Skip to content

Robby’s Christmas

December 30, 2009

We’re back from our Christmas hiatus!

I left the blog a bit more abruptly than I meant to… It’s amazing how quickly the holidays creep up.  And then, suddenly, there it was, the night before we were to leave for our grand holiday adventure, and I was up until 3am wrapping presents and screaming at my husband.  Not my favorite moment.

Anyways.

We’re back from our whirlwind Christmas adventure.  And we had a marvelous time at Robby’s Christmas.  I’m not sure how it happened exactly, but brother Robby claimed this Christmas as “his” — and he didn’t disappoint.

After a Chipotle lunch (Jason’s Christmas Eve “tradition”), we headed over to Grandma and Grandpa’s house for Christmas Eve dinner and presents.  It was a great time – as it usually is when everyone is together.

Christmas eve highlights:

  • Jason and my cousin, Jennifer’s guac-off, in which both made a bowl of guacamole and the family voted on which was the best.
  • Jason’s faux intervention of my cousin Jim’s mysterious song lyric facebook status updates (Let’s just say that my hubby missed his calling.  Or he’s watched entirely too much Intervention on A&E.)
  • Matching my cousins.  Yes, I’m certain I complained about this in a blog post a few weeks ago, but it’s significantly cooler when it happens on accident (and when my cousins are younger and hipper than me.  Which is always.  Because I’m the oldest.)

(Most of) My family went to Christmas Eve church at 11pm.  It was a beautiful candlelit service, in a sweet little church, with a pastor that my family has known since before I was born.

Christmas morning, we woke up to this:

(Okay, actually, we woke up to two dogs who were still on Michigan time and wanted to go out and eat breakfast at 6am CST.  Then, we went back to sleep, and woke up to this:)

Yep, that’s brother Trevor cooking Christmas breakfast.  He’s a better cook than I am.  Which isn’t saying much, but I do mean it as a complement.  Breakfast was yummy.

And my mom really outdid herself with the holiday decorations this year.  The house was fabulously festive for our entire weekend.

After brunch, we recalled the Christmas story and opened presents.

Later in the day, we headed back to my grandparents’ house for lunch/dinner.

Christmas day highlights:

  • Giving everyone their DIY Christmas gift.  (More on this later, but the back story is that my mom and I decided that this should be a “DIY Christmas” with everyone exchanging homemade presents.  Brother Trevor, and J and I were the only participants from my family.)
  • My mom’s creative present exchange this year — three words: BEST BUY GIFTCARD! (Because that’s all brother Trevor wanted.)
  • Reminiscing our favorite Christmas memories over Christmas lunch.  Here is mine (Please tell me that you love the matching outfits, and my 10″ tall bangs):

  • Playing Rockband and Dance Dance Revolution on PS2 – my grandma even got in on the action!
  • Taking the family Christmas picture – even if no one else got the “crazy face” memo.

We spent the day after Christmas with my mom’s family.  My aunt hosted a wonderful lunch, and, again, a good time was had chatting with the relatives.  My mom’s family does a “Polyanna” or “White Elephant” gift exchange – everyone brings a gift that anyone would appreciate, numbers are drawn, gifts are picked in numerical order and can be stolen.  It’s hilarious, and proved to be fun yet again this year.  J and I arrived with a screwdriver and comfy socks, and left with cooking spices and grill tools.  The hit of this year’s party appeared to be the Snuggie – although there were quite a few items that were traded often.

On Sunday, we had to pack up to leave, but not before taking a family trip to the mall to use our Christmas giftcards.  I was the lucky recipient of a new pair of Ugg boots (almost a necessity, given the weather here and the fact that I threw out my old pair of boots before leaving Minneapolis).  The boys picked out electronics, and then we all went to lunch together.

Sunday night, our vacation came to an end, and we drove back to Michigan, exhausted but happy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 31, 2009 5:51 am

    A lovely family Christmas – love your knitted dress, and the crazy faces in the photo, and matching outfits and the present swapping.

    Happy New Year from a cold and windswept cottage near the Giants Causeway – our central heating is not working – Brrrr!

  2. GGG permalink
    December 31, 2009 5:05 pm

    It was a fantastic Christmas! The plaid pants are shrinking but we did manage to squeeze into them for one more year! It was such fun with everybody and their nonsense. Sunday was a real letdown when the last of the gang left. Way toooo quiet!

  3. GGG permalink
    December 31, 2009 5:12 pm

    Love that family picture. Can I get one of those? Grandpa certainly has a beautiful family!!!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. 2009 in review «

Leave a Reply

