Skip to content

2010 Week 6

February 12, 2010

I mentioned earlier this week that Jason stood out in the freezing cold and let me take pictures of him and the dogs.  There were a few cute ones and a whole lot of photos of Jason looking cold and disheveled.  Lets just say that my man won’t be modeling for J Crew anytime soon.  Love you, honey!

Although, I guess he does look kind of fierce here.

This one cracks me up because Jason’s kung fu grip on Barley is super-awkward.

And, so she wouldn’t feel left out, I tried to snap a few photos of Jezebel after the boys gave up.  Unfortunately, this one was more interested in running as fast as she could through the snow than she was sitting still and posing.  She just loves the snow – she’d probably stay out all day if I’d let her.

This week was relatively quiet around here (thank goodness).  J and I both have different things going on during the week, so the nights that he’s home, I’m skiing, and the nights that I’m home, he’s out bowling or playing soccer.  So we really look forward to the weekends, when we’re both home!

I played around in the kitchen last weekend, making 2 loaves of whole grain bread (from scratch! with flaxseeds like my super-healthy SIL suggested!  Thanks Amy!), as well as roast chicken and a sweet and spicy pork tenderloin.  And all 3 of the above were edible, a huge accomplishment for yours truly…  I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve made dinner, we’ve taken 2 bites and decided to pick up pizza because my meals were that bad.  So anything “edible” that I make is a pretty big victory.

I also made dog treats from the spent grains after J brewed last weekend!  The dogs love them!

Hope you all have a wonderful weekend!  Our weekend looks like it will be project-, skiing-, and love-filled!  What are you up to?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 11:46 am

    Awww..I love homemade doggie treats!

  2. February 12, 2010 4:58 pm

    Your bread looks like it came out great! And, what lucky dogs!! Frankie is jealous.

  3. Mom permalink
    February 12, 2010 5:23 pm

    Do you really keep your doggie treats on a glass platter with a pedestal? I’m a little worried because it seems to me I helped myself to a cookie the last time I was at your house and it was on a similar plate….hmmm….

    • February 13, 2010 11:12 am

      They’re only up there because I haven’t made cookies yet… can’t have an empty cake platter now, can we?

      And these would be perfectly edible for humans (although a bit hard) – they’re whole grains, flour, egg, and peanut butter.

  4. GGG permalink
    February 13, 2010 12:32 am

    Barley needs his nails cut!

    • February 13, 2010 11:14 am

      Are you volunteering to do that? It’s a real chore… he HATES it and it takes 2 of us just to wrestle him to the ground!

  5. japortma permalink
    February 13, 2010 10:50 am

    I would say that Jason is very J Crew worthy… (did I just make his favorite relative list?? After his embarrassing guac loss i feel like I need to get back up there! haha!)

  6. Debbie permalink
    February 13, 2010 11:45 am

    Jen, your photography gets better every day(is that even possible?)! The clarity is great!
    At least Jason didn’t scare me with these pictures. He loves his doggies doesn’t he?
    I believe he is like me in that he doesn’t enjoy having his picture taken. Maybe it’s a middle child thing. Anyway, you’re always handsome in my eyes, J!

  7. February 14, 2010 11:30 am

    I love the first photo-
    it’s great!!!
    Happy V-day
    hope you guys have a great day – me I am off to work – yuk!!

  8. February 16, 2010 3:49 pm

    Great pics, wow there is so much snow! The bread looks so yum, I have that cake stand, lol – got to love Martha.

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 Week 7 «

Leave a Reply

