Skip to content

heart garland

February 8, 2010

The crafty little Valentine’s day project I alluded to last week ended up being presentable.  Although, I wonder if I should be embarrassed to admit that both my Friday AND Saturday nights were spent elbow-deep in paper, glue, and string?  Yikes.

Anyhoo, V-day is a fun little holiday and I’ve been seeing so many cutie-cute V-day ideas that I wanted to copy (for awesome V-day crafts, or actually, crafts of any kind, check out One Pretty Thing – it’s where I got the idea for this little project!).

I had a ton of red, pink, and white paper, as well as twine, fishing wire, and glue.  I grabbed a heart punch from Michaels (with a coupon, of course – never go to Michaels without a coupon because it’s usually super-easy to google “Michaels coupon” and find one for 40-50% off).  Cost of my purchase? $5 and I used a gift card.  So technically, that means free.

I punched a whole bunch of hearts, put glue on the back of one, laid the fishing line/twine on the glue, and then put another heart on top – sort of like a fishing line/twine sandwich.  Easy peasy.

As you can see above, the twine garland was hung on the fireplace (it’s been looking a little bare since I took down the Christmas decor).

The fishing line hearts are tied to the chandelier in the dining room.  They kind of look like they’re floating.

Anyone else tackling some last-minute V-day decorations?  What about presents?  We’re going to exchange homemade no-spend Valentines this year and I could use a few ideas…  Also, let me know if you try this – I’d love to see pictures!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2010 1:33 pm

    JEN! I love them! Oh my gosh. That is such a cute idea 🙂 I may have to make them. Thank you for sharing 🙂 Happy Monday!
    xo,KA

  2. February 8, 2010 2:04 pm

    These are awesome! I might have to make these for next year when our den is back to normal. My birthday is the day after Valentine’s Day, so I always love the Valentine’s decor!

  3. February 8, 2010 2:11 pm

    Adorable! I love hand made V Day things. I was planning on making my hubbys lunch the night before (something I never do) and putting little surprises in it for him, like candle and a note.

  4. February 8, 2010 3:07 pm

    love the “new look” of your blog –
    how’s your photography coming ?

    by the way I like the black & white pics in your last post!!

    • February 8, 2010 7:02 pm

      Thanks, Elizabeth… I’m working on adding a few things, still, but I like this format better than the old one!

      The photography is coming along… I convinced the husband to pose for me over the weekend, so I hope to post a few more pictures tomorrow! I liked your “kiss” photo!

  5. GGG permalink
    February 8, 2010 4:40 pm

    You are so clever. It’s snowing here again so I should really do something like that but-I have nothing to work with so I guess end of story!

  6. February 8, 2010 7:00 pm

    Thanks for the compliments, guys! Glad you like them! 🙂

  7. February 8, 2010 10:47 pm

    What cute and festive projects! I’ve skipped Valentine’s Day altogether, so I am enjoying seeing everyone’s projects!

  8. tami permalink
    February 9, 2010 12:55 pm

    Heart shaped cookies are always a good Valentine’s gift. However, they don’t go well with beer. (Jason, if you are reading this, stop NOW). How about some heart shaped tortilla chips and a couple of home made salsas?

    To make the heart shaped chips you will need a package of yellow corn tortillas (the soft kind from the refrigerated section at the grocery store) and sharp heart shaped cookie cutters. Preheat the oven to 350. Use the cookie cutter to cut hearts out from the tortillas. Lay them in a single layer on a cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes or until crispy, but not brown. You can also lightly spray the tortillas with PAM and sprinkle with salt before baking (I don’t do that). Bake the scraps too since you will need lots of chips for scooping the yummy salsa you make.

    We like this Mango Salsa….
    1 ripe mango, peeled, pitted and diced
    1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped
    1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
    1/2 red onion, chopped
    1/2 tsp lime peel, grated
    the juice of one lime
    1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    Mix well, cover and refrigerate for a few hours to let flavors blend.

    I’m sure you can find recipes for other fun salsas too.
    Store the chips in an airtight container and the salsa in the fridge. It will last for a couple of days.

    • February 9, 2010 1:11 pm

      Thanks for the idea – I LOVE Mango Salsa!! And I think I’m going to try this, but maybe not for Jason. I love myself enough to get me a V-day present, right?

  9. February 10, 2010 9:39 am

    How was the ride home yesterday, Jen? I see there were a bunch of accidents involving semi’s, road closures and such. Any idea what the snow total was? I’m wondering what I have to look forward to Saturday morning when I head back to Martin.

    • February 10, 2010 10:36 am

      I think the final total was like 7-12″. Hopefully they’ll have everything cleared by Saturday, although I think we’re expecting more snow tonight.

      Fortunately, I had the SUV, so driving wasn’t too bad, even in the more rural areas near that ski hill that I teach at! My husband, though, was in the camry and spent an hour driving a normally 20 min drive, and then spent another half hour or so salting and shoveling the driveway so that he could drive up the small hill at the bottom of our driveway! Yikes!

  10. February 10, 2010 3:13 pm

    Love how it turned out – especially the fishing line 🙂

    The only thing I have done here is the Ikea heart tree – but you have already seen that!

Trackbacks

  1. happy new year! «
  2. Guest Post: A Sweet Heart Project | Domestic Adventure

Leave a Reply

