Skip to content

dead floral arrangements

November 20, 2009

Tis the season… for dead florals.  I mean, just because the plants are no longer green doesn’t mean I can’t display them.  Right?

A few weeks ago, I was looking for a few pretty things to make the house feel a little more fall-y.  But also?  I didn’t really want to spend money on them (this is a general theme of my life).  Enter Eddie Ross’ beautiful dead flower arrangements.  They were so stunning and subtly fall that I was inspired to copy them using things from my own yard.  Or from the roadside.  And if you’re into challenges, I suggest you walk two dogs while carrying a huge bunch of dead weeds.  Tricky!

Anyways, I thought I’d share them today in case anyone is looking for some last-minute Thanksgiving decor ideas.

Here’s the table in our living room.  I clipped some grasses and put them in a vase (on top of the table), then added a bowl filled with pinecones.  On the bottom shelf, I’ve added my dead florals to apothecary jars (everything looks fancier in an apothecary jar) and added a pumpkin made from some sort of natural fibers that I picked up from Crate and Barrel earlier this year (using a giftcard!  yay for giftcards!).

Here’s a closer look at the apothecary jars.  I used hydrangeas in all 3 and then added different elements to each one – dead weeds to the left one, little pumpkins made from natural fibers in the middle jar, and some wooden berry-type things to the right jar.

Here I just put hydrangeas and some sort of other dead plant material found by the side of the road in a silver pitcher.  I kind of like the juxtaposition of the silver pitcher and the dying weeds.  Lovely.

And, whatever I had left over, I threw in a bucket and called it good enough to sit in the dining room.

I also grabbed some birch wood from our wood shed and threw it in a basket next to the gas fireplace.  Not very useful, but cute anyways.  Earlier this month, I saw bundles of birch wood being sold at Crate and Barrel, so was inspired to use it somehow.  Turns out the easiest way to “use” it is to just place it in a basket.

So, there you have it!  My fun, dead plant-y approach to fall/Thanksgiving!  Anyone else a fan of dead weeds and other natural materials this time of year?

I’m sharing this post for Frugal Friday at the Shabby Nest.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 20, 2009 12:38 pm

    O!!! I have some of those jars at home! Thanks for the ideas!

  2. November 20, 2009 12:48 pm

    Thanks for sharing this! Great ideas, which I will be stealing. 😉

  3. November 20, 2009 12:49 pm

    Just wanted to add, if I blog about it, I always site my source… 🙂

  4. japortma permalink
    November 20, 2009 3:42 pm

    Oh man, your house looks amazing!!! I am so impressed that you come up with such cool ideas and they always look AMAZING!

  5. November 21, 2009 6:06 pm

    I love love love dried hydrangea! So pretty!

  6. November 22, 2009 11:58 pm

    Hi.
    I’m just stopping by from the DIY Showoff. You have a lovely blog.

    XO*Tricia

    P.S. Your arrangements are very pretty.

  7. GGG permalink
    November 23, 2009 3:04 pm

    I think the dried stuff in the silver pitcher is called silver dollars. Did some of it have a sort os parchment paper with black seeds that you rubbed off? I have silver dollars in my garden that look like that. Watch in spring and see if it has purple flowers (if you can remember where you found it).

Trackbacks

  1. Fall Decor at Independence Crossing | Independence Crossing
  2. Fall Decor at The Clusters | The Clusters
  3. 2010 Fall Decor «
  4. 3 Ways to Add Autumn Decor to Your Apartment | Parkside on The Creek

Leave a Reply

