Skip to content

our homemade valentines

February 15, 2010

By now, I’m sure most of you are sick of me talking about valentines day.  One last post, I promise.

My present(s) to Jason

I started off by making sugar cookies for the boy… he loves them and I HATE making them (too much rolling and cutting) so I thought this would be a nice treat.  I was initially going to just use the green & red sugar sprinkles I had on hand from Christmas (remember, we decided in advance that we wouldn’t buy anything – we’d use supplies we already had).  But halfway through, I decided that if I was going through all of the trouble to make the cookies, then they needed to be pretty.  So I picked up some pink sprinkles before finishing off the cookies.  (Also, does it really count as a gift when I KNOW that I will likely eat 70% of these anyways?)  The cookies are amazing – I used the butter cookie recipe from Pat Sinclair’s Baking Basics and Beyond (which is a great book for beginning bakers like myself… last week’s multigrain bread also came from Baking Basics).

With my first plan a bit of a bust, I put plan B into action.  Inspired by typographic posters like these from Apartment Therapy, I set to work to make my own using a phrase that we say a lot around here.  I used photoshop and a free font from FontSquirrel, which is a super-awesome free font website.  Then, I printed on textured cardstock.

We already had the old wooden frame in the basement, so I gave it a new coat of paint, then wrapped the back of the frame in material that was left over from our bedroom curtains.  The printed saying is just stuck on top of the fabric, and the final product was free and fun artwork!

Jason’s present to me

Jason’s present also featured striking lettering.

It also featured amazing graphic artistry.  In case you can’t tell by the pictures below, they represent: Left Panel – the hot tub where we had our first conversation (upper left), flying back and forth to see each other for the next year (upper right), living in Minneapolis together (bottom); Right Panel – moving to Kentucky and adopting Barley (top), moving back to Minneapolis (bottom).

Here’s a picture of the REAL Cherry on a Spoon sculpture – just so you can appreciate the likeness in the card above.  Although, I’m not sure what happened to the buildings while we were in Kentucky for the year… they seem to have shrunk.

And finally, the back cover represents our move to Michigan.  Jason pointed out the awesome juxtaposition of the green trees and the snow.  He is quite the paper, glue, & markers artist.

He was also going to burn me a mix CD to listen to in the car on the way to/from the ski hill, but our water softener overflowed AND our external hard drive (with all of the music on it) isn’t working properly.  To be honest, the amazing card (coupled with the fact that he cleaned up the water softener mess, made dinner, and cleaned the bathroom while I was out skiing yesterday) was more than enough… I mean, this thing is way better than anything Hallmark could churn out, don’t you think?

Enough about me – now I want to hear how you celebrated V-day!  Roses?  Chocolate?  Nice dinner?  Homemade gifts?  Share!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. tami permalink
    February 15, 2010 3:50 pm

    Jason wins (sorry Jen). His story book is adorable, Barley and the cherry/spoon are perfect. I didn’t know he was such an accomplished artist.

    Wait, I forgot about the cookies. Well, that changes EVERYTHING…………

  2. Mom permalink
    February 15, 2010 4:01 pm

    Thank goodness that platter IS used for more than just doggie treats! I am so relieved…

    My Valentine’s Day was spent going to church with Trev, sending lame e-cards for Valentine’s Day, going to a fundraiser for a boy who needs multiple brain surgeries, a hockey game in Oregon (WI) and dinner at the Delafield Brewhaus with my two homeboys (no, Comet wasn’t one of them). Not bad, in fact, never bad when it includes dinner out…

  3. japortma permalink
    February 15, 2010 5:21 pm

    My Valentine’s Day would win a contest FOR SURE!! I know nobody spent their day like I spent mine… I was called into the lab to measure..READY FOR THIS?! I had to measure 40 peoples urine…LOTS AND LOTS OF pee! 😦 haha!! It was quite a chore (why did i think grad school was a good idea?!). Also, I had to go to a meeting about accelerometers AND then had to come back home to a house full of party-goers and had to study for a HUGE test I have tomorrow. Too bad there was no radio contest for the worst use of Valentine’s day. haha!

    • February 15, 2010 6:40 pm

      Pee?!?! Yuck.

      Grad school is NOT glamorous. I could have told you that. 🙂

  4. Brian permalink
    February 15, 2010 7:33 pm

    I gave Jackie a painting of something she has wanted since we moved into our house 4 years ago. She got a painted utility room. 🙂 Stop show us your home improvement, you are giving Jackie too many ideas.

  5. Debbie permalink
    February 15, 2010 7:33 pm

    Now, THAT’s how I raised him!
    My Valentine’s Day was spent with most of my valentines(you know who was missing J&J), most especially the tiniest valentines in my life. We had a nice but not elegant dinner with a lot of laughter.
    Glad your day was good!

  6. February 15, 2010 9:36 pm

    hi – found your blog from erin at domestck adventure! the card your hubby made is so sweet!

  7. February 15, 2010 11:47 pm

    That’s adorable, I love the card. We had a laid-back day. We aren’t gifts people, but Ryan made me breakfast. We also went to a little cafe in a tiny town for dinner. It was fun!

  8. February 16, 2010 10:10 am

    I worked most of V-day – {Yuk} but recieved a huge surprise before I left –
    My lens!!!!
    And we both said no big gifts – tiny baby gifts –
    so I got him a dozen of his favorite See’s Candies chocolate lollipops –
    and I thought I recieved a starbucks gift card – but instead was a tiny
    picture of the lens I wanted w/ the phrase –
    Order me today!!!!
    I was so surprised, then felt a little bad b/c all he got was the lollipops!!!

    love your picture that you made – great idea

    • February 16, 2010 1:03 pm

      How exciting!! You got your lens! That’s wonderful!

  9. Janna permalink
    February 16, 2010 1:14 pm

    I love the card your husband did – ADORABLE!!!

    My Valentine’s Day consisted of heart shaped pumpkin pancakes for the family, going to church, going to Lowe’s (because the babies like their race car carts) going to the park, drawing hearts in red marker on the babies’ diapers and taking ridiculous pictures of them and then watching TV when they went to bed. Really very similar to other Sundays, just more heart shapes involved 🙂

  10. February 16, 2010 3:45 pm

    Ahh, so sweet love the artwork

  11. February 16, 2010 6:32 pm

    Small world!! I was super close with Pat Sinclair’s daughter when my family lived in Edina. They lived just up the street!!

    Very cute gifts!

  12. February 17, 2010 3:12 pm

    This is the difference between being married less than 2 years, and almost 18!!

    All cards – were from my 5 year old!

    However, hubby made the family a delicious Sunday Brunch (including, bacon, pancakes, strawberries and raspberries)

    And in the evening he cooked steak with asparagus, broccoli and baby potatoes, followed by strawberries and chocolate!

    Being cooked a lovely meal is the way to my heart!

  13. February 18, 2010 11:02 pm

    Your valentines are cute but those cookies are calling me! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog. I’m going to check out your camera, thanks for the info!

  14. February 19, 2010 3:46 pm

    …just getting caught up on reading blogs this week and saw this. Love the card Jason made….it made me smile, too, because I have that same scrapbook paper and used that exact paper to make my boys’ Valentines. 🙂 And you already saw what my boys did for me over on my blog….Slow Roasted Bacon of Pig. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 Week 22 «
  2. Guest Post: A Sweet Heart Project | Domestic Adventure
  3. happy heart day! «

Leave a Reply

