Skip to content

entertainment dresser

December 9, 2009

This is a story about how we (easily) turned an old dresser into our entertainment center.

My grandma had this dresser in her garage when we went to visit her over the summer.  She didn’t have a spot for it, so she handed it over to yours truly, who will take almost any free piece of furniture given to her.

The only problem was that the dresser’s brown-y orange tones weren’t going to work with the darker pieces I already had.  Also?  The dresser was a bit scratched.

So I removed the stain using citristrip, then retained using a darker color.

The whole unstaining/restaining thing sounds harder than it actually is (follow the directions on the jar of stain and you are golden).  It does require a bit of patience, though, which gets tricky for me because I typically WANT IT DONE NOW! Sigh.  Anyways.

Once the dresser was stained and coated with polyurethane, we put the hardware back on the bottom drawers and measured the space where the top drawer sits.  We then cut a board to that size, stained it to match the dresser, and inserted it into the spot where the top drawer should be.  We made a few small holes in the back of the dresser to run cords through, and put our cable box and DVD player in the dresser.

Insert a few pictures of our nieces and nephew, some wedding/engagement pictures, and Santa on a sheep (yes, santa is riding a giant sheep here and isn’t it so super-cool?), and we’ve got ourselves a bonafide piece of nice furniture that works as an entertainment center.  (And since we’ve stained the top drawer to match, we could easily remove the entertainment equipment and put it anywhere in the house – a definite bonus).

And now, you’re probably all, “but where’s the tv, Jen?”

Sigh.  Jason won the tv placement battle and the tv is over the fireplace.  Truthfully, it’s the best spot for it, but I always think that something prettier than a tv should get the sacred space above the fireplace.  So I’ll be working on a solution to pretty that up in the near future.  And Jason will be working on ways to hide the ugly black cords draped all over the mantle.  He claims that if he gets a blue ray DVD player for Christmas (hint, hint, santa?) then he’ll be able to eliminate much of the cord bulk, but something tells me that we’ll eventually be fishing the cords through walls and whatnot.

And now?  It’s your turn:  Anyone else like to reserve the spot over the mantle for something prettier than a tv?  Any other unconventional uses for dressers out there?  Tell!

I’m sharing this with the CSI Project’s Roadkill Rescue Challenge!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2009 2:47 pm

    Fortunately for us hubby didn’t want the TV that mounts to the wall… of course he also wanted a 55″… which is what we ended up with (on sale thanks to after Thanksgiving sales) and it sits on a TV stand we purchased from Big Lots for less than $200, which from what I can tell was a steal. I really like what you did with the dresser, what a thrifty idea! I love it!

    As for my mantle, we have a nice clock that hangs above it. There would have been a big fight over the idea of putting a TV up there… and I would have won. LOL

  2. December 9, 2009 3:37 pm

    Great Idea…I often think love the dresser turned tv stand BUT – how is it done. My hubby wants to mount the tv in the bedroom — Now we just need to find the pefect dresser / and make a tv stand/dresser

    BTW – great tip on the no-sanding option! Were are redoing our table and the sanding poriton is so not fun! Lesson learned next time I’m doing this way

    • December 9, 2009 9:18 pm

      You will have to do a little bit of light sanding with this method (I omitted a few steps…). Basically, if you use the citristrip, then you use mineral spirits to clean it off, lightly sand the piece to open the wood pores, wipe the piece down, then use a wood conditioner, then a layer or three of your stain, then a few coats of polyurethane. I used Miniwax products for the staining, and they sort of walk you through the whole thing on the packaging! Good luck!

  3. Debbie permalink
    December 9, 2009 7:28 pm

    I’ve seen this entertainment idea done and thought it was a great idea; I just have to get a piece of used furniture.
    There are those tvs that look like pictures but I don’t know if this the way the tv comes or if you can get a picture to go over it. Maybe you can investigate.
    As always, good work!

    • December 9, 2009 9:21 pm

      This is sort of like my idea… I want to find a pretty picture frame that fits around the tv, then bulk it up by adding 2x2s or 2x4s to the back and mounting it around the tv to make it look a little prettier, and to hide all of the cords and mounting equipment behind the tv. I’ve considered using shutters that open & close over the tv, but truthfully, they’d probably be in the open position 99% of the time, so what’s the point? 🙂

  4. Carol permalink
    December 9, 2009 11:39 pm

    I have to admit I wasn’t keen on your idea of staining that dresser dark but it really looks nice that way!

  5. December 9, 2009 11:56 pm

    what a great job you did –
    stripping and refinishing furniture scares the bee-geezers out of me
    love how it looks.

  6. December 10, 2009 11:27 am

    Great idea with the dresser! I would love to do something like that, but our TV is a 56 in. I’m not a fan of the size, but on the flip side placing it above a mantle would never be an option! I am definitely not a fan of TVs hanging up there. I prefer pictures, antique knick-knacks, maybe a big mirror or picture. 🙂

    • December 10, 2009 11:40 am

      (the reason ours won’t fit about a mantle is because it is a DLP)

  7. December 10, 2009 3:21 pm

    Ohhh, I love a good furniture revamping and this one came out great! And don’t worry, if we had a mantle, our TV would be over it for sure. I would lose that battle any day of the week. I think you made a great compromise and I can’t wait to see what creative cord-covering solution you guys come up with!

  8. Marlene permalink
    December 11, 2009 12:22 pm

    I don’t have a hubby OR a mantel in my current home, but a TV over my mantel is something that would NEVER happen! I prefer the ugly things be covered with doors or something at all times it is not in use, and I seldom watch more than a show or two at a time, so that would work for me. I know a lot of ladies who would probably lose that battle though, so you did good with the dresser to entertainment center redo! It looks great!

  9. July 28, 2010 2:40 pm

    You just haven’t been married long enough to win that battle, LOL.

    Nice redo though, it turned out very cool.

  10. July 28, 2010 9:09 pm

    I love how subtle this is, very classy!

Leave a Reply

