Skip to content

white dresser

November 18, 2009

I was all excited to show you my first painted furniture project today… until I realized that I completely forgot to take before pictures.  Sigh.  (enthusiasm waning)

{here’s where a before picture would have gone, had I remembered to take one}

So maybe you can just imagine the super-ugly dresser, all scratched up and whatnot purchased for a mere $30 on Craigslist?  Pretty please?

A few coats of white spray paint later (and by a few, I mean, actually kind of a lot), and new black knobs, and she’s much better suited to sit in our has-yet-to-be-finished bedroom.

I loved this dresser because of the detailing on the drawers and the pretty feet.  Also?  It has dove-tailed drawers and a full piece of wood between the upper and lower drawers, which means that it’s a pretty quality piece of furniture.  And quality is good in my book.

I used leftover curtain material to make a little runner for the dresser.  (I simply folded over the bad edges of the material and ironed).  This should protect the dresser from the old school TV on top of it.  The TV isn’t very pretty, but I like to fall asleep to the TV sometimes – especially if I’m home alone.

I envision a big mirror hanging on the wall over the dresser to reflect some light around the room.  But for now, I’ll settle with engagement photos a few frames and a green pot with a half-dead plant in it.  I excel at house plant killing.

I’m pretty pleased with how it turned out, and I can definitely see more furniture painting in my future.  The key, I think, is to make sure that things are evenly sanded and to be prepared to paint a million light coats.  Chime in now if you have any other tips that will come in handy on my next furniture painting adventure!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 18, 2009 12:33 pm

    This came out really great! I feel your pain about before pictures…I am the queen of forgetting to take them. Love the finished product!

  2. November 18, 2009 1:55 pm

    Love it! You did a great job! White furniture definitely brightens up a room!

  3. November 18, 2009 2:15 pm

    Looks great!

  4. November 18, 2009 2:33 pm

    Love it! What a good idea!

  5. November 19, 2009 7:52 am

    Great job! The “before” was just so yucky and old in my mind :-). Paint does wonders!

  6. November 30, 2009 4:43 pm

    What a lovely dresser! I love the lines and the curves of it…..gotta love CL

  7. December 4, 2009 4:30 pm

    This looks really nice – great job!

Trackbacks

  1. our very first project «
  2. February To-Dos «
  3. my new old dressing table «

Leave a Reply

