Skip to content

stockings!

December 14, 2009

I have a thing for matching stockings.  Or at least coordinating stockings.  After a few years of non-matching stockings (here’s a picture from last year), I finally bit the bullet this year and made my own.  And I’m wild about how they look on our mantle.

I had a bunch of dark green cordoroy from an old sewing project.  I picked up green and red ticking and deep red cordoroy to finish out the group.  The total cost was about $20 (and I have enough red ticking left over to wrap loosely around the base of the tree).  I was especially psyched about this because other, pre-made stockings that I loved were around $25 each, which would have set me back about $100 for 4. (The dogs need their own stockings, too.  obviously.)

It was super-easy, so I thought I’d share my steps with all of you.

Step 1. Fold fabric so that the two good sides are face-to-face.  Iron.  Trace stocking onto fabric and cut out.  Sew around the edge with about a 1/4″ seam allowance.

Step 2. Cut out your stocking cuff.  I cut my pieces 12″ wide and 4-5″ longer than the circumference of the top of my stocking.  You could increase or decrease the width depending on how thick you want the cuff to be.

Next, I folded the fabric in half and ironed, folding one edge under to make a neat edge.

Step 3. Pin the raw edge of your cuff to the top of your stocking.  Tuck the unfinished end into the folded-over-and-ironed end and pin to the back side of the stocking.  Insert a ribbon loop at the back of the stocking (so that you can hang the stocking when it’s finished).  Sew around the top – I used a 1/4″ seam allowance.

Step 4. Turn the whole thing inside out and fold over the cuff.  I only folded over the top 4-5″ of the cuff, and that left enough of the cuff material inside of the stocking that you don’t see the seam where the stocking and cuff material meet.  Iron if needed.

Step 5. Hang!  Hope that  St. Nicholaus will fill them with goodies!

Has anyone else gotten crafty in preparation for the holidays?  What are you making?

Need another dose of holiday craftiness?  Check out all of the fabulous DIY holiday decorations over at Kim’s DIY blog party or The Shabby Nest’s Frugal Friday Holiday Party.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2009 12:22 pm

    VERY cute! Santa will be very happy to come out of your fireplace 🙂

  2. December 14, 2009 12:34 pm

    Those are fabulous! I love how you used material you had lying around to whip up something festive.

  3. December 14, 2009 12:40 pm

    I LOVE THESE. They look perfect and so professional. I really want to try some, but I don’t have any places to hang them. =)

    Thanks for sharing these. You are so talented.

  4. December 14, 2009 1:09 pm

    So cute! I wish I could sew because I would love to make our stockings so they could match, I have a thing for matching stuff too! I hope you have a great Monday. xo, KA

  5. December 14, 2009 1:24 pm

    Cute stockings!

    Way to save $ there girl!

    barbara jean

  6. December 14, 2009 1:26 pm

    Very cute! I curse myself that I can’t sew!

  7. December 14, 2009 5:11 pm

    Your stockings came out great, Jen! You totally showed me up…I managed to make one! And I skipped the how to. I will make a note on my blog for people to head over here for your directions!

  8. December 14, 2009 7:41 pm

    Great stockings!

    Is there anything you can’t do?!!

    Only handmade things I have done this christmas were the snowflake bead ornaments, and the decorated candles.

  9. laurenmakes permalink
    December 16, 2009 11:58 pm

    they look great and so simple. I bought a ton of felt last year w/ plans to make my own since we have a mantle now. it’s still sitting in a closet. ha! your directions are easy to follow. i may just give it a go!

  10. December 17, 2009 1:46 pm

    Thanks for all of the sweet comments! These were so quick and easy, I’m bummed I didn’t do them years ago… If any of you end up making any, be sure to let me know! I’d love to see them!

  11. December 18, 2009 9:05 pm

    Good for you, I have been wanting to make new one but can’t get the nerve up. GOD BLESS AND MERRY CHRISTMAS

Trackbacks

  1. DIY winter mantel decor «
  2. Dare to… deck the halls! (Dare to DIY week 5/6)

Leave a Reply

