Skip to content

holiday treats!

November 30, 2009
tags:

Happy Monday!  Kim is hosting another Dare to… blog party, and this time it’s all about sweet holiday treats!  Yum!

Having just returned from our East Coast Thanksgiving Extravaganza (more on that tomorrow), I did not have time to make anything this week.  I did, however, have time to look through my pictures from last year and giggle a little bit.  So much has changed in the past year…

Last December, we were celebrating in our sweet, oven-less 1920s house in Minneapolis with our super-awesome Swedish roommate, Sanna.  Sanna lived with us for 3 months while she did an internship at my place of employment.  One of our coworkers threw a cookie exchange party, so Sanna and I had to make something that didn’t require baking.  Because there wasn’t an oven in our house, and as much as I loved the M&M cookies I made on the Foremen Grill, I was totally NOT baking 5 dozen cookies 8 at a time.

Chocolate covered pretzels are ridiculously easy to make.  Buy pretzels and chocolate (we used Wilton Candy Melts from Michaels).  Jason claims that the Snyders Olde Tyme Pretzels are the secret to success – the diameter of the pretzel is big enough to dip, but not too big, so you get a good pretzel:chocolate ratio.

Melt the chocolate.  Dip the pretzels.  Toss other candy on top.  Ta da!  Done!

This year, we’re fortunate enough to have a working oven. I’ll probably still make a few of these since they’re quick and easy and our annual holiday sweater party is this Saturday!  (Yikes!)

My aunts, grandma, mom, sister, and I are getting together for a holiday bake-off in 2 weeks, though, so I’ll be scouring the internet (especially those at Kim’s blog party) for other new and delicious recipes.  If you have any good recipes to share, please leave them in the comments!

Also, if you’re planning on hosting a cookie party, consider making extra and donating them.  I recently stumbled across Drop In & Decorate, a nonprofit organization that provides support for individuals/groups who make cookies for donation.  I love the idea and am hopeful that we’ll be able to donate some of the cookies from our holiday bake-off to local organizations that might appreciate them!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2009 11:48 am

    Oh how I love chocolate dipped pretzels! I don’t know what it is about sweet and salty, but it is heavenly. Thanks for sharing.

  2. November 30, 2009 1:04 pm

    I really want to host a cookie exchange this year. I hope to get to it. =)

    Thanks for sharing. I love chocolate pretzels, but I’ve never actually made them.

  3. December 1, 2009 9:57 am

    Glad your back and had a wonderful thanksgiving – can’t wait to see your new york photos – I leave on Sunday and am starting to get excited.
    I too would love to host a cookie exchange but have no clue how to do it!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Dare to… eat cookies! (Dare to DIY week 3/6)

Leave a Reply

