Skip to content

water in the basement

January 11, 2010

I did three loads of laundry in our beauty of a laundry room on Friday.  I use the term beauty loosely.

All went as would be expected from an old washing machine that sometimes doesn’t fully spin the clothes dry and occasionally throws water on the floor, and the dryer that won’t shut off until the door is opened and only heats on super-hot (let’s talk about the amount of clothing I’ve shrunk and blankets I’ve burned in this machine… uggh).

So I was a bit surprised to find standing water all over the laundry room floor on Saturday morning.

I was even more surprised to find that the water was also in our utility room, and that it had soaked the carpet in the basement hallway.

Surprise via soaking wet socks is never a good thing.

But we found the culprit easily and were able to temporarily bypass it.  One of the valves leading away from the water softener had sprung a leak.  Fortunately, our machine’s bypass button works.  Unfortunately, the water softener is a Culligan, and it appears that their “proprietary” parts may be more difficult to come by than other models.  If anyone knows anything about fixing an older model Culligan water softener, feel free to pass that along – we’re hoping to fix this ourselves.

We spent most of Saturday removing (soaking wet) carpet and making plans for a new laundry room.  Looks like our goal of making a new laundry room in 2010 will be accomplished sooner than I had hoped!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 11, 2010 1:23 pm

    O NO!!! I the surprise of standing water! I wish I had more advise for you, but I don’t. :-(. BUT, the good news is, you get to work on the laundry area!!

  2. January 11, 2010 1:29 pm

    Ugh…can’t stand it when I step in something wet. Unfortunately, it’s not usually because a pipe sprung a leak in my house…it more than likely has something to do with one of my rugrats. 🙂 Good luck with your renovation!

  3. January 11, 2010 1:39 pm

    sorry to hear of your mess –
    but on the bright side –
    your laundry room will get done alot sooner I bet!!
    Stay dry – and warm

  4. January 11, 2010 1:48 pm

    I love that you see the bright side of it (like we did with our HVAC problem)! Just think how awesome your new laundry room will be! 🙂

  5. GGG permalink
    January 11, 2010 5:16 pm

    Have you had any water come pouring in the ceiling from snow melting on the roof? I’d rather have it in the basement. your problem is much easier to deal with. I might buy a new water softener before I deal with anything else. I know old parts are hard to find and sometimes more costly in the long run. Check into that before going ahead. I know that’s hard to do when you are so frugal!!!! (Only a Gramma could say that)

  6. January 11, 2010 10:04 pm

    Ugh, I feel for you. It took me 3 years to get the water in my basement under control… (if it wasn’t the foundation, it was the washing machine, or the drain backing up… that’s gross!) But any excuse for a rehab is a good one!

  7. January 12, 2010 11:36 am

    Oh no (for the water) and oh yeah for the makeover happening sooner – sure it gives you something to blog about! (LOL!!!)

  8. January 12, 2010 4:24 pm

    Oh NO!! I’m sorry hun! I hope you are having a good day despite the water. I left you a little something on my blog.
    xo, KA
    http://medicalschoolmrs.blogspot.com/

Trackbacks

  1. fixing our water softener «
  2. 2010 Week 4 «
  3. February To-Dos «

Leave a Reply

