Skip to content

2010 Week 7

February 19, 2010

This week started off with the affirmation that I am a winner (and no, I am not talking about the ridiculously sweet comments you left for me on Tuesday, but those were so sweet.  I’m still blushing.).  I got this lovely Valentine/Award after winning my age group in a ski race last Sunday.  I also won a pair of goggles with light blue lenses, which have been perfect for nighttime skiing.

In the interest of full disclosure, I should share that there was only one other competitor in my age group.  I think I am more proud of the fact that the only 2 women who beat me were high school athletes, and I’m also relieved that none of the 7-14 year olds that I’ve been coaching all winter skied faster than I did.  I mean, that should at least give me a little coaching street cred, right?  Like, maybe they will listen to me now.

The weather here has been really beautiful this week.  It snowed on Tuesday – big, puffy flakes – and I felt a little bit like I was living in a snowglobe.  It was kind of awesome.

The temperatures have been in the high 20s and 30s, so the dogs have been running around outside more (in fact, they’re sunbathing on the driveway as I type this).  I managed to capture this sunset through the trees the other day.  I loved the blue hue of the snow in contrast with the yellowy-pink sky.

Also in news this week, Jason shed 50 lbs of hair from his face and head, and now, once again, looks like that guy I married.  His boss’ boss even referred to him as “respectable” which might be a stretch, but we’ll take it.  (If you’re new to the blog, you can see the scary hairy befores here, here, and here.)

And, we’re gearing up for a fun weekend of projects and house cleaning.  I’m not skiing this weekend, so we should have plenty of time to watch the winter olympics and get cracking on our February to-do list!

What are your plans for the weekend?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    February 19, 2010 1:54 pm

    I still like clean shaven Jason the best. He may have shed 50 lbs of hair but he also shed 15 years…looks much younger! I thought I saw grey poking through his beard in some of those pics…

    Congrats on the goggles ~ Yay for free stuff!

  2. February 19, 2010 2:26 pm

    That photo of the trees and snow/sunset is beautiful!!! Great job!

    We’ll be finishing up painting our den and dining room this weekend. Hopefully there will be furniture back in there by Monday! Have a great weekend!

  3. tami permalink
    February 19, 2010 3:04 pm

    Lindsey’s gold was nice, but personally I think you’ll get more use out of blue lensed goggles. Good job!

  4. GGG permalink
    February 19, 2010 4:02 pm

    Hey Jen, he’s beautiful, if I can say that about a man! Those blue eyes!!!! But then I married your grandpa for his, hoping I might produce some but I did a poor job of that. Courtney was just here and she said she misses racing so much that she cried while watching the olympics. I guess it gets in your blood!

  5. Debbie permalink
    February 19, 2010 7:21 pm

    I think his hair might be be slightly less mussed than when you got your married(isn’t that a shame?). Thank you Jan for your lovely comment; I think he’s beautiful too but I may be a little biased.
    Congrats on the goggles! I’m so glad you’re getting to ski so much again!

  6. japortma permalink
    February 20, 2010 12:58 pm

    WOW!! Congrats on the win, a win is a win, no matter how many people entered! 🙂 Also, the picture of the sunset…AMAZING! I love it!!

  7. February 20, 2010 8:56 pm

    My husband is currently thinking about shaving his beard off. It makes him look so much younger! I actually really like his beard for the most part. Last year a friend of ours had a beard party and all the guys came with beards but shaved down throughout the night and left clean-shaven. The most horrifying stage was the plain ole ‘stache.

    Love that sunset picture, too; the blue-ish snow is awesome.

  8. February 21, 2010 1:35 pm

    Your photos are beautiful, as always! Congratulations on winning!! I hope y’all had a great weekend and that you got a lot of stuff done!

    xo,
    KA

  9. February 21, 2010 9:46 pm

    wow Jenn-
    that picture is awesome,
    I love how the color of the snow came out
    against all the trees!!!
    So so cool!!!
    celebrating V-day dinner this weekend,
    and trips to home depot – painting the half-bath –
    – a trip to the vet for Stinky –
    – going to see “Shutter Island”.
    Hope your weekend is great!!

Leave a Reply

