Skip to content

Christmas decorations: the mantle

December 16, 2009

I have to admit that I haven’t really gotten into Christmas decorating as much as I did last year.  I put up a few things before our Holiday Sweater Party, but haven’t been motivated enough to get the rest of the decor out of the basement.  Oh well, maybe next year.

Of the decorations that I did pull out, the ones on the mantle are by far my favorite.  You’ve already seen my homemade stockings, but I thought I’d show them off again.  I was shopping over the weekend and found a few adorable wooden letters that I thought would be perfect to add to the stockings.  We’d know which stocking was for whom if 3/4 of us didn’t have names beginning with the letter “J”.  Oh well.  They’re cute anyways.

I should also note that I’m loving the strand of beads hung below the mantle.  I totally stole borrowed? this idea from The Lettered Cottage – I love Layla and Kevin’s design aesthetic and creativity.

On one side of the TV, I arranged 2 apothecary jars that I had laying around, a tall glass candlestick (with orange candle because I keep forgetting to buy more neutral ones), and shiny trees that I picked up from Michaels this year (on clearance, of course).  The trees are stacked on books with red and green bindings to give them a little bit of height.  I picked up 2 6-packs of sparkly ornaments and added them, as well as red and green ornaments that I already had to the apothecary jars.  Fake snow is stuffed in the bottom.  It just seemed like the right thing to do.

Under the TV, I have two glass vases filled with pinecones and beads (after hanging the beads below the fireplace, I split the remainder and put some in each vase).  The red dish is my great-grandmother’s candy dish, and its stuffed with more ornaments.

On the other side of the TV is a third apothecary jar, a big star that I’ll be hanging up around here someday, if only I can find the right place to hang it, and two more glass candlesticks.  Of course, the stars are stacked on more books for a balanced and symmetrical look.  I *heart* symmetry.

I’ll be back to show off the rest of my holiday display tomorrow… until then, tell me what you’re doing to decorate your home (and feel free to share links if you’ve posted on your blog!).  I love looking at all of the awesome Christmas decorations out there in blogland…

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Janna permalink
    December 16, 2009 3:44 pm

    Your decorations look beautiful! I LOVE the colored old fashioned looking books! Where did you find the wooden letters? My burlap stockings need something more and I think the letters would be perfect!

    jannamholm@yahoo.com

    • December 17, 2009 2:38 pm

      I found the wooden letters at a random craft shop in Milwaukee. I bet you could find something similar (and then paint it) at Michael’s or Hobby Lobby.

  2. Tami permalink
    December 17, 2009 11:24 am

    It all looks very nice but I especially love the 3 Christmas trees on the left side of the mantle!

    • December 17, 2009 2:40 pm

      Thanks… I love love loved those trees and then when they went on clearance and I had a giftcard, they were totally mine.

  3. November 8, 2010 12:49 am

    How beautiful! THanks for sharing and inspiring me!

    Big TX Hugs,
    Stephanie
    Angelic Accents

  4. November 25, 2010 1:15 am

    i’ve been trying to figure out how to hang our stockings on our mantel- we bought our house in october so this is our first christmas with a FOR REAL fireplace! anyway, LOVE the books idea! awesome, probably going to be using that one haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

