Skip to content

2010 Week 8

February 26, 2010

It was a pretty quiet week here in the country.

Our weekend was spent tearing apart our bathroom and finishing up some other projects.  Monday morning, we woke up early to get to work (we carpool!) and found 6″ of new snow on the ground.  It continued to snow much of Monday.  The little one was thrilled:

When she’s done playing outside, the little one almost always comes inside and takes a super-long nap.  I suppose bounding through the snow is kind of tiring when the snow is as deep as your legs!  This is how the dogs usually sleep, all cuddled up together.  It makes me think that it was a good thing we brought a second doggy home (for a minute I was concerned that we were insane for adding another dog to the mix).

I gave the walls in the bathroom a plaster skim coat, and J picked up a new bathroom fan to install in place of the surround sound speakers that were in our crazy old bathroom.  He bought the cheapest (and loudest!) fan he could find, since its sole purpose will be to block out some of the other sounds that might come from the bathroom. Yuck.

I also made some pretty amazing banana chocolate chip muffins.  Erin shared her recipe earlier this week, and I immediately wanted them.  In grad school, my lab friends and I would head to the local coffee shop once our experiments were set up for the day, and I’d always get a banana chocolate chip muffin + chai latte.  I haven’t had a muffin like this since then, so it was a fun little trip down memory lane.

And, that’s that.  We’re hoping for another productive weekend… this time we’ll be installing the bathroom fan, patching and plastering the walls again, and hopefully we’ll even get a start on priming and painting!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 10:09 am

    Hi Jen!

    Thanks for linking to my muffins! I am also loving your new graphics!

    Have a great, productive weekend. We might be painting our bathroom, too.

    xo,
    – e

  2. February 26, 2010 10:41 am

    The little one sure isn’t looking little anymore! Didn’t that snow just come out of the blue? We didn’t think we were going to get that much!

    • February 27, 2010 7:37 pm

      That snow totally came from nowhere – so did last night’s. We weren’t expecting any, and then all of a sudden we had a few extra inches!

  3. February 26, 2010 10:57 am

    love your new look on your blog –
    and the pic’s of your babies.
    Wonder if my kitties would like the snow??? 😉

  4. Tami permalink
    February 26, 2010 11:12 am

    I really do like the new photo of Jason……

  5. Mom permalink
    February 26, 2010 5:12 pm

    I see your banking chair project is on for February..will we be seeing it soon or is there a snafu? I know the woodwork and mechanicals are all set…

    • February 27, 2010 7:36 pm

      meh. haven’t gotten to it yet. still trying to figure out what fabric I want to use on the seat…

  6. Mom permalink
    February 26, 2010 5:14 pm

    You can save the “scraping the living room windows” for me, it was cathartic doing the dining room windows. I didn’t mind it at all!

  7. February 27, 2010 9:56 pm

    YOU are one impressive DIYer. I aspire to your handy-lady skills. When we buy our next house, I will have to bring you over to create a list for me…. and step by step instructions. Love the dog pictures. =)

Leave a Reply

