Skip to content

I *heart* faces – hands on fun!

February 23, 2010

When I heard that this week’s I *heart* faces theme was “hands on fun!”, I immediately remembered that I had a series of hand photos from last spring and summer.  My herpetologist-wannabe husband has a knack for finding small amphibians and reptiles, and he insists on picking up and checking out every. single. one that he finds.  I, on the other hand, prefer to stay far, far away from slimy creatures.  In fact, its preferred that all wildlife stay several feet from yours truly.  Especially squirrels.  A few years ago, one tried to claw my eye out while I was eating a muffin and studying for an exam, and that’s something that can’t be forgiven easily.  So now I am an equal-opportunity squirrel hater; meaning that all of them make me nervous.

Anyways.  The picture.

Jason found this little painted turtle in my parent’s backyard, and quickly handed it off to brother Trevor.  Admittedly, we were all pretty charmed by this cute little guy, including yours truly.  He’s so tiny!

This picture makes me look forward to warm spring afternoons full of sun…  Although, with the beautiful new 8″ of snow that fell here yesterday, it’s hard not to smile at the beauty of winter…

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2010 10:03 am

    this is AWESOME! 🙂

  2. February 23, 2010 10:53 am

    I love the color, composition, and the depth of field. The little turtle’s head cracks me up!!!

  3. February 23, 2010 12:18 pm

    Oh YAY! He is so amazingly small.

    I entered a photo of my son with a snake, but I can only imagine the fun we could have with a tiny turtle like that. What a beautiful creature. Great shot!

  4. Mom permalink
    February 23, 2010 12:47 pm

    I love his little paw (claw?) resting on Jason’s thumb. Great setting on the camera, please teach me how!

    • February 23, 2010 12:49 pm

      Also, anyone know how to change this picture? I signed into my wordpress account and changed it but this one still shows up?

  5. February 23, 2010 3:52 pm

    Awwwww…I don’t think I have ever seen a turtle that small! How sweet!

  6. February 23, 2010 4:21 pm

    Love this!!! Those little turtles are so adorable!! Great shot!!! 🙂

  7. February 23, 2010 5:34 pm

    Oh, what my son wouldn’t give to find one of those crawling around in OUR yard!

  8. February 24, 2010 11:38 am

    great photo – glad your entering every week!!

  9. Jackie permalink
    February 25, 2010 10:26 am

    Hate squirrels too – I had one jump out at me from a garbage container while at music camp….I’ve had nightmares ever since.

Leave a Reply

