Skip to content

new kitchen faucet

December 11, 2009

You may remember my wishful entry in One Project Closer’s Price Pfister Faucet giveaway… I was so thrilled to hear that I won the faucet!  I jumped for joy and maybe screamed a little bit, too.  There might have been dancing involved.  It was exciting.

Especially so because our old faucet was ugly and sprayed water everywhere.  Boo!

Needless to say, I was psyched when the package containing the faucet showed up at my door.  I immediately opened it and began examining the contents.  After reading the instructions, I decided I could install it myself.  Nevermind that I’ve never done anything plumbing-related before (I usually make Jason mess with it, and he usually gets so wet and angry that we have to call in back up).

So, when Jason left for work the following day, I began taking apart the old faucet and installing the new one.

Step 1. Turn off water to the kitchen sink.  I spent an hour and a half looking for water shut offs.  Seriously.  For whatever reason, our sink doesn’t have shut off valves underneath it, nor are there any in the basement.  I had to figure out how to turn off our water pump and shut off the water to the entire house.  Thank goodness for these books, which I highly recommend.  I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve consulted them when things have gone wrong (or are about to go wrong).

Step 2. Remove the old faucet.  This took an additional hour, since it was pretty awkward reaching up to get at the old faucet, and since everything was super-old and super-stuck.  Fortunately, I had read that this was the hardest step in the entire ordeal, so once it was done, I felt like I was on top of the world!  Go girl power!

Step 3. Read the directions again.  Assemble the tools needed for the job (a tool list is included in the Price Pfister directions – very helpful).

I should note that I had some help with this step.  And also with subsequent steps.  Because Jezzie thought it would be fun to try to sleep on my belly as I laid under the sink.  And then I called her Junior Plumber Dogg for the rest of the day.

Step 4. Install sink.  I had to use a base plate since I have a 4-hole sink and I asked for the 2-hole faucet.  (I am hoping one day to acquire a new, beautiful 2-hole farmhouse sink.  Keeping fingers crossed.)  I used DAP waterproof caulk around the base, since I had some laying around after our weatherization project.

The directions were really easy to follow, even for a plumbing novice.

Basically, a washer and nut screw onto the bottom of the faucet to hold it on the sink.  My one complaint of the whole ordeal is that the directions didn’t mention that the washer and nut (as well as one of the pieces that attaches to the bottom of the sprayer) were already ON the faucet part and needed to be removed before the faucet could be set in the sink.  Not a huge complaint, is it?  But I did spend 45 minutes scouring the house for the nut and washer, and almost threw the towel in before discovering that they came pre-attached.  Duh, right?  Not my brightest moment, but hey! I’m new to this plumbing thing, cut me some slack!

Once I got the faucet loosely on the sink, I took a break until Jason got home.  The part where the nut gets tightened requires 2 people – one to hold the faucet, one to tighten the nut.

He was not thrilled to find that all of the plumbing in the entire house was completely shut off and that the sink was not exactly functional the night before we were to leave for our week-long Thanksgiving extravaganza.  He did appreciate my efforts, though, and helped tighten down the sink (my version of “hand tight” was not tight enough – the boy had to use a wrench to get the sink to stay).

Step 5. Attach the water supply lines to the new faucet and turn on the water.  Cross your fingers that water doesn’t spray everywhere.

Step 6.* Discover that water did indeed spray everywhere and that you are covered in water.

Attempt to fix water supply lines.

Sigh loudly.  Utter a few choice words.  Hope your husband will forgive you before your 10-hour drive to Philly the next day.

Repeat x5.

Run to the hardware store for new water supply lines.  Hope they don’t giggle at the fact that you are sopping wet and it’s now 8pm.  Hope these work or you have no clue how you will be able to flush, shower, wash your hands, and finish the laundry before your big trip.  Decide that maybe plumbing should be done on days when you are not preparing to go on vacation.

Get home, install new water supply line.  Cross your fingers.  Turn on the water.  Stay dry.  Sigh with relief.

*Step 6 is optional.  Actually, you’re much better off if you just skip step 6.

In the end, J was just as excited as I was to have a pretty and uber-functional new faucet.  I absolutely love love love the pull-down sprayer.  And because you can control the spray volume right on the sprayer, it’s easy to reduce or increase the water spray depending on what you’re washing.  I know it sounds crazy, but this faucet actually makes washing dishes kind of fun (did I really just admit that?).

And the additional soap pump is shiny and new and perfect for storing hand soap.  It was a breeze to install, and is a fun novelty for yours truly (I’ve never had a faucet with a soap dispenser before!).

All in all, we’d not only recommend this faucet, but we’d definitely consider Price Pfister for our next faucet replacement (hello, 1/2 bath!  I’m looking at you…).  I would also consider DIYing another faucet installation (especially if you have the proper under-the-sink shut offs and don’t have to turn off all of the water in the house).  I mean, I figure that if I can do it, anyone can.

I think it looks so much better than the old faucet – it really makes the kitchen seem more modern (even with the older sink and countertops).  See for yourself:

before:

after:

Much better, right?  It makes me smile every time I see it…

17 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 12:00 pm

    Wow it snowed that much in the time it took you to put that in? lol. J/K. It looks like a whole new sink!! Great job!

    • December 11, 2009 12:39 pm

      ha, ha! Maybe I should confess that the sink has been full of dishes since the faucet was installed and yesterday was the first time I actually emptied them and cleaned the sink? And I really only did that much so that I could post about it on the blog? 🙂

  2. December 11, 2009 12:14 pm

    That faucet was designed for your kitchen. Fits perfectly. Though, now you need to update your drinking water spout (thing?) to match the faucet 🙂

    • December 11, 2009 12:39 pm

      Good call… I’ve been drooling over one of those under-the-sink water filtration systems…

  3. December 11, 2009 12:23 pm

    SUPER impressive that you took this on! It looks great!!

  4. December 11, 2009 12:54 pm

    You did a fabulous job! I don’t think I would have even attempted this project, but with your steps, it looks manageable! And the faucet looks AWESOME!!!

  5. Debbie permalink
    December 11, 2009 3:29 pm

    Holy cow! It does make a big difference. Well done!

  6. December 11, 2009 4:00 pm

    Wow! It looks great. Nice work with the install.

  7. December 11, 2009 6:10 pm

    muuuuuch better!!!! Congratulations on doing it yourself. I am always afriad of doing plumbing stuff too….so YAY for you doing it by yourself…and no one has to know about step 6 😉 haha. Happy Weekend! xo, KA

  8. December 12, 2009 6:13 pm

    I am SO IMPRESSED with you, and if I ever need a plumber I will phone you to fly over to Ireland!

    Also VERY IMPRESSED that you managed to stop and photo every step, and describe it all in such detail – even though I have no intention of tackling such a job myself 🙂

  9. December 13, 2009 12:04 pm

    WOW! I am impressed that you installed the faucet by yourself. I have to admit I wouldn’t have had enough guts to tackle it myself! It looks amazing. Your sink even looks great with it! 🙂

  10. December 13, 2009 8:53 pm

    OMG that is the exact sink we’re looking to get! We have another Price Pfister faucet and we love how high of quality it is (yay metal parts) with a moderate price tag. We really like the vintage look of the faucet. How does it work? Our biggest concern is that over time the pull out spray will not go back in completely. All of the display faucets they have that problem (granted they are abused but still).

    • December 17, 2009 1:28 pm

      So far, so good. We’ve been using it about 3 weeks and have no problems with the pull out spray going back into the faucet. There’s actually a weight that you put on the underside of the sprayer hose that helps it retract and stay retracted.

      I love that you can control the water flow right on the nozzle and that it goes back and forth from spray to stream with just a single button push.

      I will say, though, that it takes a while to get used to pulling forward for hot and backwards for cold – our faucet didn’t come with any cold/hot marker, so we were confused for a little bit. And guests are sometimes confused about how it operates.

      But I think it’s worth it. I’ll be sure to let you know if we run across any problems with it!

  11. Janna permalink
    December 14, 2009 1:06 am

    The faucet looks wonderful! I am impressed with your plumbing!

    And GAH! I can hardly stand to look at the pic of your Junior Plumber Dog. SO SO SO CUTE! 🙂

    • December 17, 2009 1:30 pm

      Thanks, Junior Plumber Dogg was just totally cracking me up – she’d sit there an look at the directions for a while without moving, like she was really trying to help!

  12. December 14, 2009 3:56 pm

    they look great!

  13. December 15, 2009 7:06 pm

    Much Better!! I really makes your sink look polished…congrats on winning

Leave a Reply

