowing each other for mirror space in our small full bath.  Especially since he’s not really a “morning person”.  As in, he used to make rules about exactly when I could talk to him in the morning (not until we were both on our way to work — we worked together).  Awesome.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 11:29 am

    The jewelry in the frame is such a good idea that it nearly kills me! I might have to copy you!

    I agree that my dressing area has been a huge stress-reducer for us. Not fighting over the bathroom sink and mirror is huge! Plus, it’s nice to have a little privacy and space when getting ready in the morning.

  2. March 10, 2010 12:10 pm

    This is adorable!! I love the mirror also and don’t think it’s small at all. After I saw the egg carten on YHL, I had to have one. Now I use it on my dress to put pairs of earrings or my wedding rings before bed. Great idea with the jars!

  3. March 10, 2010 1:12 pm

    Your dressing table is sweet. What a good idea for the one bathroom couple!

  4. March 10, 2010 1:16 pm

    Love it all!

    Especially the ceramic egg carton – love to use quirky items in unexpected locations 🙂

  5. March 10, 2010 1:57 pm

    The gold mirror looks so pretty against your blue walls – love it.

  6. March 10, 2010 3:56 pm

    Thanks, guys.

    Just realized that my socks are probably almost hole-y — not “almost holy” as I mentioned above. Although, the thought of sacred socks is kind of funny.

  7. March 10, 2010 4:04 pm

    Love your space- especially the blue jars

  8. Mom permalink
    March 10, 2010 9:51 pm

    I think I want grandma’s mirror now! btw I found similar egg crate holders at JoAnn Fabrics in assorted Easter colors.

    • March 11, 2010 10:08 am

      really? I was just thinking that it would make a super-cute spring/easter decoration-type thing…

  9. March 10, 2010 10:23 pm

    This is lovely. All of it. I love the wall color and the curtains, too.

    I totally agree with having jewelry in front of me. When it’s in a box or drawer, it doesn’t get worn. =)

  10. March 11, 2010 9:33 am

    Such a sweet little dressing table! True story on not wearing jewelry unless it’s in front of you.. I have the same problem. Thanks for your suggestion on the camera, by the way. I think I might just go with the Rebel! 😉

Leave a Reply

