Skip to content

If you give a husband a washing machine…

February 2, 2010

If you give a husband a new washing machine, he’s going to go to the store to buy high efficiency laundry detergent.

And while he’s at the store, he’ll want to pick up a bag or two of Reese’s Peanut Butter cups.

When he gets home, he’ll want to use the washing machine.  So he’ll pull the blankets out of the dogs’ kennels.

And after he pulls out the blankets, he’ll notice that the carpet underneath the kennels needs to be vacuumed.  He’ll start vacuuming.

When he’s done, he’ll probably want to make himself lunch.  He will cook a french bread pizza, and after he’s eaten it, he’ll put his dish in the sink.  When he puts his dish in the sink, he’ll notice that there are other dishes in the sink.  Then, he’ll pick up soap and a sponge and wash all of the dishes in the sink.

He’ll probably remember to put the newly-cleaned laundry in the dryer.

And once the laundry is dry, he’ll pull it out, fold it, and pile it in a laundry basket.  The full laundry basket will remind him that there is more dirty laundry upstairs.

And chances are, if he picks up the dirty laundry, he’s going to want to use the new washing machine again.

(Tell me you’ve read If you give a Mouse a Cookie – it’s one of my favorite children’s books.)

—–

Awesomely, this is a true story.  Jason is love-love-loving our new washer and dryer.  I dig them, too.  We went with the Samsung 4.0 cu ft Front Load Washer because it was the lowest-end Samsung that had a “sanitize” cycle.  Jason dug the sanitize cycle because it’s supposed to cut down on some of the allergens that accumulate in cloth – and will be especially good for washing the dogs’ blankets.  Also?  I have my eye on cloth diapering if/when we do have kids (stop rolling your eyes, mom!), so having a sanitize cycle made us feel better about that.  We also chose the matching 7.3 cu ft Front Load Dryer.  It can hold our king-sized down comforter, which is hugely important since we throw it in the dryer it every other week to kill dust mites and other creepy crawlies that might be growing in there {shudder}.

When we decided that we’d buy a washer and dryer, we did our homework.  We visited Lowe’s, Home Depot, Sears, and Best Buy.  We also checked the websites for these stores, but it’s important to make an in-person appearance because sometimes they’ll run in-store sales that aren’t available or noted online.  We figured out what model we wanted based on online reviews – in fact, we didn’t know what to think about Samsung appliances at first (don’t they just make cell phones?), but they got such wonderful reviews online that we were convinced (LG also got great reviews).  When we visited stores, we asked about delivery/haul away fees and noted any specials.  Lowe’s was running a buy-a-Samsung-washer/dryer-set-get-the-drawers-they’re-mounted-on-free deal (which is huge, since the drawers retail at around $200 each), and they offer free delivery and haul away.  However, Sears was having a big sale and all appliances were 15% off (One Project Closer has an awesome and continually-updated sale/coupon notifier), making similar models from Sears more than $150 cheaper per appliance (but we’d have to pay ~$70 for delivery).  We researched the difference between the Sears and Lowe’s models and didn’t come up with much difference in function between the two – in fact, the only major difference was that the Lowes machines were blue and the Sears models were white.  So, armed with that knowledge and a print-out of the sale prices from Sears, we headed to Lowes and bargained ourselves to a new washer/dryer pair.  In all, we saved $400 by getting the drawers free, and another $300 just by asking for the Sears sale price.  Lowes was hesitant at first to give us the Sears price, but when we pointed out that there were no differences between the models other than color, they checked the specs and gave us the price.  Yay!

After bargaining my way to cheaper appliances, my suggestions for others who wish to do the same are:

  1. Do your homework. Research prices at other stores; if model numbers aren’t exactly the same, research the differences between the models at different stores.  Some stores carry models that have little difference from other stores but are sold exclusively at that store so that particular store doesn’t have to price match.  It’s sneaky!
  2. Remember: It doesn’t hurt to ask. Sometimes I feel a bit guilty for asking for a discount.  It’s silly, but I don’t want to be perceived as a cheapskate (I much prefer thrifty or budget-conscious).  So I just remind myself: it doesn’t hurt to ask.  If I don’t ask for a deal, they’re not just going to throw one my way, right?  And as long as I’m polite, it’s a perfectly fine thing to do.
  3. Be willing to walk away. Jason and I decided on a price ahead of time, and if Lowes wasn’t going to meet that price, we were walking out of there sans appliances.  It sounds tough, but gives you more bargaining power – in our case, if they hadn’t been willing to price match, we would have gone to Sears for the similar but cheaper models sold there.

Yikes, I’ve written a lot here.  Finding a deal is near and dear to my heart, I guess.  If you have any stories about or tips for getting a great deal on appliances, now would be an excellent time to share them…

17 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 10:26 am

    love your new washer & dryer. I can’t wait to get a set – although it will probably be when we move as we just got our set a few yrs. ago.
    I love a husband that will do laundry!!!

  2. February 2, 2010 10:57 am

    Too funny!!!! I just “rediscovered” a take on the book yesterday when I was trying to tell a friend how I tend to function! (Which fit her too!) Here it is: http://www.waldsfe.org/humor/mommuffin.htm

  3. February 2, 2010 11:34 am

    Hooray!!! No more dryer that eats your clothing! We did a lot of research also with the washer and dryers. There is so much to learn and know. Great choices!

  4. February 2, 2010 12:05 pm

    You’ve got a dream husband!

  5. February 2, 2010 12:52 pm

    Jason gets a huge gold star in my book! (especially because he chose Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups!)

    Way to go on the research and negotiation. I love how being thorough pays off!

  6. GGG permalink
    February 2, 2010 12:53 pm

    Ok! So when are you starting that “save a buck research” business? I hate doing things like that and you seem to be soooooo good at it. You could also have a side business on how to teach husbands to do the laundry! GpGG would make everything pink!

  7. GpaGG permalink
    February 2, 2010 1:18 pm

    Thrifty, eh? you get that from your paternal grandpa. Your dad always said cheap, as in don’t be: Heres another word I prefer to use, FRUGAL.
    LOL
    GpaGG

  8. February 2, 2010 1:38 pm

    Sweet. As soon as I started reading this post I smiled. I used to teach first grade, and this was a staple in my classroom. We made class books together that followed the pattern and laughed ourselves silly illustrating them. Fun, fun.

    And kudos to the hubby for doing the laundry! 🙂

  9. February 2, 2010 2:13 pm

    I wish! What a surprise that would be to come home to. But the mister and I have a deal: I do the laundry, he does the dishes. Only thing is…I hate folding. Don’t know why, I can’t stand it.

    -Emily

    PS That’s my favorite children’s book!

  10. Debbie permalink
    February 2, 2010 3:59 pm

    I love that you used the Mouse/Cookie analogy! So cute! You are a whiz at finding great bargains and that takes a lot of work and perseverance; kudos to you.
    I’m glad Jason does the laundry since I learned early not to allow his father to do it if I wanted to have my clothes come out looking the same way they went in. It’s not as bad as all that but I prefer to do it my way. However, he can iron a mean shirt and has always done his own ironing for 37 years and I am thankful for that.

  11. GpaGG permalink
    February 2, 2010 4:29 pm

    Oh, Take lessons from Debbie. Your Dad irons his own shirts too. I got the whole thing wrong right from the beginning! And—I was even working full time. I am certainly impressed with all the smart women around. I hate cooking also but I get something out of the freezer that he doesn’t like in the morning and then I get to go out for dinner!

  12. February 3, 2010 12:03 am

    I loved how you started your blog with your version of “If You Give A Mouse A Cookie!” You had me hooked from the first line! Good job on the bargaining with Lowes for your new washer and drier and set. Thanks for the tips. I am the type of person to just walk in and buy. It will be a while until we need to purchase new ones, but this will definitely come in handy! I also give you the thumbs up for cloth diapering. We just made the switch and there are so many positives!

  13. February 28, 2010 11:45 pm

    @Jen-Was that supposed to be funny?

Trackbacks

  1. a year in home improvements «
  2. 2010 week 45 (I think? I’ve really lost count here. remind me not to commit to this next year.) «
  3. happy new year! «

Leave a Reply

