Skip to content

blogkeeping

February 16, 2010

I’m in the process of {slowly} making the blog a bit prettier. A new little part of the blog that I’d like to include is a link list of blogs that I *heart* reading. So if you’re out there, and you have a blog that you’d like to plug, leave me a note in the comments and I’ll add you. I think I probably read most of your blogs already anyways, but thought I’d throw that out there.

Which reminds me that some sweet bloggy friends have bestowed upon my some sweet bloggy awards. It’s pretty exciting to hear that anyone finds my bloggy chitchat interesting and/or entertaining… So, friends, I accept your awards. Bring them on. 🙂

——

The first one is from Danielle at The Newlywed’s Paradise. She rocks because she’s a fellow umm… Michiganite? Michigander? Michiganden? Well, she’s in Michigan, too, and she’s a Newlywed, and she’s all about making her home pretty on a budget. These are all good things.

Here are the rules/fine print:
-This award is bestowed upon a fellow blogger whose blog content or design is, in the giver’s opinion, brilliant.
-When accepting this award, you must write a post bragging about it, including the name of the person who thinks you deserve such acclaim, and link back to the said person so everyone knows she/he is real.
-Choose a minimum of seven blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. Or improvise by including bloggers who have no idea who you are because you don’t have seven. Show the blog names and links and leave a comment informing them that they were prized with the Honest Scrap award.
-List at least ten honest things about yourself. Then pass it on!

Here’s ten crazy, honest facts about yours truly:

  1. Michigan recycling drives me insane.  I have to pay 10 cents extra per can/bottle I buy, and the only way to get it back is to return the can/bottle IN MINT CONDITION to the grocery store.  I could complain about this for hours.
  2. Sometimes, when I’m in the car by myself, and the song is on the radio, I crank up the Taylor Swift and/or Miley Cyrus and sing at the top of my lungs.  I rarely know all of the words.
  3. I’ve never shopped at a thrift store or bought things from Craigslist until our move to Michigan.  Even now, I only feel okay about it because a) it seems to be fashionable in blogland, b) non-cloth items are totally disinfectable, and c) it pleases my super-thrifty senses.
  4. I was afraid of dogs until – and even for a little bit after – we brought Barley home from the pound.
  5. I have nightmares when I’m stressed out, and they are totally realistic.  In my last nightmare, Jason came home and announced that we were moving to California.  Then, our Realtor arrived wanting to show our house.  The dream ended with our arrival in California, Jason finding a house that he liked, and me screaming because we couldn’t afford the rundown Spanish style house that he picked out.  Those of you that have followed our adventures over the past few years will understand why this is a nightmare for me.
  6. I have a coupon sorter (with coupons!) in my purse.  I decided that if I’m not going to be making money, the least I can do is save money.
  7. My mom still cuts my hair.  Partially because I’m cheap, and partially because she cuts it better than most stylists I’ve been to (it curls differently in different parts of my head and has to be cut a certain way to look okay).
  8. I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.
  9. I love writing.  Some days, I wonder if I’d ever have enough interesting things to say to write a novel.
  10. Other days I wonder if I ever have enough interesting things to say to fill a blog post.  Also related to that, I occasionally wonder: why would anyone read this?  who cares?  So thanks to all of you for reading and sometimes caring.  It’s appreciated!

——

The second one is from Katherine Anne aka the MedicalSchoolMrs.  She is a fellow doggy-mama, psychologist, and newlywed.  And she is a sweet sweet southern belle to top it all off!

The fine print for keeping the Lemonade Stand Award torch lit:
– Put the Lemonade logo on your blog or within your post.
– Nominate at least 10 blogs with great attitude or gratitude.
– Link the nominees within your post.
– Let the nominees know they have received this award by commenting on their blog.
– Share the love and link to the person from whom you received this award.

——

And, the sweet Katherine Anne sent this one over, too!

The Instructions for the Best Blog Award:
– To accept this award you must post it on your blog with the name of the person who granted you the award and link back to them.
– Pass the award on to approximately 15 other bloggers that you recently discovered and think are great.
– Contact the bloggers and let them know they have been chosen for the award.
– List 3 things you would like to learn how to do.


3 things I would like to learn how to do:

  1. I’d like to become a better cook.  I think I’ve become a better cook since moving to Michigan – I have plenty of time to practice, and haven’t cooked anything unedible lately.
  2. I’d like to learn how to install molding/other decorative trims.  Beadboard, board & batten, crown molding, big luscious thick baseboard molding – I want to try it all!
  3. I’d like to learn Photoshop better and be able to create my own “actions” in photoshop.  Right now I primarily rely on the automatic actions that others are sweet enough to let me download from them.
——

And the fourth is from Elizabeth at A Lizard’s Daily Journal.  Elizabeth has some beautiful photography – beautiful!  And she’s been so sweet to pass along some of her knowledge to yours truly!  We bonded over our Ireland travels… she’s headed to Ireland later this year and will no doubt return with gorgeous pictures!

This award means that I have to list 10 things about myself.  So here’s 10 more Jen fun-facts for those of you who are still reading:

  1. I love skiing.  I learned when I was 2 and raced from about 7 through college.  And then, 8 years later, I decided to pick up racing again.  And it rocks.
  2. I dislike snowboarding.  I tried it once and ended up with bruises and whiplash.  I don’t think I have the patience to continue to pick it up – especially when I could be skiing instead.
  3. I don’t have a full time job.  I have 3 part time jobs right now, none of them are lucrative by any means.  But I have really been enjoying them, and I’m not sure I’d trade it if I could.
  4. I miss shopping at the Mall of America.  The selection in the smalllocalmall is not awesome.
  5. We’re heading to Brooklyn in May and I’ve already placed a request that we go check out Coney Island – because I want to snap some photos there.
  6. The next places I’d like to travel internationally to are (in no particular order): Vancouver, Japan, or Greece.
  7. But if we vacation in the US, we’ll likely head to: Montana, Utah, or Alaska.
  8. I don’t understand why people like the show Jersey Shore.  If you understand, please share.
  9. I have a weird mole in my belly button and every time I wear a bikini, my mom yells at me to clean the dirt out of my belly button.
  10. When I was younger, I had a whole group of best friends.  It was awesome, but always hard to choose who was my best best friend.  I always just want to like everyone equally.
——
So, by now (if you’re still reading) you’ve realized that I haven’t actually tagged anyone for any of these awards.  See #10 above – I have a hard time choosing between friends.  There are so many great blogs out there!  So if you’re still reading and you have a blog, consider yourself tagged for any and all awards listed above.  Don’t forget to leave a link to your bloggy blog in the comments so that we can all visit!
16 Comments leave one →
  1. Janna permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:09 pm

    I thought it was interesting that you aren’t sure why people read your blog. I LOVE your blog and it’s listed in my google reader under “blogs I read first 🙂 You’re a great writer and photographer and OMG! your dogs are precious and I love dogs and your posts always interesting 🙂

    Oh and I have a question! Do you cross country ski race or downhill?

    • February 16, 2010 2:29 pm

      Thanks, Janna – you’re too kind! (and the dogs are psyched that you think they’re cute!)

      I downhill ski. I’ve tried cross-country a few times, but I definitely prefer downhill!

  2. February 16, 2010 1:54 pm

    Aww…your blog rocks my socks! Honestly!! You are always writing about something I love to read.

  3. February 16, 2010 2:18 pm

    Congrats on these awards! I love your blog, of course! You have the greatest ideas and photos!

  4. February 16, 2010 2:30 pm

    You guys! Thanks! 🙂

  5. GGG permalink
    February 16, 2010 2:40 pm

    My dearest Jennifer, as I have already told you I look for what you have written first thing everyday! You are one of (I have to say one of because as you know there are several more “ones” that read this!!!!) the most enjoyable people around! Your warmth and caring comes out in your writing. You have something to give to everyone. Be it a laugh or a prayer or a clue! I love it! LUV, GGG

    • February 16, 2010 2:45 pm

      Thanks, Gramma! But you know that’s because “Ray” is my role model (I learned that this morning!). Ha ha ha, I’m still giggling about that trick!

  6. February 16, 2010 3:49 pm

    Hey Jen! Yep, after seeing that inspiration photo that Scott found with the white tile and white grout, I just couldn’t do anything else. I was hooked. Isn’t that picture fabulous!? Anyway, I love it. The grouting process sure wasn’t easy though. It was just falling all over the place. I finally had to start using my hands to put it in there. I used the pre-mixed stuff, so I am guessing that it was the right consistancy, as once I put it in the spaces it stayed, but it sure wasn’t the easiest part of the process. Messy! 🙂 LOL!!! I’m so happy to haev it almost finished though! Now it’s just the last wall of grout, then caulk and seal. Gotta get that faucet installed too! Everytime I think we’re making headway I start thinking of the things still to do and then I get tired. LOL! I’m going to be working on the board and batten stuff and I’ll be posting the how-to on the blog, so I hope it can help! 🙂 Tonight I’ll be posting about the sink. It arrived today and it’s SO BEAUTIFUL! I can’t wait til’ it’s installed!

  7. Debbie permalink
    February 16, 2010 3:57 pm

    Well, I read your blog because I don’t talk to you nearly enough and this is a way to catch up on what’s going on in your lives. However, it is always full of new ideas and witty observations which make me smile.
    What’s going on in Brooklyn? I didn’t hear about that. Sounds like a great time!

  8. February 17, 2010 12:23 am

    I enjoy reading your blog. You are a great writer!

  9. February 17, 2010 8:17 am

    I love your blog, too, Jen. It is on my must-read list!

  10. February 17, 2010 11:27 am

    wow- you win the award for most blog awards!!!!
    I do love reading your blog and all about your adventures – glad we “met” through blog land –
    Your awesome!

  11. February 17, 2010 3:09 pm

    Can you add me, pretty please? http://www.janmary.com

    I PROMISE to blog soon – just can’t seem to fit it in these days!

    • February 18, 2010 12:26 pm

      Of course I will add you – love reading all of the crafty things that you’re up to! And your photos are lovely!

  12. February 19, 2010 3:51 pm

    Aww…thanks for adding me! 🙂

    One of the reasons I love reading your blog is because you always say “the interweb”. My brother, the computer guru, does the same thing. So that makes you super cool.

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 Week 7 «

Leave a Reply

