Skip to content

homemade gifts: children’s apron

December 7, 2009

Happy Monday!  Another Monday means another Dare to DIY bloggy challenge, and this one is all about homemade gifts.  I love homemade gifts.  I’m always nervous, though, that the recipient might think homemade = cheap.  And what if the project turns out badly?  Like, here is a way-too-small pair of mittens for you! That would be disastrous.

So I thought that my niece and nephew would be the perfect recipients of the first homemade gift of the season.  After all, at 2 and 1, I didn’t think they’d be bothered by crooked sewing or a less-than-perfect finished product.  They like to play dress up, and they often help their momma cook, so I thought aprons would be a fun little project (and also manageable for my novice sewing skillz).

Luckily, I found free! directions for how to sew them when I walked into Joann Fabrics.  They’re online here, if you want to take a look.

I chose a denim for the apron body (heavy duty = good for kids), and then chose a different fabric for a pocket and strap for each of them.  Lucy got dogs because she likes animals (her favorite animal is the aardvark, but for some crazy reason, they just don’t sell aardvark material at Joann).  Peter has a train on his pocket because he’s totally into trains.

I’m really pleased with how they turned out.  They’re a bit big for now, but *hopefully* the kids will get lots of use out of them, and can use them as they grow.

What homemade presents are you making for Christmas?

Need ideas?  Check out all of the other awesome homemade gifts shared on Kim’s blog or at Today’s Creative Blog’s Tuesday get-your-craft-on!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2009 12:03 pm

    Those are adorable. I love that you personalized each one.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. December 7, 2009 12:43 pm

    Those are adorable! Way to go! I am going to give these a try for next year maybe 🙂 PS. Your neice and nephew are too cute! Happy Monday! xo, KA

  3. December 7, 2009 3:24 pm

    The create and barrel catalog is where I got the idea!!! The trees were not hard to make (I am in the process of making the red rose bud ones for our home) so I bet you could make the wreath! xo, KA

  4. December 7, 2009 6:20 pm

    So cute! Great job.

  5. Amy permalink
    December 8, 2009 9:30 pm

    The kids loved the aprons! We used them today when we baked ginger cookies. Peter discovered the pocket in the front and offered me “treats,” most of which were “raisins” despite the fact we were baking cookies.

    (If you make them again, the only thing I’d suggest is to tie a knot at the bottom of each strap. Because dress up clothes have a way of becoming “run around the house” flags, and little straps have a way of coming off. But really, they’re so awesome and kept the kids clean today!)

    (Also, I hope you know that we love homemade gifts. The best!)

Leave a Reply

