Skip to content

cookie extravaganza

December 15, 2009

I drove to Milwaukee on Saturday to spend a fun-filled afternoon of cookie-making with my girly relatives.

My sister and cousin Lexy

It was fun to see everyone, and we made about a million cookies.  (That might be an exaggeration).

I didn’t take many home.  Because I am the only one who would eat them around here (Jason is not big into sweets).  And those that I did take, I’ll be donating to the local firemen.  My mom and I also left some at my grandma’s retirement community.

It was more about the getting-together and spending time than it was about cookie-making.

Lexy and Grandma

My aunt had a collection of my great-grandma’s hand-embroidered aprons, and she passed them out to my mom and other aunts.  It was kind of a fun memory of when my great-grandma used to join in our cookie endeavors.  Every once and a while, we’d catch her muttering German swears under her breath when the cookies weren’t doing what she wanted them to!

I am more interested than ever in learning more about embroidery.  Seriously.  Aren’t these awesome?

Anyone else having a cookie-making get together this holiday season?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 3:31 pm

    Awww…I just love family traditions! I am going to make cookies this weekend, but by myself. I just make peppermint bark on Sunday.

  2. Tami permalink
    December 15, 2009 5:20 pm

    HA HA HA…Yes we did. Aunt Jayne came up for the weekend and we did a chick flick/cookie baking marathon….complete with a trip to Chipotle and take out pizza. Needless to say, I am no longer hungry! (not a lot of cookies left here either)

    See you at Grandma’s house next week!

    Oh, and that sweet-aversion thing with Jason…maybe he and Doug are related.

  3. Debbie permalink
    December 15, 2009 5:53 pm

    Love the picture of Ashley and Lexy! Sounds like a great time; glad you had fun.
    The aprons remind me of my Mom; she always had an apron. I wish I had them now. Yours are really beautiful and I love receiving items that have been cherished by previous generations. Your generation is next!

  4. Debbie permalink
    December 15, 2009 5:54 pm

    Your Grandma looks great; I’m glad she’s feeling well.

  5. Carol permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:21 pm

    So you remember Grandma muttering in German…I don’t think she realized we could hear her! I really loved getting that apron surprise, Grandma was all about gingham (aprons, quilts, little girl dresses). The formal name for the stitching on those aprons is “cross stitching”. Don’t you just love the smock on Teresa? She saved those for when she helped in the church kitchen. I guess it was an apron for formal occasions (or just plain smarter to wear that because you had your good church clothes on underneath)!

  6. December 15, 2009 10:59 pm

    Wow. It really is chilly where you live! But also so warm with family.
    Looks like you had a wonderful time.
    Thank you for taking us along!

    xo
    Brooke

  7. December 16, 2009 4:15 am

    Super photos (as always) and love those aprons too.

    So what is your fave cookie recipe?

  8. December 16, 2009 10:47 am

    so cool you had a chance to do that –
    this holiday season is quickly passing me by-
    hope to do some baking this weekend.

Leave a Reply

