Skip to content

the first snow!

December 4, 2009

We got our first snow of the season last night, and woke up to find the backyard a winter wonderland.

I mentioned to Jason this morning how excited I was that we got snow and it’s not even cold here!  He said, “Only someone from Minnesota would think that 23 degrees is warm!” I bet a few of you on both ends of the temperature spectrum would agree with that (hello readers in FL or MN!).  It’s amazing how 23 degrees does not feel THAT cold after surviving a few -15 degree Minnesota winters.

We also agreed that the snow meant that it is officially almost Christmastime.  Because snow is a necessity for Christmas.  I’m sure of it.

The dogs were nervous about it last night, but seem to approve today.  And my carpets are thanking them for that.

My carpets are also thankful for a little package that I received yesterday.  One that I went outside to grab, only to discover that Barley had jumped up on the door, slamming it shut and locking me out.  In my pjs.  With no cell phone.  The Fed Ex man was there, too, and was nice enough to let me borrow his cell to call Jason.  But Jason had left his phone in the bedroom when he left for work yesterday morning.  So I got all MacGyver on it and ended up breaking into my living room window in slippers and a bathrobe.  Thank goodness my neighbors live far enough away that they didn’t have to witness that less-than-glorious sight.  Sigh.

Anyways.  The package.  Black & Decker sent me a vacuum to try out, just in time for some pre-party cleaning.  So if you’re looking for me today, I’ll be singing along to Mariah Carey’s “All I want for Christmas” and getting ready for tomorrow’s holiday party!  Can’t wait!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 4, 2009 12:20 pm

    You luck out! We didn’t get any snow in my area of Michigan, yet. They kept threatening it, but nothing! It sure was cold this morning though. Hey, I totally understand how you think 23 degrees was warm! lol. Basically, it could be colder! Glad you found a way in!! lol.

  2. December 4, 2009 12:39 pm

    Wow – that is amazing in your own back yard. I live in No Cali..and it never snows…but to be 59 degrees is COLD! lol I have to keep our house at least 63 at night!

    Your dogs look so cute playin the snow…we have a Chihuahua who gets the shivers so easy just like me

  3. December 4, 2009 2:28 pm

    We occasionally get snow – but it never stays for long – it usually melts by lunchtime much to my kids disgust!

    I got some great photos of Dunluce Castle and snow last winter.

  4. Carol permalink
    December 4, 2009 6:44 pm

    Love Jezzy’s ears, looks like she is ready to take off!

  5. December 4, 2009 8:37 pm

    You are definitely lucky you don’t have neighbors to see you breaking into your own home in pjs and slippers! 🙂 I have had to break in to our house right as it got dark out and we’ve got neighbors that are right there. I am sure they found it highly amusing to see me slither through the dining room window. I was scared someone was going to call the cops! It was a good eye opener to me how easy it is to break into someones home. Since we live in town I don’t keep our main floor windows open at night any more. 😦

    Having grown up in MN and now living in ND I totally agree that 23 degrees is warm!

  6. December 5, 2009 8:35 pm

    Wow, what a beautiful area you live in!! Happy SNOW DAYS! 😉

  7. GGG permalink
    December 6, 2009 8:41 pm

    Time to put a key outside?!?!

Leave a Reply

