Skip to content

some sweet ideas

February 11, 2010

How bad is it that I can’t come up with a single Valentine’s day memory to tell you about?  Hmm.

It may be because we’re not really the type to make big, elaborate V-day celebrators.  When I was little, my parents would always get us some small treats – candies and whatnot – and maybe a little toy or two, as well as a card.  Jason and I have sort of followed that… buying or making each other small gifts or doing meaningful gestures to show our appreciation for each other.

Wait.  I just thought of something.  In 2007, I bought Jason a snake for Valentines day.  And, if allowing one of those creatures to live in the house with me isn’t love, then I don’t know what is.  (Also: this is what I get for marrying a wannabe herpatologist.  Well, this and a whole lot of Animal Planet watching).  As a side note, and so you don’t think I’m totally nuts, we have an agreement that if any of the snakes (we now have 3) escape, Jason has to put me up at a hotel until they are found.  Because I’m not really into waking up to a snake climbing up my leg.

Moving on.

This year, we’ll be exchanging homemade gifts using only items that we find around the house – nothing can be purchased.  And, naturally, I’ve been scouting the internets for a good idea – for something that Jason will really appreciate.  I’ve found some super-cute ideas and thought I’d share my top 3.  The best news is that all these require is a little cardstock and a pen!  (well, in addition to the computer that you’re presumably sitting at, and a printer stocked with printer ink).

1.  Love ABCs

A few months ago, Design Sponge featured these super-cute alphabet cards and I immediately thought V-DAY!  Click here to go to the original post, download the cards, then cut them apart and write why you love your partner one letter at a time!

2.  Library catalogue of love

I’ve seen these little fake library cards around a bit lately (from the Card Generator), but I love the way Layla @ the Lettered Cottage used them.  Layla entered dates that are important to her and her husband and then wrote a little note about each event on several different cards, then printed them and put them in a wooden recipe box.  Go here to read more!

3.  We’re a great match!

These little match scrapbooks caught my eye, and it looks like they’d be super-easy to make.  The templates are here at Brides.com, and allow for both picture and text pages that are wrapped in a little matchbook-style cover.  Adorable!

And now, I’d like to open the floor for a little V-day conversation.  Are you a big V-day celebrator?  Or do you prefer little gifts?  Anyone else crazy enough to gift their love a snake?  What are your plans for this V-day?  Anyone else crafting a little somethin-somethin for their honey?  Maybe you have some other ideas for me?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 1:01 pm

    thank you for taking the time to leave me such a wonderful comment this morning.

    we aren’t big valentine’s day people either. growing up, my parents would always give us cards {still do, though now it’s recpriocated} and my mom would make a fun breakfast before school. i do remember a few times she gave us all a little something but it’s never been big.

    daniel and i both don’t see the need to celebrate our love on one certain day, when for us, it’s a daily celebration {mushy, i know}. we do exchange cards but this holiday will evolve more in our house as we have children.

  2. February 11, 2010 1:02 pm

    btw … the link to the design*sponge cards isn’t active and i’d love to download them! thanks for pointing them out. and i can spell reciprocated!

    • February 11, 2010 1:41 pm

      Oops! Just fixed the link!! Hope you have fun with them! 🙂

  3. February 11, 2010 1:10 pm

    What cute ideas!!! I love the ABC cards 🙂 We aren’t doing anything big. I am going to make him a heart pizza and chocolate covered strawberries

  4. February 11, 2010 1:42 pm

    Jason just emailed me. Apparently I gave him the snake for his birthday, so I’m still at a loss for big V-day memories. Hmm… {thinking}

  5. Carol permalink
    February 11, 2010 2:25 pm

    I remember trying to make a lobster dinner and setting a table in front of the fireplace and trying to light one of my first and only fires. I think the fire worked, the lobster was tough but the wine made up for it. Of course, my hubby is not a big fan of homecooked meals and I hated ruining a perfectly good (and previously living) lobster so we never tried that again.

    A few times we went to parties, one at the ski hill, Ausblick, that was very nice with everything decorated, adults only on the hill, candles on the table, and again lots of wine.

    Two years ago we went to a neighbors party and everyone had to provide a copy of their wedding picture in advance and the hosts had them scattered all around the house in frames. It was fun to wander around and look at everyone’s pictures and helped fill those awkward moments at parties when you find yourself out of a conversation. This idea probably works best after a few years have passed since the weddings because everyone looks so different, it is fun to try to identify the couples. Of course, lots of wine there too!

    Ohh, another party when we were first married consisted of everyone dressing up in red and white and I even wore a headband with two hearts on springs like antennae. There were all sorts of fun contests, I think your dad and I won something but I can’t remember what it was because they were serving wine!

    Valentine’s Day = Wine

  6. GGG permalink
    February 11, 2010 4:35 pm

    It’s just nice to be remembered anyway at all! I do have a good snake story though. Your Dad traded something (I don’t remember what) for a snake at school one day. He put it in my terrarium and did not tell me. The next day after he had left for school it was crawling on the floor in the dining room. PANIC! I sat on the steps and watched it crawl under the table in the living room. I watched it a long time before Grandpa came and got it. That night it went to the park to find some friends. I don’t know how you go to sleep at night knowing they are in the house.

  7. February 24, 2010 5:31 pm

    I sort of stumbled upon your blog…

    I’ve been trying to explain Valentine’s Day to my husband for nearly 10 years. He’s not from here – he’s French and they don’t “celebrate” the day.

    He was under the impression that Vday was for “lovers” and was very perplexed when I brought home a single rose that a colleague gave me one year.

    I tried (and am still trying) to explain that from the time we are little, we were “forced” into participating in this day. Giving cards to kids at school during our party. Then it just evolves as you get older. It’s not JUST for lovers, but for everyone. It’s sort of a tradition.

    He didn’t believe me for ages. Then we got married. We had a ceremony in France and they initiated me with their tradition…waking the newlyweds up in the middle of the night and make them drink champagne and some disgusting stuff from a piss-pot…I later told him that since I was a good sport about that, he needed to be a good sport about Vday 😀

    And ever since, we’ve exchanged cards. But he tells me he still doesn’t understand.

Leave a Reply

