Skip to content

East Coast Thanksgiving 2009 Extravaganza

December 1, 2009

We drove to South Jersey and stayed for the entire Thanksgiving week.

It was a 10-hour drive, made slightly longer by my inability to follow road signs.  That is, we ended up driving around where we needed to be, and didn’t arrive until 3am.  Fortunately, the dogs were great – they slept the entire way on blankets that we laid out in the back of the car.  And, when we got there, we were rewarded with this:

It’s our very own new baby niece, Maelynn Elizabeth.  Isn’t she sweet?  We thought so, and decided to ohh and ahh over her (and her momma) until about 4:30am.  Yep, she’s that adorable.

I visited my super-awesome college friend, Elizabeth, in NYC Saturday and Sunday.  It was so fun to see her life in the big city, her adorable studio, and to just walk around and catch up.

The only other time I’ve been to NYC was with my family when I was like 14.  And I don’t think we visited Central Park.  So, I was thrilled when the weather was warm enough to spend the day walking through the park!  I was also surprised to see ice skating… it seems too early for outdoor ice!

Elizabeth also captured some photos of yours truly –  I’d like to think that I taught her a few new camera tricks.  Or, at least, she let me think that I was showing her some new tricks.

The photo below was taken just before I was referred to as a lady – as in, “Kids, that lady is getting her picture taken, don’t get in her way.”  At which point, I had to whisper to Elizabeth, “Am I really a lady?  I mean, I’m still just a girl, right?”

We had such a wonderful time talking, and I am so thankful to have such an amazing friend.  I was sad to go, but we stopped in Times Square before going to Penn Station to catch my train back to Jersey.  It was crazy.  And amazing.  And there were so so many people there that I was totally overwhelmed because I am used to living 2 people per 9 acres out here in the country.

Of course, I was happy to return back to Jersey to see the fam and the dogs – who looked twice as adorable in the new “Happy Thanksgiving” scarves that their Grammy bought for them!  I think they must have really charmed Grammy last week, because we caught her talking to them like they were kids!  (It’s kind of a big deal because Grammy is not so much a dog lover.  It’s okay, though, because I wasn’t really a dog lover until we brought Barley home.).  Mission accomplished!

And baby Maelynn and Bridget stayed at Jason’s parents’ house so that we could spend tons of time with them!  Yay!  We had all sorts of adventures – shopping, out to dinner, and even the zoo.  Maelynn is pretty much the best baby ever… she rarely cries and when she does, it’s the sweetest little cry.  Also?  This one sleeps through almost everything.

Anyways, the zoo.  The Philly Zoo was pretty cool, and even more so when seen through the eyes of two toddlers.  Two toddlers who probably know more about animals than yours truly.  Seriously, these kids are zoo experts.

Jason, his siblings, and their kids at the zoo

I took bunches of photos, but this one of a face off between our niece, Lucy, and a puma is my favorite.

Later that evening, Barley enjoyed quality time with his baby cousin.

And I enjoyed taking a million photos of her.  And even though I promised Sean that nudie pictures of his sweet baby girl would not appear on the internets, I couldn’t resist some bathing baby photos.

Look at that precious little yawn!  Seriously!

I love the Lion King-esque pose in this one.

And some cute baby and momma photos.  Aren’t they pretty?  (the girls, not the photos).

And, I was especially happy to get a new family photo!  With a new addition and two rapidly-becoming-kids in the family, it is nice to get up to date photos to put on display.  I’m really pleased with how they turned out – I had a few good ones to choose from!

And, we someone else even managed to wrangle all of the kids together for a smallest-to-tallest photo!

J and I are so thankful to be a part of such a fun family!  We are thankful that we got to spend so much time with our nieces and nephews – we had so much fun with them!  And we were also really thankful that we didn’t have to prepare the Thanksgiving meal, and that we were pampered by Jason’s parents all weekend.  (Debbie, you can come make bacon and eggs at my house any day!) And of course, we’re thankful for many opportunities that we’ve had this year, our house, the dogs, new and old friends, family, and our health.  And mashed potatoes and gravy.  Yum!

I hope your Thanksgiving was similarly wonderful!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 3:25 pm

    Great pics! I have always wanted to go ice skating in NYC! I also love the knew outfits the doggies are sporting! Looks like you had a very nice trip.

  2. Debbie permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:12 pm

    First of all, Lady is all about your demeanor and you, Jen, truly are a lady.It’s not an age thing in my opinion.
    I’m so glad you had a good week with us. We are so blessed that we were able to be together. Your dogs were well behaved and they may come back again!
    I hope the next year brings many blessings to you!

  3. December 1, 2009 5:24 pm

    Of course you are a lady – but a young lady!

    So glad you had a wonderful Thanksgiving. We don’t have it here – we are such an ungrateful lot!!!

  4. December 1, 2009 8:12 pm

    What a wonderfull Thanksgiving! I’ve only been to NYC once and its was amazing..my husband and I want to there next year.

    Great family photos…I LOVE the smallest to the tallest that is CLASSIC!! I’m glad you shared 🙂

  5. December 1, 2009 8:44 pm

    Such beautiful pictures! I love the puma picture and the first baby picture. It looks like you had a great time with the family.

    BTW you’re a gorgeous young lady. ; )

  6. December 1, 2009 10:45 pm

    Jen your pictures are stunning! I love the one where all the kids are lined up from smallest to tallest. I am glad y’all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

    Oh, and I know what you mean about being called “lady” instead of “girl”. I was coloring with two little boys at Mr. B’s parents house after Thanksgiving dinner and one of the little boys said to the other one, “You’ll have to wait until the old lady is done coloring with the yellow one…” Seriously, apparently not only am I a “lady” but an old lady at that! Ha ha ha.
    xo, KA

  7. mom permalink
    December 2, 2009 1:18 am

    Ahhh, “lady” is nothing, wait until you get hit with the “ma’am” bomb, now that is painful! Love the smallest to tallest, how did they manage to have the kids grow at the right pace?

  8. December 2, 2009 11:09 am

    sounds like you had a blast – after seeing your pictures I can’t wait till this weekend. Glad you had a blessed thanksgiving –
    NYC here we come!!!

Leave a Reply

