Skip to content

2010 Week 2

January 15, 2010

This week has been crazy busy here in the country!  We’re hoping for a quieter weekend, and I’m hoping to resume more regular blogging next week!

So what have we been up to?

I’ve been busily working on a few projects – writing a book chapter, dabbling in a little graphic design, and preparing to teach at localsmallcollege this spring!

I got set up with my own office at localsmallcollege, and it has windows!  My first real office-that-I-don’t-have-to-share-with-windows!  I am quite pleased.

After he gets home from work, Jason has been painting the walls and floors in our basement laundry room.  (I am also pleased about this!)

We’re still staring at our Christmas decorations.  They’ll likely come down this weekend.

It snowed again earlier this week, and the weather here has been wonderful (mid-upper 20s).  The dogs and I have been playing outside!  They love to chase and wrestle in the snow, and I had a lot of fun taking pictures and trying out camera settings.

This week, I also put on my old GS suit and ski raced again!  It’s been 8 years since my last race, and I almost forgot how much I love it.  Also?  Almost forgot how out-of-shape I am, until my thighs turned to jelly and I was winded after a single run.  Sigh.  (Pictures not shown, because A) I’m not sure I like the idea of photos of a spandex-clad Jen posted on the internets, and B) I’m not brave enough to take the DLSR out on the hill.  But mostly A.)

This little dog loves the snow and would stay out all day if I let her.

The big dog?  Not so much.

So that’s our little week.  Busy, but fun. Hope you all had a wonderful week, and have super-awesome-fun weekends!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. japortma permalink
    January 15, 2010 1:56 pm

    I am so excited that you finally get to teach again!! YEA!!! I am also totally in love with your doggie pictures and am pleased to see that they are no longer sporting the sweaters. 😉

  2. January 15, 2010 2:17 pm

    Whoa! Someone is very busy! I was wondering where you had been. Can’t wait to see what is going on with the laundry area!

  3. Mom permalink
    January 15, 2010 3:08 pm

    Ohhh, the doggy pictures are priceless! Contest material for sure! Makes me even miss the rugrats. I want to bring Comet to romp in the snow with them, he is not the least interested if other doggies are not around! Glad to see you back at blogging, I check every day…

  4. January 15, 2010 3:21 pm

    You are so good with that camera!!!! Have you gotten any new lenses?

    • January 15, 2010 5:22 pm

      Thanks, Courtney… and I was just thinking that I could have done some photoshop goodness to a few of these… I haven’t gotten any new lenses, but I got a bamboo pad to help my photoshopping go better for Christmas (have you heard of these?) and am really looking forward to trying it out!

  5. Debbie permalink
    January 15, 2010 8:56 pm

    So glad to see you back; I miss your blogs so much when you’re busy! I check a few times a day so I don’t miss one.
    I hope you have a good relaxing weekend!

  6. January 16, 2010 10:44 am

    Jezebel is such a gorgeous girl. “localsmallcollege” wouldn’t happen to be KCC would it?

    • January 17, 2010 11:55 pm

      Nope – not KCC, but I would certainly accept a teaching gig there, if they were to offer me one! 🙂

  7. January 16, 2010 1:27 pm

    love your pictures –
    let me know how you like your bamboo pad!!
    Hope your weekend is restful

  8. January 17, 2010 12:02 am

    Hi Jen! Thanks for stopping by my blog–I am so excited to meet you! I just took your home tour and am drooling. I mean, completely swooning. All of your hard work updating your little house in the country was well worthwhile. So so charming. Am inviting myself over for tea. 🙂

  9. Mom permalink
    January 17, 2010 10:15 pm

    Does your story titles mean you will only be blogging once a week now?

    • January 17, 2010 11:59 pm

      No, I hope to blog daily Monday-Friday, just that on Fridays I’ll be sharing pictures + more ordinary moments from our week… the type of stuff I have been neglecting in favor of listing our home projects. I thought it would be a good way to capture the little bits of our life that are typically too random for a blog post and that it would prompt me to take more photos!

  10. January 19, 2010 3:36 pm

    I love that first dog picture– the incredulous eye of the top dog, the how-dare-you look, too funny. Playing with camera settings is such fun, isn’t it?

    Kristina

    Sweetfern Handmade

Leave a Reply

