Skip to content

my new old dressing table

February 24, 2010

Many, many moons ago, I found these beauties on Craigslist:

Jason thought I was totally off my rocker.  But for a mere $25 for the desk and chair, how could I say no?  The desk had great lines, and was similar enough to the white dresser I painted for our bedroom that I thought it might look swell after a few coats of white paint.

On a related note, every time we’ve gone to pick something up from a craigslist, Jason waits until we’re pulling in the seller’s driveway and then goes, “And here’s where we {insert horrible scenario involving blood or death here}.” Thanks, JT.

For the record, though, I think I was right about this one:

I like it much better in white, and I’ve recovered the seat to match the ikea chair sitting in our bedroom.  Our bedroom in this house is probably twice the size of the bedroom in our last house, but I’ve managed to purchase all of the extra furniture we needed, and fix it up for only a few hundred dollars (the two dressers + supplies to make them pretty were less than $100).  Someday, I might replace the handles with something a little more fun, but for now the old handles will do the job.

It’s the perfect storage area for socks + underwear, makeup + jewelry!  But I should note that I am actually a little skeeved out by the thought of my more intimate bits of clothing sitting in a dresser that was sitting in some weird old man’s garage.  So you can bet this thing has been vacuumed, bleached, and covered in drawer liners.

I do wonder, though, if I should have gotten a little more creative and painted this thing a color.  Or maybe I should have distressed it for more of an old school look?  I kind of have a hankering to paint something red next…

18 Comments leave one →
  1. February 24, 2010 10:54 am

    The desk and chair look great! I love white so I wouldn’t change it. Craigslist where I live is terrible, everyone wants a fortune for things. Lucky you!

  2. February 24, 2010 11:39 am

    I love your old dressing table,
    and my husband would have said exactly what
    Jason does in the drive-way everytime too…

    White paint always makes everything seem new and beautiful!!

  3. February 24, 2010 11:51 am

    Lovely!

  4. Tami permalink
    February 24, 2010 12:12 pm

    It’s very nice…the white looks good. Got a chuckle out of your undies being stored in some weird old man’s drawers. I have to admit that the first thing I painted when we moved in was the inside of the closets. If nothing else, at least it smells fresh!

  5. February 24, 2010 12:39 pm

    gorgeous set and at such a great price! personally, i like ’em white.

  6. February 24, 2010 12:44 pm

    Awesome job, Jen!! Those are great finds at an even better price. I love how Jason is so “uplifting” when you guys go to pick up your treasures. lol.

  7. February 24, 2010 2:39 pm

    I love this so much! The two pieces look amazing. I think white was the right choice; it looks great next to your curtains and pretty wall paint!

  8. Christina permalink
    February 24, 2010 6:19 pm

    You’re awesome. You should have a t.v. show. Also, did you ever finish that chair you blogged about on your hold blog? I wasn’t sure if I missed the post about it.

  9. Debbie permalink
    February 24, 2010 9:17 pm

    Love the white! The desk reminds me of one my parents had and it was really sturdy! I wish you lived closer so you could help me find the things you find. Craigslist is kind of hit or miss here; we do better just trash picking if we had the time.

  10. February 25, 2010 10:01 am

    You are too funny! I love the blog & your pictures are great! So darn creative. Martha Stewart has nothing on you. I second the comment – you need your own TV show.

  11. Mom permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:02 am

    OK, too much agreement here…I’ll stir up some controversy. How do you think it would look painted in a pale blue/sea glass color and lightly distressed? Of course the seat material would have to change but it would really make a statement.

    • February 25, 2010 11:40 am

      I think that would be pretty – actually, that’s sort of what I was wondering if I should have done. I’ve just seen so many lovely distressed pieces lately… Hmm. It will have to wait for summer, though – it’s way too cold outside to paint now!!

  12. February 25, 2010 11:03 am

    bummer, my gravatar still didn’t change!

    • February 25, 2010 11:39 am

      It changed on my dashboard… not sure why it’s not showing up for me here. Looks like Tami can see, it though!

  13. Tami permalink
    February 25, 2010 11:17 am

    “Mom” where ever did you find that photo???? 🙂 🙂 🙂

  14. February 25, 2010 11:41 am

    Thanks for all the sweet comments, guys! 🙂

  15. Debbie permalink
    February 25, 2010 8:15 pm

    Nice photo, Carol!

  16. February 25, 2010 11:50 pm

    Why is everyone seeing that picture but me? It’s an old photo from a cruise we took about 21 yrs ago.

Leave a Reply

