Skip to content

2010 Week 5

February 5, 2010

This week, we celebrated J’s birthday with an attempted surprise happy hour at his favorite local brewpub.  Attempted because he figured it out 2 days before it happened.  Which reminded me that I said I’d never plan another surprise for the guy because he always figures it out.  For example, one Christmas, I found him the homebrewer’s dream gift (a kegging set so he could keg his homebrew) and boy checked the history button on my computer and figured it out 2 weeks before Christmas.  SO ANNOYING!

Anyways.  It was his big 32nd birthday, so we met friends and coworkers at a local brewpub for drinks, and then went out to dinner with one of our favorite couples.

We also celebrated with ice cream cake (for breakfast!) as is tradition round these parts.  Yum!  I drove around town looking for the only open DQ within a 200 mile radius to get one of these delicious cakes (DQs tend to close down for the winter ’round these parts), but it was worth it.

I did a lot of skiing this week, and even took the time to sharpen and wax my skis, which I haven’t done in X number of years (where X = a number embarrassingly large that I don’t want to disclose or my dad will think he taught me nothing about skiing).

I broke up a fight in the class that I was teaching on Tuesday.  This is big news because a) it’s only like the second fist fight I’ve ever seen (suburban kids hurt with words, not fists) and b) I stopped a fist fight!  I am the winner of the fist fight! Right?  I mean.  Okay, they were only like 10.  But my guess is that these two little boys are about a million times tougher than I was at that age.  Maybe a trillion times.  Anyways, one even apologized to me (without prompting), and I actually began to feel like I conquered that class of 18 rough, tough elementary students.  Even though I suspect they didn’t learn much (if anything) from my little hour of instruction, one girl came up to me at the end and told me that she didn’t want to leave, she was having too much fun.  And that is kind of why I’m doing this in the first place.  Kids!  Love science!  Sincerely, Jurassic Jen (my scientist name).

So that was awesome.  Later that night, the car broke down.  Not as awesome.  (And maybe I’m asking for it here, but I’d just like to predict that next week the hot water heater will go out.  I’m mentally preparing for it now.)

There was wine in the house this week.  Not for long!

Jason fixed his dresser this week – it just needed a new piece of wood under one of the drawers.  Nothing too tricky, but at least the drawers shut now!  And, in other homemaking news, I found a few minutes the other night to begin a V-day crafting project… and if it turns out well, I’ll share pictures next week!

Finally, Jason wants you to know that he shaved (part of) his moustache.  Don’t worry, I’m just as sketchy on the facial hair as you are.

Have a great weekend!  We’ve got homebrewing and bread-baking plans this weekend… what are your plans?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 2:55 pm

    Jason, you’re a stud. Wish I could grow facial hair in the first place. I’d be proud to wear that face

  2. tami permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:39 pm

    Happy Birthday Jason!

  3. GGG permalink
    February 5, 2010 3:56 pm

    My two Jennifers have really inheirited (not from me) a real knack for writing. The first thing I do when I turn my computer on is check your blogs. It makes my day! Keep up the good work!

  4. Debbie permalink
    February 5, 2010 4:06 pm

    I agree with your grandmother; I check your blog several times a day to see if there is an update. The writing is so interesting and I love to see what is going on with your week since I don’t get to speak with you often enough.
    I am planning on hanging home this weekend if we get the snow they’ve predicted (although around here they are scared of snow so it may not be as bad as they say).
    I have wine in the house for the above mentioned reason!
    Jason is a bad boy for ruining your surprises when you spend so much time on them. As I’ve said before… you know what’s coming…. “I didn’t raise him that way”.
    Have a great weekend! I’m impressed with your bravery breaking up the fight. Kids are tougher than they used to be.

  5. GGG permalink
    February 5, 2010 5:52 pm

    Hey, Debbie it sounds like you are going to have a good old Wisconsin winter! Good luck! We just carry on here like nothing has happened. Am I right, Jennifer?

  6. Mom permalink
    February 5, 2010 9:58 pm

    Nothing but hockey this weekend around here, that and a little tax prep…seems I do that for 6 mos. out of the year. I think I will try wine with my taxes, it might cause a few more errors but I also won’t really care…

    Jason no longer looks like a creeper but with that blanket wrapped around him I might think the picture was taken in a homeless shelter. (but I would also be saying to myself “That guy looks too good to be in a homeless shelter”)

    Anyhoo, might I suggest Jason next try out the look sported by John Travolta in his new movie “From Paris with Love”?

    http://www.fandango.com/frompariswithlove_123241/moviephotosposters/242906

  7. Debbie permalink
    February 6, 2010 8:03 am

    Carol, don’t give Jason anymore crazy ideas. The difference in the pictures at the top and bottom of the blog look like he’s had about 20 hard years in between! Love you anyway, Jason!

  8. Ann permalink
    February 7, 2010 11:29 am

    The last picture is scary.

  9. GGG permalink
    February 7, 2010 6:01 pm

    This is just too funny! Why not try the Travolta look. It looks lik you can grow the stuff fast so it wouldn’t last long:)

  10. February 7, 2010 9:32 pm

    I love all the pictures 🙂 I want to know what kind of craft project you are working on. I am sure it will be fabulous! Oh and you totally rock for breaking up a fist fight…hard core! I hope y’all have a wonderful week! And a very happy belated birthday to your husband! xo,KA

  11. February 8, 2010 6:07 am

    Happy Birthday to Jason.

    If someone is so determined to discover their surprises, they don’t deserve surprises!!!

    Or the next time, I would hint you have got the BEST surprise EVER, that he will NEVER find it….and the surprise will be —– there is no surprise!

    Of course he probably reads your comments (Hi Jason! waving!!!) so there goes that idea!!!

    Love the update on all the happenings in your corner of the world. Looking forward to your valentines project.

  12. February 8, 2010 3:06 pm

    Happy Happy birthday Jason,

    stop peeking!!

  13. Monique permalink
    February 10, 2010 11:41 pm

    Try Beer bread using a good beer of J’s. Recipe in Mother Earth News (search Dutch Oven Beer Bread). Yummy!

Trackbacks

  1. 2010 Week 7 «

Leave a Reply

